TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-09-2014, 01:11 PM   #1
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Audio static buzz

Has anyone had the audio suddenly go from normal to loud static buzz (using hdmi for audio) ?

Both of my Roamio basics have done this from time to time, both before this last spring's update and after. Most recently mine did it last night, I was simply changing the tuner from one to another who suddenly all I could hear was a static buzz, much like if you tuned your FM radio to blank frequency.

It lasted about 2 or 3 seconds, it's just on the one tuned channel as if I change channels it remains but if I switch to another tuner, it goes away. My audio output is set to PCM however I have had audio set to Dolby and it still occurs, when this happens, it's the audio over hdmi, Toslink optical doesn't seem effected.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 03:58 PM   #2
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 304
Yes. About a half dozen times since 20.4.1 hit. Email Margret.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...9#post10064319
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 04:17 PM   #3
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,961
Anybody getting anywhere with this? I'm beginning to feel like all the 777-clear sequences I've been dutifully doing, while being on enhanced log-monitoring, isn't doing anything but wearing out my remote buttons.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 05:05 PM   #4
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Didn't realize this was spring update bug, I swore i had this before the update but perhaps not. Thanks for the link but it would appear I would be wasting my time to report it.

TiVo truly needs to get back to basics with their products, I wasn't aware that by purchasing a Roamio TiVo that you were automatically designated a beta tester. Perhaps this explains why Joliet committed suicide as she just couldn't handle dealing with Roamio's developmental problems? Very tragic!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:29 AM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
Thanks for the link but it would appear I would be wasting my time to report it.
Why do you think that? If everyone thought like you, nothing would get fixed.
So what if you've wasted some time. At least you can say you tried, and it gives TiVo that much more data to work with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
TiVo truly needs to get back to basics with their products, I wasn't aware that by purchasing a Roamio TiVo that you were automatically designated a beta tester. Perhaps this explains why Joliet committed suicide as she just couldn't handle dealing with Roamio's developmental problems? Very tragic!
I feel this has always been the case with TiVo. TiVo's beta covers the showstoppers (most of the time), then the software is unleashed to the general public to root out the details.

I wish TiVo wasn't so picky about who can participate in their beta tests. They would probably get a lot more willing participants if they allowed people in who have upgraded their hard drives, etc. Plus they would get some real world data, as opposed to the data they get now which is limited because everyone in the beta test has the same basic configuration.
IMO, it's not a real beta test unless every possible configuration is taken into consideration, and TiVo doesn't do things that way.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 02:11 PM   #6
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Why do you think that? If everyone thought like you, nothing would get fixed.
So what if you've wasted some time. At least you can say you tried, and it gives TiVo that much more data to work with.

I feel this has always been the case with TiVo. TiVo's beta covers the showstoppers (most of the time), then the software is unleashed to the general public to root out the details.

I wish TiVo wasn't so picky about who can participate in their beta tests. They would probably get a lot more willing participants if they allowed people in who have upgraded their hard drives, etc. Plus they would get some real world data, as opposed to the data they get now which is limited because everyone in the beta test has the same basic configuration.
IMO, it's not a real beta test unless every possible configuration is taken into consideration, and TiVo doesn't do things that way.
I agree with both sentiments, and mostly everything you said.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |