TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 10:45 PM   #61
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
zoom? I was thinking "woosh"
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:47 AM   #62
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmeeker View Post
Also, isn't favorites limited in the number you can have?
No. It works just like the other two lists. I had a non-TiVo DirecTV receiver that worked like that back in the day, though.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:19 AM   #63
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
No. Suggestions will look over all channels that are checked, thus potentially picking an SD version when you want an HD version of the same show.
Hmmmmmmmmm.... well, there you go. someone finally gave me a legitimate reason to remove all of the SD channels from the available channels list. Amazing what can happen when people respond seriously!

I don't use suggestions. I record enough stuff manually. So this is one that's never come up for me.

Is there seriously not a way to prioritize HD channels over SD for TiVo suggestions?
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:20 AM   #64
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmeeker View Post
It's easier (quicker) to uncheck the stuff I don't want than to add the things I do want or may want.
It's easier until you start complaining that channels are appearing in your list.

Of course, you said this wasn't a problem for you due to using OTA. But as soon as you find yourself getting annoyed that your Cable Co is adding channels, then it's time to spend the effort to setup your favorites list.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:21 AM   #65
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
That's ridiculous, he's using the Tivo exactly how it was designed to be used. What's the point of leaving any channels you NEVER WATCH in [b]channels I receive[b]?

Plus, as I said, you can "accidentally" have autorecording wishlists record on those channels too..
Derpa derpa derpa derpa

Maybe you should petition TiVo for a list of channels you watch that is different from the list of channels you receive. Oh wait, they have that. So, what you want now, is for TiVo to be able to limit recordings to only that list.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:33 AM   #66
jsmeeker
Vegas Boy
 
jsmeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 88,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grakthis View Post
It's easier until you start complaining that channels are appearing in your list.

.
probably. But I'm not complaining that new channels are added by Time Warner pop up on Channels I Receive. I actually want this at first so I can see what the channel is and if I can actually tune it or not. If not, then I uncheck it from "Channels I Receive"


I don't get what the OP's problem is.
__________________
Jeff
Proud to use my TiVo improperly
President of the TiVoShanan Fan Club


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsmeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:37 AM   #67
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
A TiVo Premiere records suggestions from higher channels first, so no more worrying about getting the SD version most of the time. You can also delete a channel directly from the guide, instead of going into the settings and finding it in a list. Of course, this is on version 20 of the software, not version 6 or whatever the ancient DTV boxes run.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:08 PM   #68
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmeeker View Post
probably. But I'm not complaining that new channels are added by Time Warner pop up on Channels I Receive. I actually want this at first so I can see what the channel is and if I can actually tune it or not. If not, then I uncheck it from "Channels I Receive"


I don't get what the OP's problem is.
What I've gleaned from this "way longer than it should be" discussion is that DirecTV seems to routinely game the system by adding and deleting large groups of channels on a regular basis to help keep them in channel lists. wmcbrine suggested that in post #10 and it makes a great deal of sense and would indeed annoy me too.

Those of us on other systems just get the occasional add/remove that are of a benefit to us so we can adjust as needed.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |