TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2013, 05:29 PM   #1
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Trim and rename Recordings

I would like to be able to trim a video on the Tivo without having to use a computer.
Periodically I see something that I want to save for later and press record.
However, it saves the prior 30 minutes also. I need just a few of the minutes that I just watched.
If I could later trim the beginning off so that the snippet begins at the point I want to watch.
It's not so much the space but not having to FF through the program to find the spot I want to watch.

Renaming these snippets would also be nice so I know what they are later.

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:43 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,811
One thing you can do is change the channel and change back, that will clear the buffer so you can record, but you need to do it early enough to catch whatever it is to record.

You can only edit the video after you download to a computer and edit with programs like VideoReDo for Windows. Rename the file and send it back to the Tivo.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:28 AM   #3
BiloxiGeek
Reality Challenged
 
BiloxiGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gulfport, Ms. USA
Posts: 449
You don't mention this but IF you have a second tivo, pause the original show where you want the recording to start. Go to the other TiVo and "transfer from paused point". When you get to the end of the segment you want stop the transfer. That effectively trims start and beginning but requires two TiVo's on the same network, same account.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free
__________________
| Roamio Plus
| Premiere Elite
| Two Tivo HD's
| The early bird may get the worm,
| but it's the second mouse that gets the cheese...
BiloxiGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:44 PM   #4
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
I did that with one show when transferring to new Tivo, but will be selling PremiereXL so won't be able to do it going forward.
bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 10:53 PM   #5
miwi98
Registered User
 
miwi98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Is It B&W Or Color?

It would be nice to know if a movie is in B&W or Color. Plus I wish u would list the correct length of the movie since it is obvious that when u list 2 hrs it mean that the movie slot is for 2 hrs but that is not the length of the movie.

miwi98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 11:32 AM   #6
Doit2it
Registered User
 
Doit2it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiloxiGeek View Post
You don't mention this but IF you have a second tivo, pause the original show where you want the recording to start. Go to the other TiVo and "transfer from paused point". When you get to the end of the segment you want stop the transfer. That effectively trims start and beginning but requires two TiVo's on the same network, same account.
I would have never thought of that. Not that I trim Tivo videos, but that's a great idea.
__________________
Doit2it

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Tivo XL4 w/LT :: TiVo HD w/LT & 2TB :: LG 47" & 42" HDTVs
Tivo HD w/LT - Mom :: Series 2 80 - Boxed :: Series 2 40 - Boxed
Doit2it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:16 AM   #7
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
I used the second Tivo method when I transferred some videos to the new Tivo.
However, since I now have a RoamioPro, I am selling the PremiereXL w/LT so that won't be an option in the future.

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |