TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
egkor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
No My Book AV DVR Expanders available

I just received 2 Tivo Premiers (refurbs) from woot.com, and am going to use them to replace 2 Tivo HD boxes.

I started looking for 2 of the WD My Book AV 1TB external drives as I'm using 2 of the older 500GB versions (1 on each of my Tivo HDs).

Well surprise, the My Book Av 1TB expander is out of stock everywhere at this time.

Here we are currently, almost 1/2 way through 2012, and no availability? Wow.

I s'pose I'll use my old 500GB units in the meantime w/ the new (refurb) Premiers, but I know I'll lose any programs recorded and stored on those, which is why I wanted to get the new storage now.

-Gary K
egkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:01 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,165
I would go internal upgrade instead to 2TB each. Cheaper, more capacity, provides automatic backup (store old drives), lower power, less opportunity for failure, EASY, and supported by this community.

If I can do it, anyone can.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:20 PM   #3
egkor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I would go internal upgrade instead to 2TB each. Cheaper, more capacity, provides automatic backup (store old drives), lower power, less opportunity for failure, EASY, and supported by this community.

If I can do it, anyone can.
Where do I go/look/read for this? I'm definitely interested.

TIA,

-Gary K
egkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,165
Go to the upgrade center- JMFS threads
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:26 PM   #5
egkor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Ok, thanks!

-Gary K
egkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:02 PM   #6
liquix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
I ordered one from http://www.costcaptain.com/mm5/merch...Category_Code=

It arrived quickly, free shipping, and it was brand new sealed in the original box. It looks like they dropped the price $10 from when I bought it a few weeks ago. $125 is a good price for this.

The cable that it came with didnt work at all. I had to order this cable for it to work properly http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o04_s00_i00
liquix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 11:26 PM   #7
egkor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Thanks @liquix !

-Gary K
egkor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 11:42 PM   #8
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 281
Go Internal 2TB... SO easy!! And less money and more space.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136891

And Very easy to do!!!!

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=455968

Then you get to keep original drive as a backup!
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 08:52 AM   #9
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tico View Post
Go Internal 2TB... SO easy!! And less money and more space.
And for me, more reliable. After having lost all programs on my main TiVo twice in two years because of DVR expanders that failed, I'm over them. I've been running on an expanded internal for nearly the same amount of time without any issues.
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 07:40 PM   #10
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tico View Post
Go Internal 2TB... SO easy!! And less money and more space.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136891

And Very easy to do!!!!

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=455968

Then you get to keep original drive as a backup!
Are prices ever going to get back down to the $65 to $75 they used to be for 2TB drives? It seems like they have been stuck at the current prices for a while now.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |