TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2013, 09:54 AM   #1
atoledo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Channel Guide takes a long time to come up. Normal?

My cable provider, RCN, has just updated me with a Tivo Premiere. The set was too far from my router so the installer attached a wireless adapter. I didn't notice at that time but the wait time for the guide to come up is annoying--a full five seconds of black screen before the channel list comes up. Once on the guide, the list scrolls quickly. When I choose my desired channel, or hit the LiveTV button, again the screen goes black for a full five seconds (I counted) before the channel/signal comes back on.

I thought it might have to do with the wireless adapter, so I ran a long ethernet cable directly from the Tivo box to my router. Same thing. The annoying five second wait. Is this normal for a Tivo box?

Thanks in advance.
atoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:19 AM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by atoledo View Post
My cable provider, RCN, has just updated me with a Tivo Premiere. The set was too far from my router so the installer attached a wireless adapter. I didn't notice at that time but the wait time for the guide to come up is annoying--a full five seconds of black screen before the channel list comes up. Once on the guide, the list scrolls quickly. When I choose my desired channel, or hit the LiveTV button, again the screen goes black for a full five seconds (I counted) before the channel/signal comes back on.

I thought it might have to do with the wireless adapter, so I ran a long ethernet cable directly from the Tivo box to my router. Same thing. The annoying five second wait. Is this normal for a Tivo box?

Thanks in advance.
It sounds like what you're actually experiencing is a result of your resolution settings on the Premiere box. The completely black screen is probably your television changing resolutions. For example, the Guide is displayed in 1080i, while the channel you might be watching on Live TV might be 480i or 720p, which would require that the TV change it's resolution, which on older HDTV's can take several seconds.

Try changing the resolution output of the Tivo by following the directions here. I suggest setting it to Fixed, and then seeing if the black screen goes away when switching between Live TV and the Guide.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:42 AM   #3
atoledo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
tatergator1:

Thanks for your reply. I never thought about the resolution issue. I'll give it a try when I get home.
atoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |