TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
JaimeMuleMas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
New to TiVo Desktop Plus

I just downloaded the Plus version today and I'm curious -- is it normal for it to take hours to convert a show to a new format?

Thanks.
JaimeMuleMas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:08 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,165
Yes.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:56 PM   #3
JoeTaxpayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaimeMuleMas View Post
is it normal for it to take hours to convert a show to a new format?
Variables - Length of show, speed of processor(s), format to which you convert.

On an older Mac, it could take up to 5hrs per hour of video to convert. On my 2010 Mac, it's less than 30 min per hour of video. But it depends on many factors, as I list.

Best plan is to start the process before you go to sleep.
__________________
Toshiba SD-H400, Tivo Series 2, Tivo HD, TiVo Series 3 THX, TiVo Premiere (All upgraded with extra HD goodness) and an XL4.
JoeTaxpayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 06:07 PM   #4
JaimeMuleMas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
So far, with my laptop (i3, 4G ram) it seems to take around 3 hours for a one hour show. That seems a bit excessive to me.
JaimeMuleMas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:12 AM   #5
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,893
Again, it depends on what you are converting from and to. Going from a .ts or .TiVo file to a .mpg file (i.e. transcoding) should be fairly fast, even with a modest CPU. Doing a full recode on a one hour video from .mpg to h.264 takes more than a couple of hours, even on a 3 GHz, six core CPU with 8G of memory, using VideoRedo TV Suite.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:30 PM   #6
JoeTaxpayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaimeMuleMas View Post
So far, with my laptop (i3, 4G ram) it seems to take around 3 hours for a one hour show.
You're encoding show pulled from TiVo to what final format? You have my curiosity.
__________________
Toshiba SD-H400, Tivo Series 2, Tivo HD, TiVo Series 3 THX, TiVo Premiere (All upgraded with extra HD goodness) and an XL4.
JoeTaxpayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:29 AM   #7
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,001
720p mpg files should be able to convert to h.264 in close to real time rates on a decent processor. My laptop i7 with nvidia graphics engine running XP manages 40 or so frames per sec at 720, 22 fps at 1080. High end desktop processors running a 64bit OS should fair better. Just a data point for comparison.

If you are going to convert video to h.264, you will need processor power.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:32 AM   #8
JaimeMuleMas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Honestly, I wasn't sure what format to use so I picked VGA. I'm taking the files and using Serif MoviePlus to create a DVD. I was doing this with some episodes of Sesame Street. If there's a better way to create DVD, I'm happy to try that.
JaimeMuleMas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:20 AM   #9
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaimeMuleMas View Post
Honestly, I wasn't sure what format to use so I picked VGA. I'm taking the files and using Serif MoviePlus to create a DVD. I was doing this with some episodes of Sesame Street. If there's a better way to create DVD, I'm happy to try that.
Tivo Desktop Plus is geared towards converting files for portable devices and as such will convert the file to a resolution much lower than the DVD standard.

IMHO if you want quality DVDs, I think you'd be better off using PyTivo or kmttg (search this forum) to download files and automatically remove the .tivo wrapper. End result is you have an .mpg file that will work with your DVD creation software with better results.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 06-20-2012 at 01:36 AM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |