TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 01:01 PM   #1
robo456
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 49
TiVo Premiere - to supersize or not?

Hi guys...

I purchased a new Tivo Premiere and a WD EURS 2gb drive and was reading thru the upgrade guide... I've done old series 2 upgrades, so I'm fairly familiar with the process but did come across one thing that I was curious about.

Supersizing. I scanned thru some posts that showed up in the upgrade center forum, but most that I found were posts from back in 2009. I also tried 'googling' and that's where I came up with some conflicting info. Basically, what I read is that the space removed by the supersizing process is not only used for the ads (bleh), but also for downloaded content from youtube and other services. Can anyone else confirm this?

If the other services do use that segment, I have no problem leaving it the way it is and sacrifice some recording time, otherwise if it's just ads, well... then "Supersize me!"

Thanks for any info!

--rob
robo456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo456 View Post
Hi guys...

I purchased a new Tivo Premiere and a WD EURS 2gb drive and was reading thru the upgrade guide... I've done old series 2 upgrades, so I'm fairly familiar with the process but did come across one thing that I was curious about.

Supersizing. I scanned thru some posts that showed up in the upgrade center forum, but most that I found were posts from back in 2009. I also tried 'googling' and that's where I came up with some conflicting info. Basically, what I read is that the space removed by the supersizing process is not only used for the ads (bleh), but also for downloaded content from youtube and other services. Can anyone else confirm this?

If the other services do use that segment, I have no problem leaving it the way it is and sacrifice some recording time, otherwise if it's just ads, well... then "Supersize me!"

Thanks for any info!

--rob
Never heard of any problem using super-size, I am using it on 4 TPs.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,

Last edited by lessd : 05-02-2012 at 09:19 AM.
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:47 AM   #3
robo456
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 49
Thanks for the reply!
robo456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:36 AM   #4
ncfoster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
I believe that I read somewhere that the larger capacity Tivos effectively do the same thing, so I am planning on doing it. Mine is under the knife right now. Wish me luck!
ncfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |