TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2012, 07:25 PM   #1
ese002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Migrate Series 1 recordings to later model?

I have a Series 1 whose upgraded disk is dying. Replacing the disk and moving the existing recordings over is straight forward but newer, faster models are available on eBay for about the same money as a new disk. Is it possible to migrate the recordings to Series 2 or 3?
ese002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:22 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
If the Series 1 has a TurboNET card and it's hacked to allow telnet access you can use TyTool to extract the shows to MPEG files on your PC, then send them to your new model later with TiVo Desktop or pyTivo.

I don't know of any way to do it directly like hooking the drive up to a computer.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:54 PM   #3
ese002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
turboNet cards are expensive. Silly expensive for one-time use. So what is the issue with copying the files? Are they encrypted with a key tied to the specific hardware? Does copy from one Series 1 to another Series 1 not work either? (Not that I have any use for that facility)

If I understand the method you suggest, PPP over the serial port should work too with the caveat that it would be catastrophically slow.
ese002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:44 AM   #4
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
The files aren't encrypted on a Series 1, but the proprietary MFS filesystem is still mostly unknown. I don't know if PPP would work (even slowly) but someone else may jump in with that answer.

The other option is to keep the S1 connected to another input on your TV until you have watched everything on it.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by ese002 View Post
I have a Series 1 whose upgraded disk is dying. Replacing the disk and moving the existing recordings over is straight forward but newer, faster models are available on eBay for about the same money as a new disk. Is it possible to migrate the recordings to Series 2 or 3?
If the drive is dying Sod's Law says it will finish doing so long before you get the first show copied.

Better to make a bootable MFS Live v1.4 cd and use

dd_rescue

to "Xerox" the drive to another one as large or larger while it's still possible.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:51 PM   #6
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If the drive is dying Sod's Law says it will finish doing so long before you get the first show copied.
Had to look that one up to see if it was real. I thought you just meant that the drive would be six feet under the sod before he got it copied.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:06 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Had to look that one up to see if it was real. I thought you just meant that the drive would be six feet under the sod before he got it copied.
It's sort of Murphy's Law with an extra helping of irony.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:46 AM   #8
ronsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL, USA
Posts: 1,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
The files aren't encrypted on a Series 1, but the proprietary MFS filesystem is still mostly unknown. I don't know if PPP would work (even slowly) but someone else may jump in with that answer.

The other option is to keep the S1 connected to another input on your TV until you have watched everything on it.
Unless you hacked the kernel on your series 1, the shows are indeed encrypted.
__________________
Celebrating twelve years on the TiVo Forum
dd_rescue evangelist & scuba diver
ronsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:41 AM   #9
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
On a Standalone Series 1, they are not encrypted, but on a DirecTV Series 1, they are.

I would get another HDD and do a dd_rescue copy, then use the copy.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 06:17 AM   #10
ronsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL, USA
Posts: 1,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
On a Standalone Series 1, they are not encrypted, but on a DirecTV Series 1, they are.

I would get another HDD and do a dd_rescue copy, then use the copy.
I was referring to the DTV version. The video quality of the SA made it far less desireable to save programming.
__________________
Celebrating twelve years on the TiVo Forum
dd_rescue evangelist & scuba diver
ronsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |