TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2012, 10:48 PM   #1
davevt98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 136
Hard drive bad again

Does anyone have a 250gbhard drive to replace my faulty drive? I have lifetime service on my tcd648 model and don't want to give it up.
davevt98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:00 PM   #2
WO312
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,238
I don't have one, but why 250?? You can replace it with just about any drive that size or larger.
WO312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:39 PM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by davevt98 View Post
Does anyone have a 250gbhard drive to replace my faulty drive? I have lifetime service on my tcd648 model and don't want to give it up.
Are you sure it's the hard drive?

648's have been notorious for power supply issues lately. Open up the Tivo and inspect the power supply before suspecting the hard drive.
Pay close attention to the capacitors. You don't want to see any bulging or leaks.

Read/scan through this thread.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=483814

It has pictures of a bad capacitor - that will give you some idea what to look for.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 09-17-2012 at 11:44 PM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:09 AM   #4
davevt98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 136
Check the transistors and nothing looks out of place. The s3 now just reboots itself. I tried some kickstart codes and while it looks like it is doing something (installing update, green screen, etc.), it continues to just reboot.

I thought it was the hard drive but I am now having second thoughts. Any ideas out there?
davevt98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:53 AM   #5
mrelectron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
Do the capacitors in the power supply show any signs of bulging?

See http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=483814

Specifically see post #15.
mrelectron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:15 AM   #6
davevt98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrelectron View Post
Do the capacitors in the power supply show any signs of bulging?

See http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=483814

Specifically see post #15.
No. That is what i meant. They look perfectly level.
davevt98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:23 AM   #7
mrelectron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
OK, then likely it may be the HDD as you suspected.

Does the unit have cable cards?

Really what I'm trying to determine is do you want to persue a preformatted drive or copy your current drive on to a new drive?

Last edited by mrelectron : 09-20-2012 at 11:39 AM.
mrelectron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 01:37 PM   #8
davevt98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrelectron View Post
OK, then likely it may be the HDD as you suspected.

Does the unit have cable cards?

Really what I'm trying to determine is do you want to persue a preformatted drive or copy your current drive on to a new drive?
No cable cards. I imaged a drive myself last time it went bad but I am surprised that it would be bad again in just 6 months.
davevt98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:19 PM   #9
mrelectron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davevt98 View Post
No cable cards. I imaged a drive myself last time it went bad but I am surprised that it would be bad again in just 6 months.
That is surprising to only last six months.

For a 250GB drive google WD2500AVVS, newegg and amazon both have them.

This is a Western Digital 250GB Advanced Format drive made for this purpose.
mrelectron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:59 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Make yourself a copy of the most recent Ultimate Boot CD (burn it as an image)

It's got manufacturers' diagnostic software for several brands, as well as other useful stuff.

Run the long test on that drive.

See if it's the drive itself or the software on the drive.

If you get a new one, you can do a lot better GB/$ wise with a bigger drive, up to 1 or maybe 2TB.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |