TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
ematuska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Samsung plasma tv PN60E530 code

I am trying to get my Directv tivo remote to work with my new samsung plasma tv PN60E530. I tried all that were listed on the tivo screen and also several that the directv technical support suggested but nothing is working. Anyone have any success with doing this?!
ematuska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 04:01 PM   #2
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by ematuska View Post
I am trying to get my Directv tivo remote to work with my new samsung plasma tv PN60E530. I tried all that were listed on the tivo screen and also several that the directv technical support suggested but nothing is working. Anyone have any success with doing this?!
Are you sure that you are getting the code properly entered into the remote? I don't know why the existing codes would not work. I have a 2-year old Samsung LCD and can't really see them adding a newly defined code for your TV. Could happen, but not likely. Maybe someone at Samsung can tell you what codes it responds to. The only other solution is to determine the code and if the DTV remote doesn't have it, then get a Universal remote.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
ematuska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Yes, I can push numbers correctly!

I have set up tivos and their remotes 2 times before and never had problems. I have tried all the codes twice and still no luck. So looking for some actual help here, not questioning my abililty to push numbers on a remote!
ematuska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:22 AM   #4
ematuska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
I contacted tivo and they gave me this info which worked!!

Search for a code to control TV Power and Volume

1. Cover the end of the TiVo remote control with your hand.

2. Hold down the TiVo and TV POWER buttons simultaneously until the red (or amber) light on the remote control remains on.

3. Remove your hand from the end of the TiVo remote control.

4. Enter code 0999.

5. After you enter the code, the red (or amber) light will flash three times and then remain on.

6. Press CHANNEL UP once every two seconds. This will test hundreds of codes, one by one.

IMPORTANT: Do not go any faster than this or you may skip over a code that works.

If you press CHANNEL UP and your TV turns off, press ENTER to select the code. Press the TV POWER button to test the code. If your TV turns on, you have successfully programmed the remote.

* If you cycle through all the codes, the red LED will go off, indicating that you have tried all the codes. If this happens, or if you selected a code but the TV does not respond to the test, try again, to make sure you did not skip over your code by going too fast.
* If you cannot find a code that works, your current remote may not be preprogrammed with the code for your TV. If you have a Premiere XL, TiVo HD XL, or Series3 HD DVR, you have a learning remote that can easily be “taught” to control your TV. For instructions, go to Using the Learning feature of TiVo Learning Remotes.

If your DVR did not include a learning remote, you can purchase a TiVoGlo Premium learning remote at the TiVo Store.
ematuska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:23 AM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by ematuska View Post
I have set up tivos and their remotes 2 times before and never had problems. I have tried all the codes twice and still no luck. So looking for some actual help here, not questioning my abililty to push numbers on a remote!
You would be surprised how many newbies ask basic questions on this site. Had you stated in your post that you had successfully done this with previous boxes I wouldn't have questioned your ability to push numbers. Thanks for posting the detailed solution here for other users.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |