TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2013, 01:55 PM   #1
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 95
Newly activated S2 not seen by other boxes

OK so the other day the reactivation of my Series2 came through. I did this to transfer some recordings before I retire it for good. I have a Mini, Premiere and PremiereXL4. The Mini sees it in the menu as
“!” + the serial # of the S2, not with its name(Series 2 Classic). It also gives an error that it can only playback from a Premiere or newer (expected). The Premiere boxes nor Tivo Desktop (newly downloaded and installed) sees the S2. I verified that it still retained the proper network settings. I have an IP scanner that confirms that it is seen by the network. I also verified that it has been activated for several days from the web page.

Any thoughts.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:24 PM   #2
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,283
Is video 'sharing enabled' on the S2? You can check that under your account's 'device preferences' at tivo.com.
Is the Premiere seen by the S2?
Have you tried restarting the S2 and/or the Premiere?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:52 PM   #3
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 95
Sharing and downloads active on all 3.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:21 PM   #4
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 547
Force the series 4 boxes to call home and if needed, reboot.

What version Tivo software is on the s2? Have it also connect and restart it.

Sometimes you have to do a little dance of disabling, restarting, connecting, waiting, etc with the sharing settings. I haven't done that dance in awhile, but you should be able to find the instructions here to at tivo.con support area

As was already asked, can you the s2 see the other boxes?
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:54 PM   #5
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 95
The S2 can see the other boxes although most recording are unavailable(HD, no wonder). I'll cycle everything and see how it goes.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:43 AM   #6
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 95
I guess it doesn't matter any more. I went to reconnect the S2 to phone home and no response. The light that flashes when you operate the remote didn't even blink. So I did a reboot and it hangs on the opening screen. It is dead. I t was fine the other day. Thanks anyway. I guess I upgraded to the Premieres just in time.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:41 PM   #7
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Just for completeness, there is some information that the Tivo only communicates to the network during boot up. If the S2 got some of that information downloaded after it was powered on, then it would not be communicated to the rest of the boxes until the S2 was rebooted. I've had the problem you described following a Tivo name change. A reboot of the offending box caused it to then be properly visible to the other boxes.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |