TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 08:44 PM   #1
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
S3 expansion drive failing, need replacement I can go buy at a B&M this weekend

Hi,
I want to replace my failing external 1gb drive (Toshiba PH3100U-1EXB) this weekend. I would like to go to a store and purchase a drive. I have Fry's and MicroCenter nearby. What external drive currently on the market will work? What do you recommend?

Thank you.
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:28 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post
Hi,
I want to replace my failing external 1gb drive (Toshiba PH3100U-1EXB) this weekend. I would like to go to a store and purchase a drive. I have Fry's and MicroCenter nearby. What external drive currently on the market will work? What do you recommend?

Thank you.
Are you talking about an expansion drive attached via eSATA cable to an original Series 3 TiVo?

TCD648250b?

The one with the OLED display that looks like a sideways mercury tube thermometer?

Do you know if it's the actual drive itself that's failing, or the enclosure?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:32 AM   #3
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
Yes, I ran the smart test and the external drive showed Fail 7 on one of the tests and I am getting freeze ups and the Tivo resets. I do not know if it is the drive or enclosure so I was planning on replacing both.
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,030
This drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822204079 worked with my S3 OLED TiVo.
I would try to get the same drive as you now have.
Do a bit copy, if possible, to the new drive to save recordings.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:59 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Micro Center shows "a" 1TB Western Digital eSATA DVR extender.

It appears to not be the one a TiVo more recent than yours would have on its very short approved list, but since you don't have to worry about the list it might be a good choice since it's designed for running 24/7 and not spending so much time on error correction that it misses the next batch of bytes (which is not what you want from a computer hard drive, where that could mean a corrupted spreadsheet or database, but is what's best for gulping down live video/audio).
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:24 PM   #6
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
I think I might try the MC drive, they have a good return policy if it does not work.
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:55 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post
I think I might try the MC drive, they have a good return policy if it does not work.
Must be nice to have a B&M choice other than Best Buy, Best Buy, or Best Buy.

Actually we also have Staples and OfficeMax, but their hard drive prices are for people who don't know that the prices aren't the same everywhere.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:44 AM   #8
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Must be nice to have a B&M choice other than Best Buy, Best Buy, or Best Buy.
Yes it is indeed, there used to be many more choices in the greater Torrance area. But, many have closed their doors so there are fewer today than 5 years ago...
Fry's is, and has been, my "go to" place for over 10 years, for B&M shopping.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:08 PM   #9
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
I picked up the WD My Book AV today. I am in the process of transferring all my shows off of the drives. Once complete I will install the new expansion drive.
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:10 PM   #10
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
Turns out the power supply and internal drive was bad. Replaced that as well, the unit is back up and running however I cannot get the old Toshiba 1TB external drive to be recognized now. Any thoughts on what can be done to make it work???? I did not install the WD, that is going on a different THD.
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:06 PM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post
Turns out the power supply and internal drive was bad. Replaced that as well, the unit is back up and running however I cannot get the old Toshiba 1TB external drive to be recognized now. Any thoughts on what can be done to make it work???? I did not install the WD, that is going on a different THD.
If the internal was bad, you should just have gone with a big internal.

And if it was bad, then the shows on it and the external that was attached when it was in are all lost.

You should connect the old external (or better yet the drive inside it) to a PC and run the diagnostic software put out by the manufacturer of the drive inside the external.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:45 PM   #12
Kipp Jones
AVS Heavy Hitter
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 30
Ok, so I found a Toshiba utility and performed a format. The Tivo sees the drive and goes through the setup and restart but the drive never installs. I have tried multiple times. Any thoughts?
Kipp Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:13 PM   #13
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post
Ok, so I found a Toshiba utility and performed a format. The Tivo sees the drive and goes through the setup and restart but the drive never installs. I have tried multiple times. Any thoughts?
You need to run the long test on that Toshiba, and instead of formatting, you should probably erase it (or at least erase the first few sectors) if it passes the long test.

The Ultimate Boot CD apparently doesn't have the Toshiba diagnostics but Hiren's does

http://www.hiren.info/pages/bootcd

and it'll have an erase utility as well.


On further exploration, it seems downloading the Hiren's .iso is not a straightforward process, so get the Ultimate Boot cd instead, and use the Hitachi diagnostic.

There are erase utilities on the UBCD as well.

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html

Go to the bottom of the page where it says mirror sites to click on one to download the .iso file, and remember, you have to burn it as a image to a cd-r instead of just burning it to a cd-r.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011

Last edited by unitron : 11-17-2012 at 06:30 PM.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |