TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2015, 10:11 PM   #31
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 18,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
At least Comcast only copy protects premium channels.
Now they can encrypt it, but isn't it still a FCC requirement that they can't copy protect it?

i.e. it's not Comcast's benevolence.

mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:44 PM   #32
Pacomartin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
A lot of hotel, trailer parks etc. use QAM for HD distribution though, and will only be more in the future.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
College campus dorms as well.
I did not know that. But these kind of places are not really places where you would have a TiVo box. College students don't use DVR's, do they?

__________________
RCN Premier Q Series 4, TCD750500 (4 tuner 500 Gb)
TiVo Preview (own tuner) instead of a Mini
Pacomartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:00 PM   #33
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Now they can encrypt it, but isn't it still a FCC requirement that they can't copy protect it?

i.e. it's not Comcast's benevolence.
The FCC only says they can't copy protect the local broadcast channels. So there are lots of channels Comcast could copy protect if they wanted to, but they choose not to.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:28 PM   #34
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhelman View Post
Frequencies won't be an issue since I control the channel remapping and retransmission on campus. TiVo doesn't make it easy to find the appropriate group to speak with, but yes I intend to call them tomorrow. I was trying to collect information before I called so I asked the right questions.

Thanks for the input.

Since you control the frequencies, you could set them to an existing Tivo lineup for another cable provider and add that specific lineup to your setup instructions for Tivo.

__________________

Premiere-$99 Lifetime-OTA
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3 OLED-Lifetime-OTA
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 06:54 PM   #35
JYoung
Series 3
 
JYoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
True, but TWC still has clear-QAM channels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
TWC moves at a glacial pace. Most markets still have analog cable, and they won't do away with clear-QAM until they get rid of analog.
Time-Warner removed analog channels in my area in September of 2014.
They stopped transmitting any Clear QAM in December of 2014.

In some areas of Los Angeles, they did the above months earlier.

So, I have no doubt it's coming company wide.

(Oh, they also protect all channels except for the OTA rebroadcasts.)

__________________
Member of the TiVoShanan Fan Club!

"I aim to misbehave"
JYoung is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 07:29 PM   #36
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by shwru980r View Post
Since you control the frequencies, you could set them to an existing Tivo lineup for another cable provider and add that specific lineup to your setup instructions for Tivo.
The lineup doesn't include the frequencies, just the channels. You still need the channel map in the CableCARD.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:01 PM   #37
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by JYoung View Post
Time-Warner removed analog channels in my area in September of 2014.
They stopped transmitting any Clear QAM in December of 2014.

In some areas of Los Angeles, they did the above months earlier.

So, I have no doubt it's coming company wide.

(Oh, they also protect all channels except for the OTA rebroadcasts.)
Yes, when TWC does their "MAXX" upgrades, they go all digital. I think I remember reading that they have estimated that up to 75% of TWC markets COULD get MAXX upgrades by the end of 2016. But at the rate TWC moves, I'd be surprised if half of their markets are all digital by then. Some TWC markets will continue to have analog and clear-QAM for years to come.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.
Page generated in 0.06446099 seconds (76.94% PHP - 23.06% MySQL) with 18 queries