TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 09:16 AM   #1
cnsayre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 117
Transfer shows between tivos?

We had two Tivos, one in the living room and one in the bedroom for a while. Both series 2's. And we could shuffle around shows as needed.

The living room Tivo gave up the ghost after 9 years, last year. It was replaced by a Tivo Premiere, the one with 2 tuners. HD upgrade, and all was good.

Except that EVERY SINGLE SHOW on the Premiere was untransferrable/the red-slash-circle thing next to EVERY show. Transferring was now a one way deal, Series 2 in the bedroom --> Tivo Premiere. I could pull shows BACK to the Series 2 from the Premiere, but that was it.

An annoyance, and several searches at the time said it was A Comcast/copyright thing, and there wasn't much I could do about it. Fine. We lived.

I got a new Premiere for Xmas, the 4 tuner one. And now I'm stuck with a dilemma. I'd like to replace the 2-tuner in the living room with the 4 tuner, putting the 2-tuner into the bedroom. But how do I get my shows off of the 2 tuner and onto the 4 tuner? Will they transfer between Premieres? Has Comcast in Atlanta modified their transfer policy? I LOATHE to call Comcast, just because 95% of the time, they're clueless about things. But, I have to call to get a cablecard for the new Tivo regardless.

Any insight?

Thanks,

cnsayre
cnsayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnsayre View Post
We had two Tivos, one in the living room and one in the bedroom for a while. Both series 2's. And we could shuffle around shows as needed.

The living room Tivo gave up the ghost after 9 years, last year. It was replaced by a Tivo Premiere, the one with 2 tuners. HD upgrade, and all was good.

Except that EVERY SINGLE SHOW on the Premiere was untransferrable/the red-slash-circle thing next to EVERY show. Transferring was now a one way deal, Series 2 in the bedroom --> Tivo Premiere. I could pull shows BACK to the Series 2 from the Premiere, but that was it.

An annoyance, and several searches at the time said it was A Comcast/copyright thing, and there wasn't much I could do about it. Fine. We lived.

I got a new Premiere for Xmas, the 4 tuner one. And now I'm stuck with a dilemma. I'd like to replace the 2-tuner in the living room with the 4 tuner, putting the 2-tuner into the bedroom. But how do I get my shows off of the 2 tuner and onto the 4 tuner? Will they transfer between Premieres? Has Comcast in Atlanta modified their transfer policy? I LOATHE to call Comcast, just because 95% of the time, they're clueless about things. But, I have to call to get a cablecard for the new Tivo regardless.

Any insight?

Thanks,

cnsayre

are the shows HD or SD the S2 can't do HD.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,875
There's really no need to transfer the shows. With 2 Premieres you can stream from one to the other regardless of copy protection, so no matter where each Premiere is located you will be able to watch the shows. That's a big advantage of series 4 TiVos.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:58 AM   #4
cnsayre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 117
The shows were SD, for the record.

If the streaming works, then that's exactly what I was hoping for.

Thanks!
cnsayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |