TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
sport trainer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Camcorder to TiVo for Swim Analysis

I'm a swimming coach and want to hook my video camera into my TiVo to record swimmers live but have an automatic 30 second loop playback so they can review their technique.

Can anyone help me out with how to get the TiVo to do this and what cables I need?

Last edited by sport trainer : 12-31-2012 at 10:34 PM.
sport trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:18 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
You cannot even hook up a camera with today's Tivo models (Series 3, Premiere). You would have to go back to the Series 1 or 2, hook up the yellow/white/red and setup for satellite with input activity.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:35 PM   #3
sport trainer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Is there a way to do it on a series 3 with a RCA adapter and coax cable into the input?

Last edited by sport trainer : 01-01-2013 at 12:06 AM.
sport trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:32 AM   #4
Worf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,607
Nope - From series 3 onwards, they do not have any input other than antenna or cable.

There are plenty of alternatives though.
Worf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:29 AM   #5
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
If your camcorder has an RF output (like a VHS or 8mm or Hi8 used to have), you could run that into the antenna input on the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4. If you don't have RF out (most modern cameras do not) then you could plug the RCA outputs into an old VCR (setting it to line in/AV in), then run the RF output from the VCR into the TiVo's antenna input and tune to channel 3 or 4. You could also pick up an RF modulator (they sell them at Wal-Mart, Best Buy, etc.) and connect the AV out of the camera to that, then run the coax to the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4.

There is always a way to make video devices talk, but it isn't always easy.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:23 AM   #6
sport trainer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
If your camcorder has an RF output (like a VHS or 8mm or Hi8 used to have), you could run that into the antenna input on the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4. If you don't have RF out (most modern cameras do not) then you could plug the RCA outputs into an old VCR (setting it to line in/AV in), then run the RF output from the VCR into the TiVo's antenna input and tune to channel 3 or 4. You could also pick up an RF modulator (they sell them at Wal-Mart, Best Buy, etc.) and connect the AV out of the camera to that, then run the coax to the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4.

There is always a way to make video devices talk, but it isn't always easy.
I tried to do this through a series three...but couldn't get it to work. I had the RF Modulator, then connected the co-ax cable into the cable unput and then tried the antenna input. The TiVO just goes through its setup and I couldn't get it to recognize the camera as an input.
sport trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:25 AM   #7
sport trainer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Nope - From series 3 onwards, they do not have any input other than antenna or cable.

There are plenty of alternatives though.
What alternatives would you suggest?
sport trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:27 AM   #8
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
You should have already gone through setup using an antenna. If not, just pick any lineup that has a channel 3 or 4. Go to live TV and tune channel 3 or 4 and whatever is plugged in through the RF modulator should appear.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:56 AM   #9
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by sport trainer View Post
I tried to do this through a series three...but couldn't get it to work. I had the RF Modulator, then connected the co-ax cable into the cable unput and then tried the antenna input. The TiVO just goes through its setup and I couldn't get it to recognize the camera as an input.
You need to use the antenna input, and you need to set up the TiVo to use the antenna in the guided setup. If the unit is to be used for CATV service as well as the camcorder, then you need to tell the TiVo it is going to be used for both OTA and CATV reception. After the guided setup is done, then you need to run a channel scan. This is precisely how I set up my roommate's DVD for her. I ran its composite output to a modulator and then ran the RF feed from the modulator to the TiVo.

Note some modulators squelch their RF output if no video is present, so you may need to make sure there is live video on the modulator's input (via the camcorder or whatever) when you run the channel scan. The modulator will show up as 3 - ant (or 4 - ant) and the CATV channel will show up as 3 - cbl (or 4 -cbl). The channel scan can be done any time you want, but the inputs can only be specified during a guided setup. Both must be done, however, in order for the TiVo to know where the OTA channels are to be found. In this context, the modulator is an analog OTA channel as far as the TiVo is concerned.

If you are going to receive both OTA signals and input from the camcorder, then you need to install a two-way splitter with the input facing the TiVo. Attach the feed from the antenna to one output of the splitter and the RF feed from the modulator attached to the camcorder to the other. Then have the TiVo perform a channel scan. All the local channels plus the camcorder on ch3 or ch4 will show up.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:25 PM   #10
sport trainer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it and am going to give it a try. Happy New Year!
sport trainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:36 PM   #11
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,188
FWIW, I got digital camcorder footage (originally avi format) onto my TiVo HD from my PC with the free TiVo Desktop software. It worked pretty well for analysis of baseball batting mechanics.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |