TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2013, 09:29 PM   #1
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
Voice activated searching or qwerty questions...

5 year TivoHD guy, just purchased the XL4 with lifetime comes in Friday (got a pretty good deal too!) and bought the last Slider remote around (Fry's, $59.99 they still have some in other states like Texas and Georgia BUT I'll tell you what I really want and you tell me if it's possible please

OK, I am also a long time Logitech Harmony guy, old school peanut style Harmony 680 & 620. One button turns everything on/off, does so much more too, completely 'smart' remote but I really like the look of the Slider and love that qwerty but I think I want to keep my harmony and explore other options for text input.

So it it possible to do voice searching through the tablet apps (my current android app) for TivoHD is pretty limited. Just acts like a remote. What i want is the ability to use the tablet or phone app to do text input onscreen? Somehow use voice searches or qwerty to the tivo premiere xl4? or is the tab app self contained in the app. It searches on the tab then if you find it, you send it to the tivo (much like online now)

I love the slider but giving up the extra Harmony functionality just for hte occasion text input seem silly.

Your thoughts are appreciated,
riz
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:55 PM   #2
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 291
Yes you can use the Tivo app for text entries.

But here is an even better app than the Tivo one:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ommander&hl=en
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 12:35 AM   #3
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
I have that app too... do these apps interface with the premiere differently than the Tivo HD? These apps are nothing more than remotes for the HD so if you could elaborate on premiere differences?

thx!
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:22 PM   #4
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by riz View Post
I have that app too... do these apps interface with the premiere differently than the Tivo HD? These apps are nothing more than remotes for the HD so if you could elaborate on premiere differences?

thx!
Yes they interface directly,

You can browse your now playing list and start and delete things from the app.
Shows what you are watching and you can Explore the show.
Show and edit Season Pass.

Pull up a keyboard to type in Text input fields.

View your guide and Set up recordings and change channels on the Tivo.

Plus More....

Some screen shots.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b2ofipq0pq...8_11-17-15.png

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t0de9ef70h...8_11-17-02.png

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0uzjrmk7e2...8_11-16-33.png
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:50 PM   #5
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 938
Given your only experience of the Tivo app is with a Tivo HD, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with how much functionality is available directly through the app. Search, Season Passes, To Do List, Now Playing List, etc are all directly controlled on Premiere boxes via the apps.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 05:07 PM   #6
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
awesome news, thx you guys.. I will not open the Slide until after my new premiere comes in Friday... it sucks, i love my Harmony 620, peanut style, nice blue glo, works my x10 and all my equipment effortlessly.. but dang,t he Tivo Slide is just sooo cool looking, i wish it had true learning and I would choose it over my Harmony. It does look like the App + Premiere plus my harmony will beat out the slide. I guess we will see soon

Thx for the updates!
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |