TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2013, 01:32 AM   #1
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
TiVo has been active with a program that enables it to port its UI to MSO-leased hardware. On Monday, GCI of Alaska became the first North American service provider to launch the TiVo platform on the Pace-made XG1 video gateway. Meanwhile, ActiveVideo, Charter's new technology partner, recently demonstrated how its CloudTV H5 platform could run the TiVo UI on a wide array of devices,. including the DCT-2000 (a QAM-only digital cable set-top model), .a Roku box .and a connected TV.
From here:

http://www.multichannel.com/distribu...o-boxes/144908
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 02:54 AM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
TiVo showed something at the cable show back in June where their UI was in a web browser. I wonder if this is what "CloudTV H5" is?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 03:53 AM   #3
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,189
My interest was piqued when I read the "Roku" comment!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 03:55 AM   #4
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
TiVo showed something at the cable show back in June where their UI was in a web browser. I wonder if this is what "CloudTV H5" is?
That could be something similar to how Slingbox does it via web that TiVo may offer as a feature.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:19 AM   #5
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
My interest was piqued when I read the "Roku" comment!
Dave posted a pic of the TiVo UI running on a Roku
http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2013-06/...ud-initiative/
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:22 AM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
Yeah that was the thing I was talking about. Forgot what it was called. Apparently it was exactly this that they showed at the cable show.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:55 AM   #7
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,859
I think this is probably not the technology TiVo would leverage for their "TiVoToGo Cloud Service". ActiveVideo actually renders everything in the Cloud and just streams video including the UI directly from the Cloud. TiVo has been talking up their investment in "Cloud technology" for quite some time during their investor calls so I think the personal cloud stuff will be the first retail reflection of that investment. The ActiveVideo stuff is what Charter is considering moving to in order to light-up legacy set-top boxes with a more modern UI/Ux.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:48 AM   #8
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 666
The UI in a browser would be wonderful, especially if I could connect to the TiVo directly over the network with a web browser in order to control the thing. Then TiVo wouldn't need separate apps for every platform, you'd just use a web browser (which would mean it would work on linux and windows too, not just android and ios).
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |