TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 04:13 AM   #1
LoveHate9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Cool New XL4 came w/old software ver??

I bought a new Tivo Premiere XL4 from best buy today (June 22, 2012) and had expected the software version to be fairly up to date. I wasn't expecting it to be loaded with a version that's been out in the last day or for the last few months for that matter. BUT, I found my machine had version 14.9.2-01-2-758! I thought I read version 20 has been out since Jan 2012?

Question: Is it normal for newly manufactured Tivo's to be loaded with an old version? Is there a way to confirm when my box was manufactured??

Now I'm wondering if Tivo took a hard drive over 8 months old or took inventory from old Tivo's and slapped the XL4 label in the front. It's a bit disconcerting to me that I may have paid top dollars for old equipment.

UPDATE: found a label on the box saying Made in Mexico with a date 11-Apr-12. I'm assuming that means April 11, 2012. But still makes me wonder why mine had software version 14?? I got the impression reading reviews and such that their boxes came with the latest. . .

any thoughts?
LoveHate9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:21 AM   #2
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,638
Software version 20 did not come out until April. It will down load the new soft the next time it does a connection. Tomorrow if you see a pending restart make sure you do not plan using for the hour.
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:32 AM   #3
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 323
I'm pretty sure what you experienced is completely normal and nothing to worry about. I hooked up my Woot Elite last night and it came with 14.9.

Enjoy your new Tivo!
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:18 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,897
You can speed up the update by making 4-6 Tivo connections, until "status: pending restart".
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 12:56 PM   #5
LoveHate9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
thanks for confirming!
LoveHate9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |