TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2016, 12:24 PM   #5371
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wil View Post
It appears from Soapm's messages at the other place that he tried to apply some 11.0m-specific patches to 11.0n and got error messages. It looks like the attempts just aborted without writing anything. But if anything was actually changed, inappropriately, is it possible that's complicating the results you're looking at here?

Not meaning to complicate, just mentioning it so you know there's that variable in the mix as you look at the data.
Actually, funny you brought this up because I came along and was taught by some of the best. You guys spoiled me and allowed me to walk in your footsteps, good footsteps I might ask from my first S2DT Tivo. So my notes read like this...

Code:
cd /tvbin
mv tivoapp tivoapp.orig
cp tivoapp.orig tivoapp
chmod 755 tivoapp
patch
Patch is built into my /.profile file to execute this command

Code:
alias patch='echo "patching tivoapp"; /var/hacks/tvapppatch.tcl'
So I reverse the process after each failure and delete the failed Tivoapp and mv tivoapp.orig back to tivoapp...

So unless I failed to do this on one of my attempts, then I should have my original tivoapp still in place...

Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 12:28 PM   #5372
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Looks like it means TS transfers back to the TiVo HD don't work.

Now curious if transfers FROM the TiVo HD are available in TS container.
When you connect connect to TiVo HD using a web browser (using https, not http):
Code:
https://TIVOIP
(username=tivo password=10 digit MAK and you have to allow browser to connect to insecure page)
Do you see "Download MPEG-TS" option?
Is there a port or something I need to connect to? I can't connect just using https://TIVOIP...

But if you're talking about connecting via the pyTivo port 9032, then yes I can connect that way and push any show I want to the Tivo...

EDITED to ADD:

Sorry, I was trying to connect to my video server siince that was where pyTivo is installed. Mines says, "Download MPEG-PS". Notice the P and not a T like yours.


Last edited by Soapm; 01-30-2016 at 12:40 PM.
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 12:29 PM   #5373
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
Is there a port or something I need to connect to? I can't connect just using https://TIVOIP...
Are you replacing TIVOIP with your TiVo's IP address (ie https://192.168.1.109 for example)?

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 12:41 PM   #5374
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Are you replacing TIVOIP with your TiVo's IP address (ie https://192.168.1.109 for example)?

Scott
No, I was using the ip of my video server... Thanks for pulling my head out for me....

Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 11:10 PM   #5375
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 19,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
What's happening here is, pyTivo saves time in building the list by not fully parsing the metadata for a program until more details are requested. (And when I say "saves time", I mean you really wouldn't want it not to work this way.)


What do you use? Lately I've just been doing it with FFmpeg, after manually noting the cut points in VLC.
How much slower would it be? Since I have each show in its own folder (ooh, except I guess when it initially shows me the non-foldered list on the tivo?), I would hope it would be O(n) for the # of files..

I used to use MPEG Streamclip.. But it has gotten flaky on later versions of OS X.. (yes I know it uses the old MPEG 2 plugin) Flaky as in many recordings don't have video but just audio -- though strangely I could often still use it to edit in this state.

Though conversely, at least if I only wanted ONE segment, I _can_ use Quicktime Player often to just Trim that segment. But sometimes I want(ed) multiple segments (e.g. 2 musical performances from SNL).

Though wait -- can't it look at the metadata for EACH file as it "presents" that to the Tivo? Paging up/down sure seems to reload info.. so it seems to me like it could "do the right thing".. But if it took MINUTES, yeah, that would be bad..

(Though I guess that would mean it'd be cool to write a little tool to set the mod date of each file to the info in its corresponding metadata file... as a workaround)

mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 09:09 AM   #5376
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,487
Where are my log files?

They're not in my pytivo directory (or subdirectory), not in my windows log directory nor in my python27 directory. I don't see a place to indicate a location for log files in the pytivo configuration file. I read the entire DST file for instructions. I have debug set to true.

lew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 12:46 PM   #5377
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,932
The log is written to the console, unless you redirect it (i.e. ">"), or set up an output file via the somewhat convoluted Python logging options. Without knowing exactly what steps you took to set up pyTivo, no one can say where (or whether) your log is.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 12:49 PM   #5378
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 7,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
The log is written to the console, unless you redirect it (i.e. ">"), or set up an output file via the somewhat convoluted Python logging options. Without knowing exactly what steps you took to set up pyTivo, no one can say where (or whether) your log is.
This is one of the reasons why I don't run pyTivo as a service.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 03:14 PM   #5379
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
This is one of the reasons why I don't run pyTivo as a service.
It's quite easy to put the log wherever you want it. Which is my point... it's wherever you put it (just like, e.g., the video shares), not in a standardized location, so it's not meaningful for someone to ask "Where are my log files?", when only they themselves can answer that.

I think pyTivo could probably benefit from something like a simple "logfile:" option for pyTivo.conf, but redirection is already pretty simple.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 03:25 PM   #5380
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
It's quite easy to put the log wherever you want it. Which is my point... it's wherever you put it (just like, e.g., the video shares), not in a standardized location, so it's not meaningful for someone to ask "Where are my log files?", when only they themselves can answer that.

I think pyTivo could probably benefit from something like a simple "logfile:" option for pyTivo.conf, but redirection is already pretty simple.
I used the default settings. The only thing "special" is ts=on. Sounds like that means I don't have log files saved. The sample configuration dist file doesn't give log instructions.

My two cents, a person who asks for the location of the log files probably doesn't have any.

lew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 03:56 PM   #5381
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 7,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
It's quite easy to put the log wherever you want it. Which is my point... it's wherever you put it (just like, e.g., the video shares), not in a standardized location, so it's not meaningful for someone to ask "Where are my log files?", when only they themselves can answer that.

I think pyTivo could probably benefit from something like a simple "logfile:" option for pyTivo.conf, but redirection is already pretty simple.
I didn't mean to imply otherwise. My point was that it is easy to run it in a window and have immediate access to the log messages and that is one reason why I don't run it* as service.



*I actually run three instances on the same system. And yes, I also have legitimate reasons for that.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.
Page generated in 0.17773199 seconds (43.80% PHP - 56.20% MySQL) with 19 queries