TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 05:29 AM   #1
mikengrove
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Premiere ends recordings too early

Both my premiere and premiere 4 are missing ends to recordings. It's as if the TiVo programming guide is 1 minute fast. All my recordings finish about a minute before the end of show,there are no conflicts or clippings. This is happening on most channels.
Anyone else having this problem?
mikengrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:02 AM   #2
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,801
If you identified your cable provider, what channels you had the problem on, & your location it might be useful. I am OTA only (Rochester NY Area) and have not seen this issue in quit awhile, but have seen it in the past a few times - usually it just cuts off next weeks preview.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio

Last edited by atmuscarella : 11-05-2012 at 06:11 AM.
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:45 AM   #3
LifeIsABeach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 2,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikengrove View Post
Both my premiere and premiere 4 are missing ends to recordings. It's as if the TiVo programming guide is 1 minute fast. All my recordings finish about a minute before the end of show,there are no conflicts or clippings. This is happening on most channels.
Anyone else having this problem?
When TiVo "calls" in it sets its time with the atomic clock time. It should be accurate. You can find the atomic clock time on the internet and check it. The networks are probably starting/stopping late. I always pad all recordings by at least a minute (MTV I do 5 minutes).
__________________
For of all sad words of tongue or pen, The saddest are these: "It might have been!"
LifeIsABeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:18 AM   #4
rahnbo
Registered User
 
rahnbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 721
This may or not be the problem but unfortunately many channels extend shows + or - a minute for whatever reason. NBC on Thursday night is the worst to me. Every show bleeds in to the next. I guess they think they're being cute or something but its just annoying.
rahnbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:52 AM   #5
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahnbo View Post
This may or not be the problem but unfortunately many channels extend shows + or - a minute for whatever reason. NBC on Thursday night is the worst to me. Every show bleeds in to the next. I guess they think they're being cute or something but its just annoying.
It appears the networks add 1 min. of commercials to popular shows and reduce the next show's commercials by the same 1 min.

And yes it is a real pain if you have conflicts because of the show ending 1 min late, but if you don't and the guide is correct everything should record ok.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:34 PM   #6
Wingershute
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 93
This is easily fixed by adding 1 minute to the end of the recording. I do this for all my shows and never miss anything.
__________________

Roamio Plus Lifetime
Mini Lifetime X 3
2 Premieres Lifetime
TiVo S2 doa
8tb server
Wingershute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:42 PM   #7
TIVO_GUY_HERE
I miss the ocean
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 5,549
I've learned to just deal with it. I can't pad most showings so miss the last bit ( usually much less than a minute) Sitcoms are the worst, I usually get to see of hour long dramas.
TIVO_GUY_HERE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:37 PM   #8
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingershute View Post
This is easily fixed by adding 1 minute to the end of the recording. I do this for all my shows and never miss anything.
easily fixed, if you have enough tuners.. (which I mostly do now)

but yes, I add a minute to a HUGE proportion of my recordings.. Only AFTER I realize the minute isn't needed do I then remove it (so as to lessen conflicts).

NBC, E!, MTV all need padding. CBS used to always need padding, but I'm not sure anymore, though I still have padding on (I only care about 2 sitcoms on Mon nowadays that are separated by a half hour)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:40 AM   #9
aforkosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 324
There can also be a delay in cable transmission. For example, during the World Series, I was at a party that had an antenna connected TV on one side of the room and a cable connected set on the other side. I timed a 14-second delay on the cable set compared to the one on the antenna. I've done similar timings before, but, unfortunately, the delays are not consistent over either channel or time.
__________________
Alan Forkosh
aforkosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:36 PM   #10
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
It appears the networks add 1 min. of commercials to popular shows and reduce the next show's commercials by the same 1 min.
The fee networks charge for commercials is based on the rating of the show they are in (higher ratings = more eyeballs = higher charge). So they will want the commercial to be in the more highly rated show. With regards to the adverse effect this has on DVR users, they would probably consider the inconvenience to be a plus
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:26 AM   #11
crazee8
Registered User
 
crazee8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Mine was fine until the power went out during Sandy. I discovered that the tivo clock was off by 6 minutes when the power came back on. I restarted the box and now it's much more accurate. Even then, I still have to add a minute from time to time.
crazee8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:10 PM   #12
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,780
I wonder if it's the same thing as what was originally mentioned in this thread. Lately, on my new Premiere 4 (a few weeks old at this point), once in a while I see a recording where the time bar doesn't fill the entire time bar section.. However, I am NOT noticing chunks of the program missing/glitches. If all of the dropouts were coincidentally in commercial breaks, this could be an example. (I am not seeing the shows called "Partial" in the UI either.) What I mean is, I see THROUGH the very end of the time bar that should be filled.

I wonder if there is a HD UI bug where the time bar isn't calculated completely properly. (I do know that in SD UI on my S3-era machines, there can be situations where the current location jiggles back and forth a bit. Seems like a rounding issue, but I can't imagine a place where time W rounds UP to Z, but time X which is later than W rounds DOWN to Y (less than Z)… Unless there's some kind of multiple fractional offset thing going on..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |