TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
Dnamertz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 770
Local Channels Lost...Need New Box

On my old Directv tivo box (which is probably 7 years old), my local NBC channel is just a black screen. When I try to watch shows that were recorded on NBC within the last couple weeks, there is nothing there so this must have started a couple weeks ago. I am not having this problem on my newer non-Tivo box.

I called Directv today, and their automated recording (prior to talking to a live person) had me restart the DVR. So, I did that and when it was done searching for a satellite signal it said that it could not find all channels. NBC was still black, but now ABC, CBS, PBS, and FOX are not even on the guide and I can't even go to those channels. When I talked to Directv, they said this is a problem that other people are having and that their engineers are working on a fix, but they really don't know what the problem is.

They said that whatever the fix is will need to be downloaded to my box via a phone line. But, my old box hasn't been able to connect via a phone line the last couple years, and Directv wasnt' able to ever get that resolved either (they just told me I need a new box).

So, without local channels, and no fix in sight...I need a new box. What are Directv's new Tivo boxes like? How do they compare to the old directv-tivo boxes, and how do they compare to Directv's own DVRs.?
Dnamertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:09 AM   #2
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,016
Check out the "First Look" for more info about the new THR22 HD DirecTivo ....
http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=199680
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:24 AM   #3
Dnamertz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by litzdog911 View Post
Check out the "First Look" for more info about the new THR22 HD DirecTivo ....
http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=199680
I'll check out that thread, but you say this is an "HD" DirecTivo. The TV that I have this old DirecTivo box on is not HD. What are my options for non-HD?
Dnamertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 12:45 PM   #4
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,016
There are no new "non HD" Tivos. The new DirecTV Tivo is the THR22 HD Tivo. If you don't want HD, and you still want Tivo, your only options are an older used Tivo.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 12:51 PM   #5
wetchemistry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 52
Dnamertz, what model is your SD DTivo?
wetchemistry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 01:34 PM   #6
Dnamertz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetchemistry View Post
Dnamertz, what model is your SD DTivo?
Its a Samsung SIR S4080R.
Dnamertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:08 PM   #7
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,270
You might want to check the thread about local channels to see what all we've been trying to do to get it fixed.
nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:17 PM   #8
Dnamertz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmiller855 View Post
You might want to check the thread about local channels to see what all we've been trying to do to get it fixed.
I read through a lot of that thread, and there was a lot of discussion about "hacking" and technical upgrades that are over my head. Plus, it sounds like even the simple solutions would require my box to be able to make a phone call, which it no longer can do.
Dnamertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |