TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2014, 10:10 AM   #61
ffitzgerald39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Comcast VOD Startup

I am at 60089 north of Chicago. I went thru the start up problems yesterday. I could get to the menu but then the screen would freeze when I started the program. I called Comcast cable card number who said I needed the on demand billing codes and Billing had to add them. I called Billing who didn't know what I was talking about and got on a 2 way call with the technical department - 20 minutes while I was on hold. They did something and then told me to restart the TIVO, that the card had not been properly paired. (I had been using it for 7 years and it was in my third TIVO.) This fixed the problem. I could play all the programs. As a point of interest the two programs that I had tried to play previously and had frozen showed as rented in my on demand saved folder. It appears it was a card pairing problem and not in the account software.

I think in typical Comcast fashion they released a large customer base for VOD without any notice or training for the customer contact people.
ffitzgerald39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:59 AM   #62
huntermaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
I will check my Tivo against the link when I get home but I do currently have HBO, etc working on my TiVo.
huntermaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 11:43 AM   #63
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
For those of you in Chicago that can now see Xfinity On Demand
Any news on Georgia? You have it listed on your website now but none of the ATL zips show it available.

Sorry for the hijack but since she responded here...
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:00 PM   #64
alleybj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: atlanta, ga usa
Posts: 95
Yes, please. Atlanta!
alleybj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 06:44 PM   #65
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
According to all the information on the TiVo website as to determining if the CableCard is paired, as well as the fact I can watch premium channels, I have to believe my cable card is paired properly.

I also looked at my Comcast services online, and it shows:
Make & Model: MOTOROLA TIVOPMHST
Serial Number# 0350136658XXX
MAC Address 00:00:00:B0:XX:XX

Tried VoD tonight when I got home and it's still freezing after a few seconds.

I tried calling Comcast last night and the tech on the phone pretty much had no clue, but I just called the general number. Is there a special number we can call for TiVo support?
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 06:51 PM   #66
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnieZ View Post
I tried calling Comcast last night and the tech on the phone pretty much had no clue, but I just called the general number. Is there a special number we can call for TiVo support?
Comcast/XFINITY • 1-877-405-2298 • CableCARD Activation Line
sbiller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:05 PM   #67
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Comcast/XFINITY • 1-877-405-2298 • CableCARD Activation Line
Yeah. I thought this was just for CableCard activation.. Not general support with TiVo. Has anyone successfully called here and gotten traction with this issue?
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:11 PM   #68
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 129
DonnieZ, what does your cable card say under "auth"? My broken card says FWK.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:13 PM   #69
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by GumboChief View Post
DonnieZ, what does your cable card say under "auth"? My broken card says FWK.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
Auth: S

According to the TiVo website, that should be good. No?
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:45 PM   #70
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,792
Look here --> http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Video-O...s/td-p/1604805
sbiller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 11:06 PM   #71
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 129
It is now working for me in Chicago 60657. I had the billing code added yesterday, but through this afternoon, it was still failing. Tried it one last time before going to bed, and it is working now. My guess is something was done to my local head end.
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 11:45 PM   #72
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Bingo.

Chatted online, probably about 11:15P Chicago time. The overly friendly online chat rep said this was definitely the issue, added the code, and I'm in business as of about 11:35P.

Thanks for the link and advice!

Even now with OnDemand in my arsenal, there's still nothing on
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:59 AM   #73
zabolots
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 69
On my Premier, when I go to my Video On Demand menu I see

vod-cmcsartl_1190-title

as the top entry and when selected nothing appears in the right-hand pane.

Any ideas?

p.s. I'm using the SD menus but that shouldn't matter
zabolots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:48 PM   #74
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 930
apparently today. Just came to my Tivo.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 05:54 PM   #75
huntermaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnieZ View Post
Bingo.

Chatted online, probably about 11:15P Chicago time. The overly friendly online chat rep said this was definitely the issue, added the code, and I'm in business as of about 11:35P.

Thanks for the link and advice!

Even now with OnDemand in my arsenal, there's still nothing on
The info in the link fixed my problem also, watch True Detective in HD right now.
huntermaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 06:38 PM   #76
zabolots
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabolots View Post
On my Premier, when I go to my Video On Demand menu I see

vod-cmcsartl_1190-title

as the top entry and when selected nothing appears in the right-hand pane.

Any ideas?

p.s. I'm using the SD menus but that shouldn't matter
Am I the only one with this issue?
zabolots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:46 PM   #77
tomm1079
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabolots View Post
Am I the only one with this issue?
i got that right after they updated my account. Then i closed the app and reopened it and it worked.

Guessing that is not very useful but figured i would give you a heads up
tomm1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 08:07 AM   #78
zabolots
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm1079 View Post
i got that right after they updated my account. Then i closed the app and reopened it and it worked.

Guessing that is not very useful but figured i would give you a heads up
I changed my settings to use HD menus and I got to the point others were talking about where they could see the app and navigate to a show but it would only play a few seconds before stopping. I guess I need to call Comcast as other have.

Once I get it working with HD menus I'll try reverting back to SD to see if it still works.
zabolots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 09:26 AM   #79
joel9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabolots View Post
Am I the only one with this issue?
Same problem here on a Premier. It was indeed an SD menu issue and VoD worked fine for me once I switched to the HD menus. Unfortunately it still doesn't work on the SD menus, which forces me to switch whenever I want to use the Xfinity VoD.

Since I find the HD menus really annoying, I hope they fix this bug soon. Alternatively, perhaps one day they'll give us the ability to really turn off the automatic video/audio play in the HD menus, which is my major complaint.
joel9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 09:48 AM   #80
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel9 View Post
Alternatively, perhaps one day they'll give us the ability to really turn off the automatic video/audio play in the HD menus, which is my major complaint.
The window is easily turned off. Slow or through the menus.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 10:41 AM   #81
joel9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
The window is easily turned off. Slow or through the menus.
Tried that, but found that audio still played sometimes. Now that I think about it, though, it was only after watching an Xfinity on Demand program. Will test further and try to isolate the cause.
joel9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:20 AM   #82
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,155
I have found that if the window is open when launching the xfinity menus sound will continue to play as you move around. Otherwise the window is gone in all tivo menus.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |