TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 01:18 AM   #1
Upinit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Error message transferring shows

Hi all, I'm hoping someone could assist me. I try to stay out of my wife's Tivo business but I got roped into this one.

First our set up: 2 Tivo series 2 boxes. One is connected via a Comcast digital signal converter and the other an HD cable box.

On the box connected with the HD cable box, the cable was split from the wall; one to the HD cable box and the other into the Tivo. With this setup my wife was able to transfer shows between the 2 Tivo boxes.

However, last month Comcast finally shut off the analog signal going through the cable. I had to switch the setup so the cable went to the HD box and then to the Tivo. Since this change my wife is now unable to transfer shows from this Tivo to the other as everything is disallowed with the error "transferring prohibited by the copyright holder".

I tried researching this but I'm not sure where the issue lies - with my setup or with the HD cable box's settings.

Can anyone provide me with some assistance with this issue.

Thanks!
Upinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:40 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,994
You need to be more specific, such as what Tivo models, how the cable boxes are connected, etc. There are many models that are labelled Series 2.

As far as I know, the only models that copy protect recordings are Premiere and series 3 with cable cards.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:17 PM   #3
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Yes, the analog versions of the channels on the cable are usually not copy-protected but if the digital channels are copy-protected, then running them through the cable box and into the Tivo via composite cables (analog) will not remove the copy protection flag on the video. If you have two Premieres you can stream the shows but not transfer them.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:38 PM   #4
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
BTW, now that there's no analog, you might want to consider getting a Premiere or S3/TivoHD (the latter being the older digital capable Tivos). That will NOT solve your transfer issue (well, if you get 2 Premieres, you will be able to STREAM anything, so it sort of will, if you don't want to record anything 'for keeps' outside of the Tivo).. But you won't have to deal with annoying cable boxes.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |