TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2013, 01:30 PM   #1
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Comcast CableCARD problem (Imagine that)

I recently upgraded to a 4 tuner TiVo Premiere XL4. I called Comcast and they told my my current 3 year old Multistream card is only good for 2 tuners. They scheduled a technician to come by. The technician told me that 4 stream Mcards are not available in my area (I live on the Eastern Shore of MD). He gave me his supervisor's telephone and told me to calll every few months or so to see about availability.

Anybody had this problem? If I complain hard enough shouldn't they be able to get one sent in from another area?

Thanks in advance for any input.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:07 PM   #2
retiredqwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 156
Did you call the Comcast Cablecard Hotline: 1-877-405-2298?

Motorola Cable Cards can do 6 streams, there is no such thing as a 2 stream or 4 stream card. I've read about headends not being able to do more than 2 streams...... but, I don't know how accurate that is.
__________________
I'm not retired... I'm a professional grandparent.

THD 1.5TB Seagate = 237 hrs HD
Premiere WD20EVDS = 317 hrs HD.
XL4 = 318 hrs HD
retiredqwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:47 PM   #3
md37793
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Im not shocked. The eastern shore is Scientific Atlanta territory. Do their cablecards handle 4 tuners?

Update: I just talked to comcast on online chat and they said that our market only does 2 tuners. Im switching back to comcast from directv. I Guess my decision between premiere and 4 is made. ho-hum.

Last edited by md37793 : 02-12-2013 at 03:14 PM.
md37793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:14 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,224
They tried to feed someone else the same line when he couldn't get more than two tuners to work on his Premiere 4. He went back and forth with Comcast and TiVo. The problem turned out to be that two of the tuners had somehow been allocated to streaming. Once he undid that, all four tuners worked fine. Doesn't matter who manufactures it, an m-card can handle 6 streams. I don't see any way that the head-end could have any effect on that. IOW, the technician is a moron or was trying to justify a field visit. If they charged you for it, demand a refund.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:48 PM   #5
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks for the input...I kinda figured it was going to be a back and forth with Comcast.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 05:11 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by md37793 View Post
IUpdate: I just talked to comcast on online chat and they said that our market only does 2 tuners. Im switching back to comcast from directv.
They are absolutely wrong and obviously do not know what they are talking about. Maybe their DVRs can only do two streams, but the CableCARD m-card specification is 6 streams. There are no 2-stream CableCARDs.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:33 AM   #7
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
They are absolutely wrong and obviously do not know what they are talking about. Maybe their DVRs can only do two streams, but the CableCARD m-card specification is 6 streams. There are no 2-stream CableCARDs.
So, if I'm understanding this correctly, I should be able to insert my existing M stream CableCARD into my new 4 Tuner TiVo, activate the new TiVo and it should work.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:37 AM   #8
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegibster View Post
So, if I'm understanding this correctly, I should be able to insert my existing M stream CableCARD into my new 4 Tuner TiVo, activate the new TiVo and it should work.
You will have to get it paired to the new TiVo for it to be fully functional, but basically yes. Pairing may not even be necessary if you have no Premium channels. One of my Premieres has never been paired to the CableCARD and it works fine. If your CableCARD is defective and truly only supports 2-streams, demand a replacement. Saying that "our Market only does 2 tuners" is flat out not true. Whoever told you that is either an idiot or lying. CableCARDs ARE NOT TUNERS.. I suspect that what is really at work here is that the local Comcast only has 2-tuner DVRs that you can rent from them, so in the conglomeration of mush that they have in lieu of a fully functional brain, they "think" that is all that is possible.

Comcast is traditional cable, not IPTV. There is simply no way to limit the number of "streams" going to a device. Especially when you consider the fact that Comcast does not use SDV. All of the data for all of the channels is going everywhere all of the time.

Send e-mail to we_can_help@comcast.com. Ask them to please stop these local operations from continuing to put out this bogus information.

After installing the CableCARD in the new TiVo, call 1-877-405-2298 and explain the situation. That is reportedly the Comcast CableCARD hotline. Hopefully, they will be more help than your local morons.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:21 PM   #9
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
You will have to get it paired to the new TiVo for it to be fully functional, but basically yes. Pairing may not even be necessary if you have no Premium channels. One of my Premieres has never been paired to the CableCARD and it works fine. If your CableCARD is defective and truly only supports 2-streams, demand a replacement. Saying that "our Market only does 2 tuners" is flat out not true. Whoever told you that is either an idiot or lying. CableCARDs ARE NOT TUNERS.. I suspect that what is really at work here is that the local Comcast only has 2-tuner DVRs that you can rent from them, so in the conglomeration of mush that they have in lieu of a fully functional brain, they "think" that is all that is possible.

Comcast is traditional cable, not IPTV. There is simply no way to limit the number of "streams" going to a device. Especially when you consider the fact that Comcast does not use SDV. All of the data for all of the channels is going everywhere all of the time.

Send e-mail to we_can_help@comcast.com. Ask them to please stop these local operations from continuing to put out this bogus information.

After installing the CableCARD in the new TiVo, call 1-877-405-2298 and explain the situation. That is reportedly the Comcast CableCARD hotline. Hopefully, they will be more help than your local morons.
Will do....thanks
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 02:17 PM   #10
md37793
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Gibster,
did you get it working? I would like to know because I want to buy a premiere 4 and want to know how much of a hassle it might end up being dealing with comcast.
md37793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:19 PM   #11
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by md37793 View Post
Gibster,
did you get it working? I would like to know because I want to buy a premiere 4 and want to know how much of a hassle it might end up being dealing with comcast.
I'm going to give it a try tomorrow morning. I'm hoping that if it doesn't work automatically that the person on the other end of the CableCARD hotline can get the unit/card "paired". I will update tomorrow.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:55 PM   #12
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by md37793 View Post
Gibster,
did you get it working? I would like to know because I want to buy a premiere 4 and want to know how much of a hassle it might end up being dealing with comcast.
Just remember you only hear about the bad installs. I have Comcast also. I had no problems with cable cards install. I bought a series 3 2 months after they came out which I believe was 2006 or 2007. Picked 2 cards from the Comcast office went home and 15 min later had them paired up and running. I have bought the premiere 2 tuner and a elite. No problems with the Cable cards. I may have between a Ceton tv card and reactivating tivos installed about 8 cards with no problems with pairing.
Comcast is a lot better now about getting the cards paired..
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:02 AM   #13
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by md37793 View Post
Gibster,
did you get it working? I would like to know because I want to buy a premiere 4 and want to know how much of a hassle it might end up being dealing with comcast.
I am "up and running". My M-stream Scientific America CableCARD is supporting 4 tuners. I did have to call Comcast to get my premium channels to work. After a 2 hour upload I now have a program guide. Issues I am still working on are: 1)still can't search for programs. 2)no Netflix 3)how to transfer programs from TiVo Desktop to my new TiVo.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:45 AM   #14
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegibster View Post
I am "up and running". My M-stream Scientific America CableCARD is supporting 4 tuners. I did have to call Comcast to get my premium channels to work. After a 2 hour upload I now have a program guide. Issues I am still working on are: 1)still can't search for programs. 2)no Netflix 3)how to transfer programs from TiVo Desktop to my new TiVo.
Make sure you go online and into the TiVo settings and enable all of the things that must be enabled for transfers to work. It may take a couple of days for the TiVo to set itself up fully. You probably already knew all of this since you had a TiVo.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:03 PM   #15
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Make sure you go online and into the TiVo settings and enable all of the things that must be enabled for transfers to work. It may take a couple of days for the TiVo to set itself up fully. You probably already knew all of this since you had a TiVo.
Yeah, I wasn't complaining too hard because I've heard it takes some time for everything to come online.

Just chatted with TiVo. They said to connect to the TiVo service again and I should have search and Netflix capability...2 hour wait on Desktop transfers.
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 01:56 PM   #16
thegibster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegibster View Post
Yeah, I wasn't complaining too hard because I've heard it takes some time for everything to come online.

Just chatted with TiVo. They said to connect to the TiVo service again and I should have search and Netflix capability...2 hour wait on Desktop transfers.
All is working now. All being said, not too bad of an experience. Thanks to all who replied.

Last edited by thegibster : 02-14-2013 at 01:57 PM. Reason: forgot sentence
thegibster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:28 AM   #17
md37793
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Good to hear. Now I know I can get a 4!
md37793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |