TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
AndrewWK
Tivo since '99
 
AndrewWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 7
brief A/V dropouts over HDMI

This is a little different from some of the other dropouts I've seen in searching. The integrity of the program itself is fine, but the picture/sound will cut out for brief and random periods of only a couple seconds. Sometimes it doesn't happen for hours and other times it will happen 3 or 4 times in a row. If I rewind the program and watch the same bit again, it's fine. I have no issues with other HDMI devices connected through the same receiver, so I don't believe it to be an issue with the other components. Also, this is something that has started in the last year or so and seems to occur with increasing frequency. I'm wondering if it could a power supply issue?

Model: TCD652160
AndrewWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:26 AM   #2
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
This is a little different from some of the other dropouts I've seen in searching. The integrity of the program itself is fine, but the picture/sound will cut out for brief and random periods of only a couple seconds. Sometimes it doesn't happen for hours and other times it will happen 3 or 4 times in a row. If I rewind the program and watch the same bit again, it's fine. I have no issues with other HDMI devices connected through the same receiver, so I don't believe it to be an issue with the other components. Also, this is something that has started in the last year or so and seems to occur with increasing frequency. I'm wondering if it could a power supply issue?

Model: TCD652160
It could be a power supply issue, or it could be a hard drive issue. If you don't mind opening your TiVo, check the power supply voltages under load, and look for bulging capacitors. (Search for "capacitor plague".) You might want to back up any must-not-lose recordings to your computer, or back up your entire TiVo hard drive by cloning it. It would be interesting to connect the hard drive to your computer and run the manufacturer's bootable standalone diagnostic on it. (Don't use Windows, and if you happen to have a Gigabyte motherboard, ask first about problems with those.)

Could you connect the TiVo directly to the TV for a while to see if the problem ever occurs that way? That would more definitively rule out other components, cabling, etc. I suspect that you would still see the problem. I wonder if your symptoms could be caused by disk fragmentation. Does anyone know whether that can be a problem in the file system TiVo uses for recordings? There's no way to defrag a TiVo, except (I'm guessing) by doing a "Clear & delete everything" or something similarly destructive.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:56 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
This is a little different from some of the other dropouts I've seen in searching. The integrity of the program itself is fine, but the picture/sound will cut out for brief and random periods of only a couple seconds. Sometimes it doesn't happen for hours and other times it will happen 3 or 4 times in a row. If I rewind the program and watch the same bit again, it's fine. I have no issues with other HDMI devices connected through the same receiver, so I don't believe it to be an issue with the other components. Also, this is something that has started in the last year or so and seems to occur with increasing frequency. I'm wondering if it could a power supply issue?

Model: TCD652160
Any odd symptoms on that model could be power supply related, because that's one of the models that's been subject to "capacitor plague", and taking the cover off and eyeballing the caps on the power supply board before trying any other troubleshooting is not a bad idea.

If you still have the original hard drive in there it's definitely a good time to do a backup of it, and not a bad time to upgrade to a larger one, but only after making sure there's nothing wrong with the power supply.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:37 PM   #4
AndrewWK
Tivo since '99
 
AndrewWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 7
Thank you for the information. Do you have any suggestions on how best to simulate load to test the powersupply?

Andrew

Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
It could be a power supply issue, or it could be a hard drive issue. If you don't mind opening your TiVo, check the power supply voltages under load, and look for bulging capacitors. (Search for "capacitor plague".) You might want to back up any must-not-lose recordings to your computer, or back up your entire TiVo hard drive by cloning it. It would be interesting to connect the hard drive to your computer and run the manufacturer's bootable standalone diagnostic on it. (Don't use Windows, and if you happen to have a Gigabyte motherboard, ask first about problems with those.)

Could you connect the TiVo directly to the TV for a while to see if the problem ever occurs that way? That would more definitively rule out other components, cabling, etc. I suspect that you would still see the problem. I wonder if your symptoms could be caused by disk fragmentation. Does anyone know whether that can be a problem in the file system TiVo uses for recordings? There's no way to defrag a TiVo, except (I'm guessing) by doing a "Clear & delete everything" or something similarly destructive.

AndrewWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:42 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
Thank you for the information. Do you have any suggestions on how best to simulate load to test the powersupply?

Andrew
Like the man said, read up on capacitor plague to learn what visible signs to look for.

The TiVo motherboard and the drive are plenty load.

Do you have a voltmeter?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:46 PM   #6
AndrewWK
Tivo since '99
 
AndrewWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 7
I apologize, I should have listed my full configuration:

Tivo:TCD652160 (unmodded)
Cisco tuning adapter
twc m-card
WD 1TB My DVRexpander

I went ahead and ordered a replacement HDD just in case. I did the eyeball check on the PS and none of them are leaking, but a few do appear to have bulged. I saw you mentioned there is someone in Raleigh who does PS repairs. I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction?

thank you,
Andrew


Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Any odd symptoms on that model could be power supply related, because that's one of the models that's been subject to "capacitor plague", and taking the cover off and eyeballing the caps on the power supply board before trying any other troubleshooting is not a bad idea.

If you still have the original hard drive in there it's definitely a good time to do a backup of it, and not a bad time to upgrade to a larger one, but only after making sure there's nothing wrong with the power supply.

AndrewWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:44 AM   #7
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
Thank you for the information. Do you have any suggestions on how best to simulate load to test the powersupply?

Andrew
As unitron said, the TiVo itself is the load. You just measure the voltages with the cover off, while it's running everything (motherboard, drives, etc).
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:09 AM   #8
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
As unitron said, the TiVo itself is the load. You just measure the voltages with the cover off, while it's running everything (motherboard, drives, etc).
There should be a large connector on the motherboard carrying lots of wires from the PS. If your voltmeter probes aren't too fat, a convenient way to get to the voltages is to probe right into the back (top) side of this connector.

Red is 5V
Yellow is 12V
Black is ground

If your probes are too fat, try improvising with paper clips attached to them.

Even slight capacitor bulges indicate a problem. It appears what you saw was pretty obvious, so it was more than slight. Replace the caps or the PS. If you replace the caps be sure to use Low ESR types.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by dlfl : 01-01-2013 at 10:14 AM.
dlfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:38 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
I apologize, I should have listed my full configuration:

Tivo:TCD652160 (unmodded)
Cisco tuning adapter
twc m-card
WD 1TB My DVRexpander

I went ahead and ordered a replacement HDD just in case. I did the eyeball check on the PS and none of them are leaking, but a few do appear to have bulged. I saw you mentioned there is someone in Raleigh who does PS repairs. I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction?

thank you,
Andrew
You got bulges, you got bad ones.

I just emailed my Raleigh guy, waiting to hear back, in the meantime PM me name address phone number email
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:22 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewWK View Post
I apologize, I should have listed my full configuration:

Tivo:TCD652160 (unmodded)
Cisco tuning adapter
twc m-card
WD 1TB My DVRexpander

I went ahead and ordered a replacement HDD just in case. I did the eyeball check on the PS and none of them are leaking, but a few do appear to have bulged. I saw you mentioned there is someone in Raleigh who does PS repairs. I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction?

thank you,
Andrew
Just noticed you don't have enough posts to PM yet, so email me

myusernamehere

at

coastalnet.com

I just got off the phone with my guy in Raleigh.

And of course my user name here is unitron
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |