TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 142 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 04-22-2015, 07:03 PM   #2731
Toddler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 31
I have a new (never powered on) Roamio Plus and this Western Digital 3 TB WD AV-GP WD30EURX drive:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DXFEQGI/

Following the instructions a few posts back, which say to follow the instructions in the first post. That first post says simply to connect the new drive, power on and the Roamio will do the rest. Is that literally all it takes? I don't need to have ever powered on the TiVo prior to the drive upgrade?

Toddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 07:08 PM   #2732
Dixon Butz
Anal Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler View Post
I have a new (never powered on) Roamio Plus and this Western Digital 3 TB WD AV-GP WD30EURX drive:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DXFEQGI/

Following the instructions a few posts back, which say to follow the instructions in the first post. That first post says simply to connect the new drive, power on and the Roamio will do the rest. Is that literally all it takes? I don't need to have ever powered on the TiVo prior to the drive upgrade?
Doesn't matter if you powered on or not. Drop it in and turn it on.

__________________
TiVo Roamio OTA w/WD30EURX 3TB HD
Tivo Mini V1 X 2, TiVo Stream
Simple.TV, HD Homerun Extend
Samsung UHDTV HU658550
Denon 3312 AVR 7.2
Dixon Butz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 08:03 PM   #2733
RobertE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 51
I've been doing lots of reading and need a little clarification.

We have a new Roamio OTA. I'm looking at putting in a 1.5tb drive. I'd prefer not to lose the handful of shows already recorded along with all the passes. If I understand the 2700+ posts correctly I can:

Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes to a PC
Upgrade the drive - swap & go
Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes back to the Tivo

Is that correct?

RobertE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 08:38 PM   #2734
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertE View Post
I've been doing lots of reading and need a little clarification.

We have a new Roamio OTA. I'm looking at putting in a 1.5tb drive. I'd prefer not to lose the handful of shows already recorded along with all the passes. If I understand the 2700+ posts correctly I can:

Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes to a PC
Upgrade the drive - swap & go
Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes back to the Tivo

Is that correct?
TD does not backup passes and kmttg cannot transfer recordings back to the TiVo. You'd need to use TD or pyTivo for that.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 08:46 PM   #2735
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertE View Post
I've been doing lots of reading and need a little clarification.

We have a new Roamio OTA. I'm looking at putting in a 1.5tb drive. I'd prefer not to lose the handful of shows already recorded along with all the passes. If I understand the 2700+ posts correctly I can:

Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes to a PC
Upgrade the drive - swap & go
Use Tivo Desktop and/or kmttg to transfer the shows and passes back to the Tivo

Is that correct?
Correct. However, if you are just using the Tivo for storage of the videos, it may not be the best device for long term. Keeping it on a PC or externally/network attached drive may be better. You can transfer back to the Tivo when you wish to watch. Tivo Desktop seems to have a limit of about 300 Videos it can list/transfer from the Tivo before it falters.

KMTTG works only 1 way, Tivo-To-PC, It does other jobs such as decrypting, encoding for other devices, etc. There is a Push function but it borrows that from PyTivo which pushes (transfer video files PC-to-Tivo from the PC side) rather than pulling (initiating transfer to Tivo from the Tivo side.)

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 10:21 PM   #2736
BruinGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler View Post
I have a new (never powered on) Roamio Plus and this Western Digital 3 TB WD AV-GP WD30EURX drive:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DXFEQGI/

Following the instructions a few posts back, which say to follow the instructions in the first post. That first post says simply to connect the new drive, power on and the Roamio will do the rest. Is that literally all it takes? I don't need to have ever powered on the TiVo prior to the drive upgrade?
Yes, I did this last Sunday.

BruinGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:15 PM   #2737
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 15,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post

Correct. However, if you are just using the Tivo for storage of the videos, it may not be the best device for long term. Keeping it on a PC or externally/network attached drive may be better. You can transfer back to the Tivo when you wish to watch. Tivo Desktop seems to have a limit of about 300 Videos it can list/transfer from the Tivo before it falters.

KMTTG works only 1 way, Tivo-To-PC, It does other jobs such as decrypting, encoding for other devices, etc. There is a Push function but it borrows that from PyTivo which pushes (transfer video files PC-to-Tivo from the PC side) rather than pulling (initiating transfer to Tivo from the Tivo side.)
Kmttg works just like TiVo Desktop. While on the TiVo I can pull a show to it from the PC. T

__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:31 PM   #2738
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Kmttg works just like TiVo Desktop. While on the TiVo I can pull a show to it from the PC. T
kmttg has nothing to do with it.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.
Page generated in 0.06618500 seconds (65.26% PHP - 34.74% MySQL) with 19 queries