TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2012, 11:27 AM   #1
mjfrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Tivo HD XL Fresh Hard Drive Help

Hi guys, looking for some help.

The 1 TB hard drive on my Tivo HD XL has burned out (TCD65800).
I cannot get it to be seen by winMFS or any other tools (not spinning), so I think I have to start fresh.
I picked up a 2 TB WD green drive and I have a forum .tbk image for the TCD65800.

Can anyone recommend a specific procedure for getting that image onto the new 2TB drive and any tips for optimizing?
I't not clear to me how to use winMFS to do this, if at all possible.
Is there some other way or tool to get that drive prepared?

All of my PCs are Win7 and I have admin rights.

Thx for your help!

mjfrad
mjfrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,647
A .TBK file is from WinMFS, you just need to restore from that file to the drive. There is no need to format either.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:55 PM   #3
mjfrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks!

Do you mean simply connect the drive (I am using a USB to SATA adapter) and just drag the tbk file onto the disk?

It is a factory fresh WD drive-I've done nothing to it.

Also, I got that TCD65800 tdk image from this site. Are they all created equal?

Thanks again for your help.

mjfrad
mjfrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:08 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,647
Simply use the Restore feature, and it will ask for the file.

After the drive is in the Tivo and booted, run Clear & delete everything (required) since the restored image is off a different Tivo.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:20 PM   #5
mjfrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Thx again, and apologies for being simplistic.
You mean the Restore feature in winMFS?
mjfrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:51 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjfrad View Post
Hi guys, looking for some help.

The 1 TB hard drive on my Tivo HD XL has burned out (TCD65800).
I cannot get it to be seen by winMFS or any other tools (not spinning), so I think I have to start fresh.
I picked up a 2 TB WD green drive and I have a forum .tbk image for the TCD65800.

Can anyone recommend a specific procedure for getting that image onto the new 2TB drive and any tips for optimizing?
I't not clear to me how to use winMFS to do this, if at all possible.
Is there some other way or tool to get that drive prepared?

All of my PCs are Win7 and I have admin rights.

Thx for your help!

mjfrad
Okay, this could be problematic.

Maybe.

Or maybe not.

I've had a regular S3 HD to play with but not an HD XL.


But I've gotten that regular HD to boot with the XL image I posted, and at least one XL owner has reported success with it.


WinMFS will put the image on that 2TB drive, but I'm not sure if it will let you use all 2TB of it.

It's that extra 1TB that creates uncharted (at least by me) territory.


Let's try this.

Put WinMFS.exe and the .tbk file on whichever PC you want to use.

Hook up the 2TB to the USB adapter and the adapter to the PC.

Boot it up and let it settle down.

Then run WinMFS.exe

Click on "Select Drive" and see if it will let you select that particular drive. Make sure that's the one you're selecting.

Then click on restore.

When it opens the dialog box, direct it to the .tbk file and tell it to restore.

It'll take a while and it may appear to have frozen. Just leave it alone until it finishes.

When it does it may say something about extra space and do you want to expand.

For the time being, tell it no.

Then click on "mfsinfo", copy the results to the clipboard and paste it into a reply post here.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |