TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
HDD recomended in these FAQ's are all discontinued; whats recomended to replace them?

In the FAQ at the top of the page here (which was updated, burt still outdated and this upgrade article;
http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upgrade/

All the WD green HDD's that were recommended seem to be discontinued. The confusing four letter model numbers (EURS, AURS, EURX etc.) don't make it any easier.
Also, this "Advanced Format" that most of the new drives now have, is this a issue with the Series 3, especially the HD? If so, other than some jumper between pins 7 & 8, is there another workaround?

.

Last edited by videobruce : 01-14-2013 at 08:50 AM.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:33 AM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 893
I bought a 2tb drive ready to go from dvr_dude on ebay.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
In the FAQ at the top of the page here (which was updated, burt still outdated and this upgrade article;
http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upgrade/

All the WD green HDD's that were recommended seem to be discontinued. The confusing four letter model numbers (EURS, AURS, EURX etc.) don't make it any easier.
Also, this "Advanced Format" that most of the new drives now have, is this a issue with the Series 3, especially the HD? If so, other than some jumper between pins 7 & 8, is there another workaround?
This WD model number format document explains their model coding. One of the WD AV models with a "V" or a "U" as the second letter should be ideal for a TiVo, but some of them seem to be hard to find.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:26 PM   #4
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
Excellant find. Thanks for that. I wish I had that sooner.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:23 AM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Excellant find. Thanks for that. I wish I had that sooner.
Grab one of these

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=499727

or check Amazon to see if they're price-matching newegg this time around.

The newegg sale is only for 48 hours and it's already 2.5 hours old.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:21 AM   #6
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
Thanks, I found a couple of 1TB drives on Amazon for $77.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:49 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Thanks, I found a couple of 1TB drives on Amazon for $77.
The S3 HD can use a 2TB, and you get more GB/$ with one than with a 1TB.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:56 AM   #8
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
True, but you have more to loose if/when it goes south vs splitting that into two or more separate drives.
Besides, I don't save recordings normally (with a few exceptions).
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:05 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
True, but you have more to loose if/when it goes south vs splitting that into two or more separate drives.
Besides, I don't save recordings normally (with a few exceptions).
If you're using both drives on one TiVo, series 3 or 4, when one goes you lose the shows on both because the TiVo puts some of a show on one drive and some of it on the other, and does the same with next show, and the one after that, etc, because the "content providers" are frightened that if entire shows were on an external drive you could extract them somehow, ignoring that if that were possible the people that know how could do the same with shows on the internal drive.

And of course, only the original S3 (the OLED model) can use an external drive other than the official approved WD models.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |