TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Signdy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
best way to set up Series 2?

I've just moved to a new house. The new cable company installed a phone/internet modem in the den for the main TV and main computer. I want to set up my Series 2 TiVo with my older model TV in the bedroom. But I can't do the Guided Set-up with a phone line because apparently the phone lines only work where the modem is ... on the other side of the house. And I'm confused by the broadband connection options. I see conflicting info about what kind of adapter to get. I see customer reviews that the TiVo wireless adapter isn't that good. Why does this have to be so complicated?? The cable company won't help me because they "don't support TiVo." And I'm not sure how TiVo can help if they don't know how my cable company set me up. I hate being so helpless! Suggestions appreciated.
Signdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:49 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,986
You can either use wired ethernet or the Tivo wireless G adapter. You would also need a wireless router to be able to use wireless. A Series 2 is basically out of date technology, so the newer Tivo Wireless N adapter won't work with it.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:46 AM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
If your Series 2 is a single tuner unit, you will need a USB to ethernet adapter for a broadband connection.

Here is TiVos list of compatible wireless and wired adapters for Series 2 models:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...pter%20list#L2
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 694
The first thing to figure out; is your Series 2 a single tuner or dual tuner? If its a dual tuner, then it already has a standard ethernet port on its rear panel & another option to get it connected to your home network is getting a wireless ethernet bridge adapter of some kind. This kind of device basically turns ANY Ethernet enabled device into a wireless device. I think its a better option than the TiVo wireless adapter as it can then also be used with other devices in the future if desired.

I use a Netgear WGPS606 with my TiVo Series 2 (dual tuner) and it works great. It connects to my home network wirelessly. It has a total of four Ethernet ports so in addition to using it with my Series 2 TiVo, I could hook up 3 more ethernet devices to it if I wanted (Xbox, PS3, media streamer, blue ray player, Smart TV, etc.).

If your Series 2 is a single tuner (no ethernet port on back), then the above suggestions are probably the only way to go.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:02 PM   #5
Signdy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks, everybody. My Series 2 is a single tuner. The wireless router we have now is a Wireless N Router, so I guess that means an adaptor would also have to be an N, right? I'm assuming a Wireless G adapter won't do any good with a Wireless N router? That leaves me with the wired ethernet option. I hate to ask this, but what does the ethernet plug into? The TiVo on one end, obviously, but what on the other end? The computer and router are across the house.

Would I make my life easier by buying a newer TiVo? Or settling for the cable company's DVR?
Signdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:02 PM   #6
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signdy View Post
Thanks, everybody. My Series 2 is a single tuner. The wireless router we have now is a Wireless N Router, so I guess that means an adaptor would also have to be an N, right? I'm assuming a Wireless G adapter won't do any good with a Wireless N router? That leaves me with the wired ethernet option. I hate to ask this, but what does the ethernet plug into? The TiVo on one end, obviously, but what on the other end? The computer and router are across the house.

Would I make my life easier by buying a newer TiVo? Or settling for the cable company's DVR?
Wireless G is backwards compatible with a wireless N router.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
^^^

That.


Refer to my link above. It starts with a list of compatible wireless adapters. You just have to make sure they have USB connectivity.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:00 AM   #8
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,063
For wireless, just get the TiVo-branded AGO100. It's the only one that supports WPA encryption and the rest of the adapters on the compatibility list are old and pretty hard to find.

The AGO100 will also be faster because it offloads some of the work on to the adapter. It's only about $40 on Amazon and even cheaper used.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:54 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signdy View Post
I've just moved to a new house. The new cable company installed a phone/internet modem in the den for the main TV and main computer. I want to set up my Series 2 TiVo with my older model TV in the bedroom. But I can't do the Guided Set-up with a phone line because apparently the phone lines only work where the modem is ... on the other side of the house. And I'm confused by the broadband connection options. I see conflicting info about what kind of adapter to get. I see customer reviews that the TiVo wireless adapter isn't that good. Why does this have to be so complicated?? The cable company won't help me because they "don't support TiVo." And I'm not sure how TiVo can help if they don't know how my cable company set me up. I hate being so helpless! Suggestions appreciated.
Are you getting telephone service from the telephone company or the cable company?

Is there a telephone that plugs into the wall in the bedroom?

Does it work?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:37 AM   #10
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,877
I wouldn't try using the phone service from the cable provider.

Try the network. You can set the TiVo for the network before to redo Guided Setup, or after, if it has 7.2 or later software.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |