TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2013, 11:05 AM   #61
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
Quote:
And we are trying to tell you that this is how things are. There is no manual channel mapping.
If you want the guide data and channels to match properly, you have to have a cable card.
I'm (now) more aware "how thing are", but that doesn't mean they are right as in the way they should be. Nothing is cast in stone. The past doesn't have to be the present, things can and should change when they are short sighted.
Quote:
TiVo is not "most other DVRs".
It's suppose to be a cut above isn't it??
Quote:
I don't really know why DVRs (or DVD or Blu-ray players) really need that distiction anymore
Historically and by past practice. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:16 AM   #62
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
Quote:
You are wrong. The other alternative is to have a hundred different dedicated buttons.
I never said or implied dedicated buttons for every single function.
Quote:
The DVR cannot do what the stop button used to do.
Does it not stop the playback (reading of the disc)? Just because it doesn't physically stop movement of the disc, it is still a basic function.
Quote:
I don't know what you mean by that,
Re; right navigation key. When the info screen is up, toggling the right nav. button changes what is visible on the screen when you change channels.
Quote:
It takes about 5 minutes for a TiVo to boot.
And 10 minutes to restore a image (depending on the image size). I said about the same amount of time.
Quote:
the ads are disabled on my machines
And this is does exactly how?
Quote:
What happens when the program stops?
Choices of saving, deleting then returning to LiveTV.

Quote:
I may be wrong, but it appears OP just likes to argue.
And all you others are doing exactly what? The same thing!
I'm just responding to your comments. I posted my reasons more than once, it's you that continue to defend your worshiped DVR. The 'stop' button was only one item that you continue to make a colossal case over, not me. I guess you guys don't know what attorneys do.

Last edited by videobruce : 01-19-2013 at 11:24 AM.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:50 PM   #63
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
it's you that continue to defend your worshiped DVR.
And you expected something different?

This is a forum centered around the TiVo DVR, you know.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:43 AM   #64
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
Quote:
And you expected something different?
The way it's been doesn't mean it's the most appropriate way or the way it will continue to be.
Going on and on, centered around one of many issues was not my doing. Defending a device that has flawed basic functions due to narrow minded thinking just because that's the way it's been and you got use to it, is short sighted.

I don't know why this sub forum is even there since according to most, there is nothing wrong with these.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:38 AM   #65
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
I'm (now) more aware "how thing are", but that doesn't mean they are right as in the way they should be. Nothing is cast in stone. The past doesn't have to be the present, things can and should change when they are short sighted
Quote:
Historically and by past practice. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing.
Okay, now you're just trying to be funny. You couldn't have possibly been serious when you typed those two completely opposing things literally in the same post, right?
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:50 AM   #66
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
One was in reference to devices having a stop button and the comments that it isn't needed anymore, the other to do with the lack of editing channel numbers. Two different subjects, two different posts.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:31 AM   #67
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
One was in reference to devices having a stop button and the comments that it isn't needed anymore, the other to do with the lack of editing channel numbers. Two different subjects, two different posts.
Both of my quotes came from the same post:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...29#post9482229

They were replying to two different subjects, but were from your same post. I'm simply trying to point out the irony that you say in one breath that "nothing is cast in stone...things can and should change" and in the very next breath when replying to a different subject say the exact opposite as for why things shouldn't change: "historically and by past practice; it wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing."

So, in effect: things need to change, but they also need to stay exactly the same because that's how they've always been.
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:13 AM   #68
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Is there any one key method to pull up "My Shows" without having to hit Tivo and then Select? Im trying to program my Harmony.
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:17 PM   #69
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davelnlr_ View Post
Is there any one key method to pull up "My Shows" without having to hit Tivo and then Select? Im trying to program my Harmony.
I asked this same question in this thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=460100. There is one, but you have use the TiVo S3 for the Harmony device. There is not if use the Premiere for the Harmony device.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:49 PM   #70
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShayL View Post
I asked this same question in this thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=460100. There is one, but you have use the TiVo S3 for the Harmony device. There is not if use the Premiere for the Harmony device.
Thanks for the quick reply. Just added a DirecTv 10-250 to my devices, and learned the LIST command from it, then added it to the Premier codeset, and it works perfectly. Thanks for the link.
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:57 PM   #71
slacker9876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 237
Man a guy could get killed in this thread!!!

Honestly I always thought the stop button would have been nice for short recordings. For example on my first Series 2 I has wanted to record a snippet of the Today show for my wife, Super Bowl commercials and sadly 9/11, which I happened to be watching live. With HDDs being what the are, space is not so much of a concern. and I probably wouldn't use it unless my wife had missed the Madden series with Ray Lewis and his couch buddy ... those were GREAT!
slacker9876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:03 PM   #72
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,042
You don't need a stop button to stop the recording. There are multiple methods. While watching, Info -> Select. From the menu, Modify Recording -> Stop Recording.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:00 PM   #73
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
Where is the TV/VCR button on my TiVo? I want to switch between channel 3 on the TiVo and channel 3 on broadcast. Oh wait, that makes no sense, just just having a stop button on a hard drive.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:40 AM   #74
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt View Post
I still haven't heard an answer on what you want the Stop button to actually do. Sure, you've said "stop watching a program." But then what? What happens when the program stops? Do you just want it to go to a black screen? To Live TV? To the TiVo Central menu?

Since you're using a universal remote, this lack of a Stop button is easily fixable for you. Just map whatever function you want (Standby, Live TV, or TiVo Central) to the Stop button on your remote and be done with it.
Still waiting for an answer to my question.
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:26 AM   #75
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
Quote:
I'm simply trying to point out the irony that you say in one breath that "nothing is cast in stone...things can and should change" and in the very next breath when replying to a different subject say the exact opposite as for why things shouldn't change: "historically and by past practice; it wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing."
Very simple, some should change, others should not. Neither is a blanket statement.

To answer your question, exactly what it says, to stop playback (not pause). What else?
There is no reason to discuss this anymore, you stated your view, I stated mine. Case closed on the "stop button".
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:14 PM   #76
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,877
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

To answer your question, exactly what it says, to stop playback (not pause). What else?
There is no reason to discuss this anymore, you stated your view, I stated mine. Case closed on the "stop button".
But you didn't answer my question at all, and I'm genuinely curious. I totally get that you want the program to stop, but what do you want on the screen when the program stops playing? A TiVo Central screen? Live TV? A blank screen? That's what I'm not getting. Each of these is easily accomplishable with a universal remote; I'm just trying to help you come up with a solution.
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:44 AM   #77
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
The same thing as what happens with the left navigation key. My point is, don't double up basic functions with some other key.

I was going to edit the OP removing the two that I wasn't sure of and adding others, namely the lack of editing the channel numbers so CATV OTA station virtual numbers the tuner shows could be linked with the fictitious three digit number the MSO assigns to that channel in the Guide, but it's apparent that you are all well off enough to afford another $50+ month after month for higher tiers so that is no issue.

Someone that either can't afford that or just doesn't want it is of no importance.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:06 AM   #78
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
The same thing as what happens with the left navigation key. My point is, don't double up basic functions with some other key.
Your point is incoherent.

Quote:
I was going to edit the OP removing the two that I wasn't sure of and adding others, namely the lack of editing the channel numbers so CATV OTA station virtual numbers the tuner shows could be linked with the fictitious three digit number the MSO assigns to that channel in the Guide, but it's apparent that you are all well off enough to afford another $50+ month after month for higher tiers so that is no issue.
The only thing you need to afford is a CableCard, which should be more like $3-5 a month. It has nothing to do with higher tiers.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:26 AM   #79
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 250
Corrected three entries in the original post and added others.
90%+ of the initial list was correct in spite of the first few incorrect comments.

Tell me, do you fan boys own stock in this company? Is that why you can't accept the fact these are flawed beyond belief for a supposed 'mature' product.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |