TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
tivo subscription plans

I only get OTA broadcasts. something like 10 channels.

I own two TIVO Premieres, both out of their 12-months committed service.

It is not worth $30/month for me to get a TIVO subscription. what I really need is a $5/month subscription-lite that has schedules only for the next 24 hours.

are there any other subscription options?

/iaw
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:39 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,823
There are no other subscription options, just the premiere has a somewhat lower subscription rate, 14.99 for the 1st, and 12.99 for secondary subscriptions.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:55 AM   #3
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 835
They used to have specials for OTA only, and I think it was $9.99 a month, but I havent seen it for awhile now. I cant remember if that was before or after the Premiere came out.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:13 AM   #4
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 669
This is EXACTLY why it would have been GREAT if TiVo had made the 4 tuner models capable of receiving OTA. I've heard the same complaint from others who really like TiVo for OTA: the additional fee for the 2nd box just makes the cost of FREE TV outrageous. The IP STB could be an affordable solution for 4 tuner OTA if one needed TiVo in another room. But it is unfortunate that TiVo is not a realistic option for those who want OTA in more than one room.

That leaves the far inferior Channel Master OTA DVR with either the free, but limited EPG or the multi-day, enhanced EPG for an annual fee that is lower than TiVo's monthly fee for 12 months. However, the Channel Master is NOT a "smart" DVR. No name based recording nor any other sophisticated features found on TiVo, satellite, or even cable DVR's.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:50 AM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
They used to have specials for OTA only, and I think it was $9.99 a month, but I havent seen it for awhile now. I cant remember if that was before or after the Premiere came out.
As far as I know that was a Premiere only special that ran out at the end of last November (2011), where it was $9.99 per month if you only used it for over the air reception.

Hook it to cable and the rate jumped to the full amount.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:05 AM   #6
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
should have bought a Channel Master...will recommend the competition to TIVO in the future. :-( . will run my TIVO without any guide simply to record by hand now.

yes, cable with hundreds of channels is $30 in my area. $15/month is ridiculous for no programming.

/iaw
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:08 AM   #7
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
I am pretty sure that the answer is no, but let me ask anyway. can TIVO devices display OTA EPG info?
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:43 AM   #8
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by iaw4 View Post
will run my TIVO without any guide simply to record by hand now.
Don't shoot the messenger. Others have more experience, but I'm fairly sure that this will not be possible once you stop paying for service.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=491428

There are other threads out there, but I don't have time to search for them.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:32 PM   #9
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,291
A TIVo Premiere w/o a subscription is nothing more than a tv tuner. It will not record anything including the 30 minute buffer. Unless you have an old analog tv, an unsub'd Premiere is a useless waste of electricity.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:39 PM   #10
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by iaw4 View Post
I am pretty sure that the answer is no, but let me ask anyway. can TIVO devices display OTA EPG info?
Series 3 and above, including Premiere, with exception of Premiere 4, and 4XL, if subscribed to Tivo service will have Program guide for OTA and cable, even both at the same time.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:25 PM   #11
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
A TIVo Premiere w/o a subscription is nothing more than a tv tuner. It will not record anything including the 30 minute buffer. Unless you have an old analog tv, an unsub'd Premiere is a useless waste of electricity.
pity...and I won't shoot the messenger.

can a networked TIVO stream to another networked TIVO? is it enough if the source has the subscription, or do both need to have it?

how about using it to watch netflix? also impossible w/o subscription?

how sad---it would cost nothing to allow it to be used as a dumb VCR.
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:59 PM   #12
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by iaw4 View Post
pity...and I won't shoot the messenger.

can a networked TIVO stream to another networked TIVO? is it enough if the source has the subscription, or do both need to have it?

how about using it to watch netflix? also impossible w/o subscription?

how sad---it would cost nothing to allow it to be used as a dumb VCR.
Both need to be subscribed to use it. Even record or stream, transfer, anything. Without a sub, its like a dumb TV without a screen.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:48 PM   #13
iaw4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
ok. what about shows I recorded while I still had a subscription. can they still be accessed at this point?

/iaw
iaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:37 AM   #14
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by iaw4 View Post
ok. what about shows I recorded while I still had a subscription. can they still be accessed at this point?

/iaw
Yes, you will have access to shows that are already recorded and you can watch them, but I believe you will lose the trick play functions
(FF, RW, instant replay).
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |