TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2012, 09:01 AM   #1
grydrgn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Stream Heat warning

I received my Stream yesterday and set it up. I put it on top of my router. It worked perfectly for a few minutes but after about 15 minutes my downloads started failing, the one download I was able to get to complete gave an "unable to play recording error" and I couldn't get it to stream anymore.

After a bit of troubleshooting I noticed my router was sending off a lot of heat and the stream was extremely hot. I moved it off the router out on it's own and it started working again.

Looking at the box itself it seems to be all air holes and a fan. I would be very careful about putting this into a poorly ventilated cabinet cabinet or on/near another AV device that gives off a lot of heat.

Last edited by grydrgn : 10-11-2012 at 09:26 AM.
grydrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:59 AM   #2
SugarBowl
Roamio Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 731
mine gets warm, but not at all hot. Can you hear the fan running ?
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:36 AM   #3
grydrgn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
I can hear the fan running but it's very quiet. Most the heat I believe was being given off by the router. I think the problem was the Stream was not able to deal with the excess external heat.
grydrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:23 PM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,582
Routers are one of the devices that I never place anything on top of.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:14 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,420
Could you place the router on top of the Stream?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:38 AM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,644
The stream have vents one both sides. I wouldn't stack it on anything or stack anything on top of it. It seems like a hot little device that is best off standing on it's own.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:50 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The stream have vents one both sides. I wouldn't stack it on anything or stack anything on top of it. It seems like a hot little device that is best off standing on it's own.

Dan
Vents on the sides or on the top and bottom?

If it's on the sides I'd think stacking wouldn't interfere.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:38 AM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,644
Top and bottom

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:01 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Top and bottom

Dan
So when you said vents on both sides you meant the top side and the bottom side, not the left side and the right side?

Maybe you can still stack it if you turn it 90 degrees.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:04 AM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Routers are one of the devices that I never place anything on top of.
I stack my Linksys routers (that are the case style designed to be stacked), but only after opening them up and installing a little CPU or video card fan.

Those fans make them much more stable.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:12 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Maybe you can still stack it if you turn it 90 degrees.
Depends on which axis you rotate 90 degrees.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |