TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2012, 08:42 AM   #1
clherv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 62
Does recording HD (FIOS) save HD space?

Since FIOS is all digital, I am wondering if recording SD channels save space versus recording HD.

I don't care about HD--either I am not discriminating enough, or the TV is too small.

Just wondering before I take the trouble to uncheck all my HD channels
clherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:41 PM   #2
Jonathan_S
Registered User
 
Jonathan_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 13,455
SD channels are going to be lower bandwidth (meaning less bits per hour; so smaller disk usage), even if they're also digital.

I don't remember the actual numbers, but when I've transferred the odd show that was only avalible in SD it was much smaller than my normal HD shows.
__________________
Xbox: MetalThreshkeen -- PSN: Threshkeen
TiVo Elite
Jonathan_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:29 PM   #3
clherv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 62
thanks
clherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |