TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2014, 05:27 PM   #1
Phane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Non-copy protected videos showing as Copy protected

First, the setup: I've got a new TiVo Roamio, a TiVo Premiere and a TiVo HD. I quit cable a few months ago and am exclusively OTA now. I have all my shows stashed on my Roamio right now.

The Issue: When I browse the shows on my Roamio from my Premiere, a significant smattering of them are all flagged copy protected. This seems to have only effected shows recorded by the Roamio, not shows that were transferred to it from the HD or Premiere. Additionally, the arrangement seems random, even random episodes from the same show are flagged while others are not. What makes this especially odd is that none of these shows are showing copy protection flags when I browse from my TiVo HD or from my PC using kmttg, they only show as copy protected when viewed from my Premiere.

I did a full "Clear and Delete Everything" on the Premiere and the exact same shows/episodes are still showing the copy protect flags on that TiVo.
Phane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:16 PM   #2
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 826
As you already know OTA recordings shouldn't be flagged as copy protected. Since the Roamio is new it may take a couple of days to get updated with the latest software version which is 20.4.2. Both your Roamio and Premiere should get updated to version 20.4.2.

Maybe both TiVo's need to be on the same software version. It may correct its self after a couple of days.
__________________
S2, S3 (OTA), TiVo Hd, Premiere (OTA), Roamio Basic (Comcast Cable).
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 11:14 AM   #3
Phane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
The Premiere updated first and the issue persisted. A couple of days later, the Roamio updated and now the shows are all showing up correctly.
Phane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 11:42 AM   #4
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Anyone else discover all network (OTA) channels are suddenly (Thursday 4Dec14) encrypted?

Time Warner Torrance.

Affected devices/programs:
kmttg
XL4
S3

TiVo & Time Warner support are no help with discovering the cause.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 11:49 AM   #5
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,562
I thought that was reported elsewhere on these forums a couple of weeks ago . They shouldn't be doing it.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 12:01 PM   #6
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
I thought that was reported elsewhere on these forums a couple of weeks ago . They shouldn't be doing it.
Agreed.
But who does a person contact to dispute this?
I called TiVo no joy.
I called Time Warner also no joy.

Neither can even propose a way to find out how/why programming is suddenly copy protected....
Didn't need this; I'm really pissed off this morning.

Or, will it, just as suddenly "reverse" and return to the way it should be?
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 01:08 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,651
Make a FCC complaint.

The recent report of this was not TWC, I believe it was Brighthouse.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 01:17 PM   #8
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Make a FCC complaint.

The recent report of this was not TWC, I believe it was Brighthouse.
Pretty sure TWC also.

But, yes. Report to the FCC.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 01:30 PM   #9
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
Pretty sure TWC also.

But, yes. Report to the FCC.
Does it take a FCC complaint to get the problem resolved?

Time Warner cable card support found an ERROR on the CP diag page.
They said it required a "hit" sent from some other office. And, that it could take 2 hrs or more to occur...
Cable card support office I spoke to was in Buffalo N.Y.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 06:30 PM   #10
gary712
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
I just received my romeo plus today. I put in the 3tb HD and started to transfer my shows. On some of the movies when I select them to transfer, there is no highlight to transfer, I guess it is because it is copy protected. Is there a way to know if it is copy protected.
gary712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 07:24 PM   #11
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary712 View Post
I just received my romeo plus today. I put in the 3tb HD and started to transfer my shows. On some of the movies when I select them to transfer, there is no highlight to transfer, I guess it is because it is copy protected. Is there a way to know if it is copy protected.
There is either a red X or red circle with / through the middle.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 10:04 PM   #12
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Anyone else discover all network (OTA) channels are suddenly (Thursday 4Dec14) encrypted?

Time Warner Torrance.

Affected devices/programs:
kmttg
XL4
S3

TiVo & Time Warner support are no help with discovering the cause.
We got a letter a few weeks ago from Time Warner that they would begin encrypting all channels on or after 2 Dec 2014. But, reading between the lines, I am thinking that it is copy protection you are complaining about, which is a quite different thing from encrypting. It has been asserted in another thread that the copy protection of network channels is allowed by FCC rules if all channels are encrypted; whether or not this is true I certain hope it is not being done here. In Westchester at least, a few miles north of you, we have not gotten copy protection flags set from any broadcast programming as of yesterday. I'll keep an eye on this.

And now I see that "Jeopardy" has copy protection set set tonight, as are other network shows recorded today. Damn. Now I need an empty wine bottle with a cork, a rag, and some petrol.

Edit: It's the next day, and the copy protection flag is no longer set for any of my recorded network shows, including "Jeopardy". WTF? I had no idea this flag could be changed for a show already recorded. Perhaps this is some manifestation of the original problem Phane reported to start this thread.

Last edited by ej42137 : 12-06-2014 at 07:29 AM.
ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:24 AM   #13
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by ej42137 View Post

Edit: It's the next day, and the copy protection flag is no longer set for any of my recorded network shows, including "Jeopardy". WTF? I had no idea this flag could be changed for a show already recorded. Perhaps this is some manifestation of the original problem Phane reported to start this thread.
All programs recorded last night (major OTA networks) are still copy protected, as indicated by KMTTG program and both of my TiVos...

I filed a complaint with FCC last night.

Today 8 DEC 2014, no change.
National network broadcast is still copy protected according to KMTTG.

Last edited by Teeps : 12-09-2014 at 12:15 PM.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 12:15 PM   #14
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
All programs recorded last night (major OTA networks) are still copy protected, as indicated by KMTTG program and both of my TiVos...

I filed a complaint with FCC last night.

Today 8 DEC 2014, no change.
National network broadcast is still copy protected according to KMTTG.

************************************************************ ***************

8DEC14
Copy Protection flag has been removed as of yesterday evening.

So as suddenly as it appeared; it has disappeared.

I'm glad I waited another day before moving my XL4 to the living room, to join the S1 & S3 TiVos.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |