TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2012, 07:58 PM   #1
n8Leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
External Storage Missing

Yup, it happened to me. :-(
This morning, the TiVo had this message on it.
I do not believe the power had cycled.

I have the TiVo Series 3 HD.
About a month ago I got the WD MyBook AV 1TB
After replacing the useless/included eSATA cable with one I found at MicroCenter,
it has been working fine for about a month.

My PC (Computer / Disk Mgmt) does recognize the drive via the USB interface,
so at least the disk is alive and spinning in there.

Do I have a 2nd eSATA cable gone bad?!

I did try power cycling the TiVo several times, including manually delaying power up of the WD MyBook.
But I still end up at the "External Storage Missing" screen.

Any ideas?

TIA,
n8
n8Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:32 AM   #2
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Double check the cable and connections(check/clean the connections for oxidation). You might even open the tivo and check the sata connections to the motherboard. Don't delay starting the ex drive. The ex drive definitely needs to be running when the tivo starts up.

Try the original "cheap" cable that came with the drive.

Connect the ex. drive to your pc(via esata) and run the wd diagnostic utility on it. Download the utility to cd from wd support website. Best not to bother with windows version of the diagnostic. Use the boot cd version.

If you get it running, make sure to never (accidentally) disturb the ext drive and cable.

Good luck.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.

Last edited by dwit : 05-20-2012 at 05:40 AM.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:01 AM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwit View Post
If you get it running, make sure to never (accidentally) disturb the ext drive and cable.
Good luck.
Good advice.
And the reason I ditched the external drive and did the 2TB internal drive.

Connections = potential problems...

Does your PC have an E-Sata port? If so you can test the cables without having to buy a new one.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 10:04 AM   #4
n8Leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwit View Post
Don't delay starting the ex drive. The ex drive definitely needs to be running when the tivo starts up
Yup, that was the ticket.
I think the ex drive had over-heated and shutdown.
When I was restarting the TiVo, the drive was getting powered up automatically (via eSATA signal?), but that was too late.
After I finally noticed that, I manually powered up the ex drive, plugged in the TiVo, and it was all good.

Thanks for the tips!
n8
n8Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:16 PM   #5
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8Leon View Post
Yup, that was the ticket.
I think the ex drive had over-heated and shutdown.
When I was restarting the TiVo, the drive was getting powered up automatically (via eSATA signal?), but that was too late.
After I finally noticed that, I manually powered up the ex drive, plugged in the TiVo, and it was all good.

Thanks for the tips!
n8
Since the myBooks don't have cooling fans(afaik), it's probably very important that they are placed in a relatively cool area, with good ventilation. The tivo is much more "sensitive" to having a stable connection to the external drive, than say a normal computer. The Tivo must "see" the properly operating ext drive 24/7.

If you continue to have this issue, start looking into just upgrading the tivo to a single, large internal drive.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 12:58 AM   #6
n8Leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
And now, the rest of the story...
(or, how this all started)

My wife was trying to sleep in the living room.
Apparently, somebody was snoring.
The MyBook was flashing lights up the living room wall and bothering her,
so she put a blanket over it, and in the morning, found the dreaded TiVo screen.

She said she won't do that again.

Thanks,
n8
n8Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:07 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Good advice.
And the reason I ditched the external drive and did the 2TB internal drive.

Connections = potential problems...

Does your PC have an E-Sata port? If so you can test the cables without having to buy a new one.
If you have an HD, you can "borrow" the eSATA connector and plug it into a regular SATA port.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |