TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2013, 09:29 AM   #1
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 558
Tivo Premiere Q/4 and Tivo Preview

My local cable company is Grande Communications and to my surprise, their cable box DVR is a 4 tuner Tivo called the Tivo Premiere Q/4 - it's a four tuner Tivo. Bundled with this DVR is a "Tivo Preview" which is a hardback book sized Tivo interface/cable box thing. I've just seen brief mention of these on the forum, so thought I'd share my experience.

I started out with my own Tivo Elite. The best cable package here included the Q/4 and Preview. I have to say that it's the best Tivo experience to date and I've had Tivo since the beginning in 1999.

What's shocking is how well the little Tivo Preview thing does. It's a small box with one tuner and a cablecard so you can watch live TV on it - no 30 minute buffer, just live. But from the My Shows you can pick any other DVR on the network and play any of the shows on it using the Preview. It just works.

The cable modem is a Cisco that has a router and MoCA built in and all three boxes are on the MoCA network - the key to making this work so well.

You can still transfer recordings between the machines, but the streaming makes that unnecessary because you can't tell the difference. When Tivo works well like this, it's really great.

So I can watch anything on any of the DVRs from any of the other DVRs and any DVR from the Tivo Preview. They really have this down and working the way Tivo should be. Just awesome.

I'm not certain if the Tivo Preview steals a tuner from the Q/4 or has it's own. There is no setting on the Q/4 like there is on the Elite to explicitly share a tuner. The Q/4 odd quirk has to do with Channel selection. You can tick and untick channels you receive in the menus, but it has no effect in using it. All the channels are virtually selected anyway when you channel up/down or use the guide. The Tivo Preview does not have this problem, the guide and channel button skips over channels not in your list of channels you receive. There is a custom remote control for the Q/4 and Preview that is the peanut style with a few extra buttons for On-Demand programming. The On-demand features however have not been implemented. You do have Amazon, but not Netflix yet. The System Information screen has a Netflix ID thing, but there is no Netflix app on the Q/4 itself.

So it's still being developed and does not have all the Tivo features. But the multi-room viewing thing is pretty good. I've just never had this before and it may be old news for others who have had this working for a while.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:34 AM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Does the Preview count as a box on your account?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
My local cable company is Grande Communications and to my surprise, their cable box DVR is a 4 tuner Tivo called the Tivo Premiere Q/4 - it's a four tuner Tivo. Bundled with this DVR is a "Tivo Preview" which is a hardback book sized Tivo interface/cable box thing. I've just seen brief mention of these on the forum, so thought I'd share my experience.

I started out with my own Tivo Elite. The best cable package here included the Q/4 and Preview. I have to say that it's the best Tivo experience to date and I've had Tivo since the beginning in 1999.

What's shocking is how well the little Tivo Preview thing does. It's a small box with one tuner and a cablecard so you can watch live TV on it - no 30 minute buffer, just live. But from the My Shows you can pick any other DVR on the network and play any of the shows on it using the Preview. It just works.

The cable modem is a Cisco that has a router and MoCA built in and all three boxes are on the MoCA network - the key to making this work so well.

You can still transfer recordings between the machines, but the streaming makes that unnecessary because you can't tell the difference. When Tivo works well like this, it's really great.

So I can watch anything on any of the DVRs from any of the other DVRs and any DVR from the Tivo Preview. They really have this down and working the way Tivo should be. Just awesome.

I'm not certain if the Tivo Preview steals a tuner from the Q/4 or has it's own. There is no setting on the Q/4 like there is on the Elite to explicitly share a tuner. The Q/4 odd quirk has to do with Channel selection. You can tick and untick channels you receive in the menus, but it has no effect in using it. All the channels are virtually selected anyway when you channel up/down or use the guide. The Tivo Preview does not have this problem, the guide and channel button skips over channels not in your list of channels you receive. There is a custom remote control for the Q/4 and Preview that is the peanut style with a few extra buttons for On-Demand programming. The On-demand features however have not been implemented. You do have Amazon, but not Netflix yet. The System Information screen has a Netflix ID thing, but there is no Netflix app on the Q/4 itself.

So it's still being developed and does not have all the Tivo features. But the multi-room viewing thing is pretty good. I've just never had this before and it may be old news for others who have had this working for a while.
The Preview has its own QAM tuner. RCN is rolling out the 20.2 update to its Previews that gives it some more functionality. Hopefully Grande will follow suit.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:29 AM   #4
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Does the Preview count as a box on your account?
On my account it comes included in a package deal, i.e., Cisco Moca enabled cable modem/ high speed internet, programming, Q4 DVR and a Preview box. It all works. Impressive.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |