TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2003, 03:42 PM   #1
offthefront
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 5
A what's on grid view

Inspired by the excellent whatson module and the fact that my digiguide subscription had expired, I decided to see if I could do something vaguely equivalent with tivoweb.

Given I've never written any tcl or html before, I surprised myself by coming up with something I'm using now, so I though I'd share it with everyone.

It shows what's on in a grid. You can choose Favourite/Watched Channels, how many hours to show in grid. You can search backward and forward. The page autoupdates on the hour.

I've had fun throwing this together. It has been interesting just to see how different browsers render tables (which is how I implemented the grid). I think I have a reasonable solution in the browsers that I have tested it in. I've tested in Mozilla, Konquerer, w3m on Linux and it seems to work well. It doesn't work well in lynx as its table rendering is poor. It seems to work on IE too.

I've been using it with the small icons recently posted by AlexV in http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...97#post966797. These work well to keep the grid row size small.

Some things I'd like to add.
Clicking on the channel name changes channel, but this reloads the page and is thus slow. I'd like to execute the SendKey commands without reloading the page.
Keep the column and row headers fixed while the rest of the table scrolls. The html spec hints that this may be possible, but I don't know if any browsers
support it yet.

Let me know what you think.
Sue.

Attached newer version
Attached Files
File Type: txt grid.itcl.v0.95.txt (13.6 KB, 986 views)

Last edited by offthefront : 01-31-2003 at 07:42 PM.
offthefront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2003, 07:28 PM   #2
mrtickle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2,824
Very nice! Seems to work ok in Opera. It might need some tweaking for programmes that aren't nice lengths though, Radio 4 seems to upset it
__________________
150-limit sucks!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
mrtickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 02:51 AM   #3
Zirak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 973
Small point - The times on the top of the screen are GMT; The times on individual shows are correct though (local time).
__________________
The United Soviet Socialists Republic
Aggressively moderated for success in protecting our advertising revenue
Zirak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 10:04 AM   #4
dperovic
Where's my Series 3?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 24
Error

When I clicked on the TiVo icon next to a show, I got the following error:


INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_showing '/1159313/154' ''
can't read "genrenums": no such variable
while executing
"lsearch $genrenums $genre"
("foreach" body line 2)
invoked from within
"foreach genre $genres {
set genreindex [lsearch $genrenums $genre]
if { $genreindex != -1 } {
if { $genrestr != "" } {
append ..."
("uplevel" body line 255)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
if { [regexp {([0-9]*)/(.*)} $objectid junk fsid subobjid] } {
set showing [db $db openidconstruction $fsid $subobjid]
} els..."
(procedure "::action_showing" line 47)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--
dperovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 10:28 AM   #5
mrtickle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2,824
This is obviously caused by the new genres and is not a fault of the module. See the main tivoweb thread for the fix!

(are we going to have tivoweb genre error reports against every module ever released, I wonder! )
__________________
150-limit sucks!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
mrtickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 12:48 PM   #6
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Re: A what's on grid view

Quote:
Originally posted by offthefront
Inspired by the excellent whatson module...

Quote:
Clicking on the channel name changes channel, but this reloads the page and is thus slow. I'd like to execute the SendKey commands without reloading the page.
Maybe opening another window which sends the keys and then closes itself is a possibility?

Using 'target="_blank"' in an 'a' tag will open a new window, then a bit of JavaScript along the lines of 'javascript:window.close();' will close the window. I guess you could specify the size and position of the new window so it looks ok.

Quote:
Keep the column and row headers fixed while the rest of the table scrolls. The html spec hints that this may be possible, but I don't know if any browsers support it yet.
Maybe frames?? I'm not sure off the top of my head how to link movement in one frame to others though.
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 08:38 PM   #7
jcblack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: lexington, ky
Posts: 164
WOW! The grid module is GREAT! I wish tivo had the grid onscreen, its just so easy to use (i can't believe there is a patent on it, seems like a no brainer organizational chart!). Nice touch having the suggestions/recording icons show up! really reallly handy! Thanks for the module!!!!
jcblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 03:42 AM   #8
mrtickle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2,824
The icons appear probably because they also appear in Digiguide, of which this is an excellent clone. I think Digiguide are launching in the US too.
And Digiguide was originally inspired by the Sky onscreen Electronic Programme Guide here in the UK when Sky launched their digital service in 1998. Sky is the company that TiVo partnered with to do marketing, who stabbed TiVo in the back by releasing their own non-tivo dual-tuner PVR. Funny old world.
__________________
150-limit sucks!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.

Last edited by mrtickle : 01-31-2003 at 03:54 AM.
mrtickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 04:33 AM   #9
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
This is bizarre. I'm feeling as if I'm the victim of an elaborate practical joke. I just cannot get it to work at all on my machine.

A results page comes back with nothing in it at all, no matter what. Waaah?
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 12:57 PM   #10
jcblack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: lexington, ky
Posts: 164
Kitschamp, same happened to me. change the options from favorites to channels watched. I don't have favorites set up. maybe thats your problem?
jcblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 01:54 PM   #11
AlexV
Bloke with a TiVo
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 13
Cool Excellent module, some cosmetic enhancements

This is a great module - I was planning on learning tcl and writing something similar myself, but when searching to see if there was anything similar around already, I found this! The only thing I was thinking of doing differently was to have a frames setup so that the channel names would not scroll out of view horizontally, but I guess there are lots of people who don't like any sort of frames anyway.

So much kudos and congratulations to offthefront for producing this excellent module.

I hope you won't take it the wrong way that I thought I could make some cosmetic enhancements - it is because I thought this module was so good already that I wanted to spend the time making it easier on my eyes.

I have attached a slightly modified grid.itcl which adds CSS class attributes to the various different table elements produced, and an updated version of my Clear Yellow css theme file which takes advantage of them. If other theme authors would like to use the grid classes, they are all in a group at the bottom of the Clear Yellow css file. Clear Yellow remains optimised for IE.

Thanks again for the module!
Attached Files
File Type: zip modded grid.zip (4.4 KB, 211 views)
AlexV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 07:40 PM   #12
offthefront
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 5
Thanks for feedback

Thanks for all the kind comments.

I thought about using frames for the row and column headers. Two problems with this approach. Scrolling needs to be coordinated between the main frame and the headers. It is also hard to know how large each table cell is going to be until the table is rendered. The broswer takes care of this itself if there is just one table. If there were seperate frames, I would need to fix the cell sizes myself. The html spec here http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/struct/tables.html suggests the browser could do the seperate scrolling, given the right hints, but I don't know of any browser that currently does this.

Kitschcamp : All I can think is that you don't have any favourites specified and this is the default view at start up. Try choosing Channels Watched and see if this shows anything as jcblack suggested.

AlexV : I've included your changes in the main file.

Zirak : I made the Column headers not GMT specific. (I hope! Can someone not living in GMT let me know.)

Sue.
Attached Files
File Type: txt grid.itcl.v0.95.txt (13.6 KB, 289 views)
offthefront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 03:11 PM   #13
6022tivo
A Happy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 2,058
Have just installed this module, and I think it is great and well recommended. Very clear and a good format, I was a digiguide customer, and this is a good alternative.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Media PC -> Xbox 360, DM800HD
Pioneer 505XDE (Still the best)
6022tivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 06:06 PM   #14
Animgif
Stud, Esquire
 
Animgif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The City So Nice They Named It Twice
Posts: 5,490
Quite nice! I'd like to add that although TivoWeb doesn't work really well with Safari (v67), your tables render just fine.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Animgif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 05:14 PM   #15
Adlopa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 182
Oh dear...

INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_grid '/' ''
can't read "thumbdata": no such variable
while executing
"scan $thumbdata "%s %d %d" thumbtype numthumbs thumbconf"
(procedure "get_thumbimage" line 2)
invoked from within
"get_thumbimage $score"
("foreach" body line 144)
invoked from within
"foreach showingfsid [lrange $showings $x [expr $x+19]] {
regexp {([0-9]*)/(.*)} $showingfsid junk showingobjid subobjid
set showing [db $db openidco..."
("uplevel" body line 2)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
foreach showingfsid [lrange $showings $x [expr $x+19]] {
regexp {([0-9]*)/(.*)} $showingfsid junk showingobjid subobjid
set..."
(procedure "sue_wochandata" line 18)
invoked from within
"sue_wochandata $chan $fsid $minseconds $maxseconds $callsign $stationfsid $filler $columnWidth"
("uplevel" body line 2)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"ForeachMfsFile fsid name type "/Schedule" "$stationfsid:$chkdate" {
if {[catch [sue_wochandata $chan $fsid $minseconds $maxseconds $callsign $st..."
(procedure "::action_grid" line 192)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--

Something to do with LJ's thumbs module..?
Adlopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 04:23 PM   #16
offthefront
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 5
Hmmm, curious. I've never seen this. Do you get this all the time or is this just occasionally? Has anyone else had this problem?

Sue.
offthefront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 06:37 PM   #17
Adlopa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally posted by offthefront
Hmmm, curious. I've never seen this. Do you get this all the time or is this just occasionally? Has anyone else had this problem?

Sue.
Alas, all the time but only since I installed this from here...
Adlopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 05:03 AM   #18
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Ah - looks like you found a bug in the Thumbs unsetting code. I'll post a new version shortly...

Edit: version 3.5 of lj_utils.itcl now up.

Edit2: Now, how to fix the series that have had the ThumsData value deleted... *thinks...*
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.

Last edited by LJ : 01-31-2004 at 05:54 AM.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 05:42 AM   #19
Adlopa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 182
Nope, still getting the same problem LJ...
Adlopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 06:58 AM   #20
PaulOckenden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 12
I'm seeing the same error as Adlopa.

P.
PaulOckenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 07:37 AM   #21
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Yup, the new lj_utils will only stop more series having their ThumbsData value removed when you 'Unset' thumbs on a series - it won't go back and fix the ones that are already 'Unset'.

Having looked in a bit more detail I'm not sure that I've found the cause of the problem. New series don't appear to have a ThumbsData value set, so there must be something else that's causing grid view to complain. Now the board's back up I'll download a copy and have a closer look...
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 08:04 AM   #22
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Got it! The problem's in my day-to-day ui.itcl - nothing to do with modifying thumbs values at all! Somehow I'd managed to delete the first line of the get_thumbimage procedure!

Grid view calculates the thumbs value and icon for each programme but then doesn't use the value or the thumbs image. It was falling over because the standard proc that converts the thumbs score to an image index was broken.

Just loading an updated version to the website now...

(The mods I made to lj_utils.itcl should be fine to leave in place if you've already loaded them.)
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 09:51 AM   #23
Adlopa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 182
Sure looks fixed to me... Nice one LJ!
Adlopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 03:22 PM   #24
offthefront
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 5
Thanks for sorting that out LJ. Much appreciated!

Cheers,
Sue
offthefront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 01:26 PM   #25
Lowcarb
Registered User
 
Lowcarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LaGrangeville, New York, USA
Posts: 34
LJ, I'm running v1.0-rc5 of tivoweb plus.
I've loaded the latest ui.itcl dated 01Feb04
I've loaded lj_utils ver 3.5

I'm getting the fullowing error whenever I try to modify teh thumbs setting of anything in my Scheduled Suggestions. For that matter, I get a similar error if I try to modify any thumbs setting from any other screen too. I had the same problem with RC4 but upgraded to RC5 before reporting to see what might happen.



INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_thumbs '' 'set "newthmb" "-1";set "fsid" "21339";set "orgthmb" "1";set "title" "Ricki Lake";set "thumbtype" "Predicted";set "submit" "Set";'
syntax error in expression "ATSH080826 + 1"
while executing
"expr $serverid + 1"
("uplevel" body line 34)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
set series [db $db openid $fsid]
set serverid [dbobj $series get ServerId]
dbobj $series set ThumbData $thmbval

..."
(procedure "::action_thumbs" line 90)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--
__________________
Livingroom S2 DTivo SD-DVR40 120GB 6.2a killhdinitrd, networked, extraction, TWP,..
Bedroom S2 DTivo SD-DVR40 200GB 6.2a ditto...
Basement File Server S2 DTivo SD-DVR40 200GB 6.2a ditto...

Last edited by Lowcarb : 02-19-2004 at 01:34 PM.
Lowcarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 02:04 PM   #26
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Sounds like your TiVo stores its NoReRecord settings differently to mine. What model of TiVo do you have & what version of software is it running? Is it accessible over the web?
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 02:29 PM   #27
Lowcarb
Registered User
 
Lowcarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LaGrangeville, New York, USA
Posts: 34
LJ, It is a Hughes Series2 SD-DVR40
It is running 3.1.1b
It is monte'd using Sleeper's .iso script disk (from another site)
It is on my home network. I access it remotely through a software firewall protected pc on my network.

What can I retrieve for you? Or if you PM me I could try putting it in the DMZ for a little while.
Lowcarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 03:12 PM   #28
Lowcarb
Registered User
 
Lowcarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LaGrangeville, New York, USA
Posts: 34
Listing of Recording/NoReRecording
Attached Files
File Type: txt directory listing of -recording-norerecord.htm.txt (40.0 KB, 60 views)
Lowcarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 03:56 PM   #29
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
The problem seems to be that the record names in /Recording/NoReRecord are constructed differently than on my 2.5.5 TiVo. Mine has a numeric string before the first ":", whereas Lowcarb's has a hex number that is the same as a new field "RootServerId" on the Program record.

Anyone know if that's a version 3 thing?
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 10:32 PM   #30
Lowcarb
Registered User
 
Lowcarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LaGrangeville, New York, USA
Posts: 34
I've found that I CAN change the thumbs values for shows that have an IMPLIED value or an EXPLICIT value.

I CAN NOT change the thumbs value for shows than have a PREDICTED value.
Lowcarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |