TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2004, 02:54 PM   #121
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
I don't read this thread very often, but PM sends me an email, so I know someone wants an image. You have to PM me, then I'll reply to your PM. I will only reply via PM. I will NOT email you, so be sure to enable PM in your user profile.

I know of one site that has a limited number of images in a private, password protected directory. PM me with your model number if you need an image. This site is fast, but has a limited download budget, so only ask if you REALLY need the image.

Most of the images are in self-extracting archive (winrar) format. After extracting the image, copy it to a FAT32 or CDROM partition/disk and use mfstools restore to install it on your TiVo drive. Detailed instructions can be found in the Hinsdale "How-To" thread in the "TiVo Upgrade Center" section of this forum.

These are raw images, provided by a wide variety of sources, and are unsupported by me or TiVo. If you are uncertain on how to deal with raw images, or want to support one of this forums sponsors, PTVUpgrade has most of these images wrapped up in a easy to use bootable CD that walks you thru all of the steps, and they provide support. InstantCake is a quick and easy way to create an upgrade drive inexpensively, and they have it available for immediate download for those that need it right now.

Some of the images available are:
Code:
ATT_Series2_2.0.3-40G     81,894,296 bytes
130xxx_7.2.2             133,661,600 bytes
Hughes_GXCEBOT_310c2     229,775,099 bytes
Hughes_HDVR2_3_1b        234,627,832 bytes
Hughes_HR10-250          152,003,972 bytes
Hughes_SD-DVR40_3.1.1b   286,516,641 bytes
Philips_DSR6000_3.1.0c2  198,718,234 bytes
Philips_DSR704_3.1.1b    273,124,742 bytes
Philips_DSR7000_3.1-40G  256,736,094 bytes
Philips_DSR7000_6.2      281,910,996 bytes
Phillips_HDR112_3.0      145,718,942 bytes
Pioneer_810_5.2.1a      ~850,000,000 bytes
RCA_DVR39_3x             263,743,792 bytes
RCA_DVR40_3.1.1           76,772,692 bytes
Sony_SAT-T60_3.1.0b      140,267,500 bytes
Sony_SVR-2000_3.0-30G    145,699,458 bytes
Sony_SVR-3000_4.0.1      172,144,481 bytes
Toshiba_SDHD400_511B     146,458,994 bytes
Toshiba_RS-TX20_5.4.1    891,861,986 bytes
tcd140060_40             227,502,498 bytes
tcd230040_40             172,808,960 bytes
240xxx_7.2.2             157,044,736 bytes
540040_7x                681,472,000 bytes
UK_2.5.5-30G             357,465,331 bytes
The HDR112 v3 image will work on any HDR112, 212, 312 or 612. Use the Hinsdale How-To information to expand the image to fit your drive.

I do not know the details of where most of the images came from, and I have not tested any of the images. I do NOT own or operate the ftp site. I have no control over what happens with the site.

I don't read this thread very often, but PM sends me an email, so I know someone wants an image. You have to PM me, then I'll reply to your PM. I will only reply via PM.

The reason that there is not a direct link to the files is that in current US law, especially in light of the DMCA, it may be illegal to have a backup of copyright material -- even if you own the hardware.

The owner of this board does not want to have to worry about lawyers extorting him, so he has made the very prudent decision to not allow links to such material. If you don't like this situation, send a letter to your congress critter.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"

Last edited by StanSimmons : 04-11-2006 at 06:15 PM.
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:20 AM   #122
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 505
Their are some TiVo images (10 right now) on the Overnet/E-Donkey2000 P2P network. Go to www.overnet.com for software.
__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a DVR"
kschauwe is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 05:45 PM   #123
spitfire
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
just want to say thanks keep up the good work tivo newbie
spitfire is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 10:10 AM   #124
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
Someone just added a Series II Standalone v4.0.1b image to the server.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 07:56 AM   #125
Scarpad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Western Ma
Posts: 84
I bought the Weakknees kit and so far everything is working out. I have a tivo series 2 80 hour unit. In case one drive ever fails thou I'd like to have a backup image to fall back on. So I'm looking for a 4.01b image for the 80 hour unit, can anyone help ?
__________________
Tivo Premiere w/Wireless Network
Scarpad is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 01:47 PM   #126
kerkules
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
image restoration

Most of the images are in self-extracting archive (winrar) format. After extracting the image, copy it to a FAT32 or CDROM partition/disk and use mfstools restore to install it on your TiVo drive. Detailed instructions can be found in the Hinsdale "How-To" thread in the "TiVo Upgrade Center" section of this forum

how do I copy my image to a FAT32 or CDROM partition/disk (preferably CD)?
kerkules is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 03:02 PM   #127
Robert S
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9,725
"how do I copy my image to a FAT32 or CDROM partition/disk (preferably CD)?"

FAT32: boot Windows and drag it into position with Explorer.

CD: Use your CD burning software to write the file to CD as an ordinary file (not an ISO image).
__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.
Robert S is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 02:12 AM   #128
dzzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: no where
Posts: 9
hi roberts

Here is what I play around never go that far.

Drive Config:
Primary Master/hda - tivo hd
Primary Slave /hdb - sony t60 bak cd-rom

I am booting from the MFSTools 2 Boot CD
mkdir /mnt/dos
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/dos

Here is what I am doing next:
#> mount /dev/hda /mnt/c
#>mfstool restore -zpi /mnt/c/sony t60.bak /dev/hdb
please let me know.
I have spent the all week so many hours driving myself crazy .

dzzy
thanks

Last edited by dzzy : 02-28-2004 at 02:18 AM.
dzzy is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 04:50 PM   #129
caleb2003
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
stansimmons thanks for the link, but I am just getting decompression failure at 94%.

Anyone else using the UK image had this problem.

I have tried various cds and have used an Athlon 2800 and also tried with a Pentium 3 but the same error.

I am now at this point starting to grudgingly think that maybe I should have bought the ebay disks at the inflated prices.

Thanks to those that have already given good advice/links but Any further help would be greatly appreciated as at the moment I am a little deflated.

Cheers
caleb2003 is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 05:04 PM   #130
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
Someone just added a Philips DSR704 v3.1.1b image to the server.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 12:28 PM   #131
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
HDVR2 v3.1.1c

Someone just added a Hughes_HDVR2_3.1.1c image to the site.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 11:07 PM   #132
rca2791
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 16
WHERE IS THE IMAGE?

WHERE IS THE IMAGE?
rca2791 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 01:37 PM   #133
grohde
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Anyone tried the Hughes GXCEBOTD 3.1 image?

I tried to use this image and received a "Failure to boot kernel" error on my tivo. Anyone else tried?

Thanks,
Gil
grohde is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 11:38 PM   #134
Mike2001
Creator of TiVo Man
 
Mike2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,453
FTP site

What is the ftp site for the image
Mike2001 is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 01:11 AM   #135
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
Read the first post people.

I ONLY respond via PM and you MUST specify the image (make and model) that you need.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 10:04 PM   #136
mur
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 24
OK, So far there are No Samsung Series2 Directivo's SIR-S4040R Images on the List (Per Stan). If anyone has One, Will they please PM ME.
mur is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:43 AM   #137
ccallana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
I loaded up the Phillips hdr112 image on my 212, expanded it based on hinsdale's instructions with the xzpi options - everything looked ok, until I plugged it back into the Tivo and powered it up - now all I get is the Tivo boot screen saying "your device is starting up, please wait" - and I only get that out the Composite Video connection, not the RF - anybody have a suggestion?
ccallana is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:24 AM   #138
Robert S
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9,725
Suspicion would first fall on your cables and jumpers.
__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.
Robert S is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:13 AM   #139
ccallana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
Bingo!! duh - forgot to move the jumper back to Master/Single drive!

Dunno what I was thinking there. Thanks!
ccallana is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 01:14 PM   #140
wlspoon
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Do I need a FAT drive to install image on Tivo drive?

I tried to add a 160gb hd to my 40gb Tivo this past weekend and screwed things up. Without realizing I needed an HD with FAT32 partitioning I started the upgrade using Hinsdale's guide. When I tried to backup Tivo image I was given and I/O error and decided to reboot my computer to troubleshoot problem. Unfortunately, I had not read the warning about booting a Windows XP comp with the tivo drive attached, so my Tivo drive is now completely nonfunctional.

I have downloaded the image from the ftp site and I was wondering if it is possible to transfer the image from my computer's HD to the Tivo drive even though my computer's HD is not FAT32? (at least I don't think it is - I honestly don't know how to check).

Thanks
wlspoon is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |