TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
View Poll Results: Have you had an HDMI Failure?
No failure - In service for over 2 weeks and going strong 852 43.54%
Had Failure on 1 unit - Made in USA 223 11.39%
Had Failure on more than 1 unit - Made in USA 83 4.24%
Had Failure on 1 unit - Made in Mexico 295 15.07%
Had Failure on More than 1 unit - Made in Mexico 83 4.24%
Do Not have HDMI/DVI Connection - Don't know if it works 421 21.51%
Voters: 1957. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2004, 10:02 AM   #1
unixadm
Super Moderator
 
unixadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,226
Exclamation HDMI FAILURE Poll - EVERYONE please respond

Ok...

I know a lot of people have been bitten by the failed or deteriorated picture on the HDMI output.

I just got hit with it this morning (less than 2 weeks after getting it)

I am curious to see how many people had problems.

Since we probably represent a very good majority of the people who have purchased these over the past couple of months, I think the poll will be pretty accurate as far as percentage of failures (assuming that everyone answers)

Please post where yours was made and what date.

Mine:

Mexico
June 9th 2004

PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER IF YOU HAVE HAD YOUR HD TIVO FOR LESS THAN 2 WEEKS AND DON'T SEE A PROBLEM. WAIT UNTIL YOU HAVE HAD IT IN SERVICE FOR MORE THAN 2 WEEKS!
__________________
TiVo has forever changed the way I view TV!
unixadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:40 PM   #2
sotapoppy
Member
 
sotapoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 534
Born 4-24-04 in USA

Bought from CC on 5/7/04.

HDMI port worked flawlessly until it died on 6/17/04.

D* is sending new unit.

FWIW my pic using the component connection is noticeably inferior to the pic using the HDMI to DVI connection on my TV.

BTW I'm the only one that has had an HDMI port failure. D* CSR told me so!
__________________
Ron
sotapoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 04:11 PM   #3
bbwebb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 24
Quote:
BTW I'm the only one that has had an HDMI port failure. D* CSR told me so!
Funny...DTV CSR told me the exact same thing
bbwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 04:42 PM   #4
falstaffpac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
I've had mine for 2 weeks, but I'm reserving my vote for now. I've read in another thread that just before someone's HDMI went out, they temporarily saw a picture with "snow" on their television. I've seen this occurence twice now and it makes me shudder. It really makes me uncomfortable to read stories of people having no problems at all, then all of a sudden the HDMI goes out.

Does DirecTV offer any component protection plans with their monthly service? I've looked around their website, but didn't really see anything. I almost never purchase an "extended warrenty" option. But, given the reported failures and the price of this box, I think I would like one.
falstaffpac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 04:43 PM   #5
tarmack
Registered User
 
tarmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 159
I own two HR10-250's.....I have had a total of 4 delivered so far....2 have been returned....one due to a total hard drive failure.

Of the two now in service....1 has had a HDMI failure and is being held for replacement, voluntarily by me, until there is some sort of a physical hardware or software fix applied and known by DirecTV.

The other unit now in service is working like a champ...but that is only 1 out of 4.

All were born and bred in the USA....the only one that is working perfectly is a replacement from DirecTV and has a birth date of April 1. Go figger.

Tarmack
__________________
2 Sony HD200's
1 Samsung 360 HD receiver
2 HR10-250's TIVO's
1 Panasonic 22" HD monitor
2 Samsung TIVO DVR's
2 Samsung 15" LCD HDTV monitors
3 Panasonic 40" HDTV LCD monitors
1 Hitachi 60" HDTV rear projection with RCA DIRECTV OTA/Sat reciever
1 Samsung 43" DLP HDTV monitor
1 Zenith 27" HDTV monitor
1 RCA DirecTV Sat reciever
1 Hytech In-Motion RV Sat antenna
1 Onkyo 500 Home Theatre receiver
1 Sony DA30003ES Home Theatre receiver
tarmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 07:54 PM   #6
Todd
Stig Twins are Here!
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: S.E. Virginia
Posts: 7,392
I've had mine for over 2 months now and so far it works flawlessly, aside from a few minor bugs in the software. Knocking on wood right now.....
__________________
-Todd

"Money is fungible, no?" - Turtleboy
Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:01 PM   #7
ChrisW6ATV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hayward, Cal. USA
Posts: 297
Hi-

Since you want 'everyone' to respond, can you please add an item for "do not use/have not tested HDMI"? I have no compatible display, nor do I have any plans to buy one soon.
__________________
"I think that's a big joke, all the piracy concerns." -Mark Cuban, content provider
ChrisW6ATV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 11:49 PM   #8
jdpack
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas Texas Area
Posts: 2
Mine had a deteriorated picture on the HDMI output right out of the box. I was searching around for some HDMI compatibility setting on my TV. I have a Mitsubishi WS-65313. I was using the DVI input from a Samsung receiver up until I installed the TiVo. On one hand I am glad to hear this is a known problem, on the other hand what is it going to take to get it fixed.
jdpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 10:54 PM   #9
jakepratt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
This thread jinxed me. I posted that I had no trouble so far and yesterday...my HDMI connection died.
jakepratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 01:42 AM   #10
Reaver3
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1
My first posting here, hope it works ok:

Had mine for 2 weeks tomorrow, works flawlessly, no problems at all. Seems very fast compared to my other SD directv/tivo units.

Doug
Reaver3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 03:31 PM   #11
NJChris
Moogs!
 
NJChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Riverdale, NJ USA
Posts: 4,171
I'd also like to know how many people that had failures were the DVI-->HDMI cable or the HDMI-->HDMI cable. I use the HDMI to HDMI cable and it's still working great.
__________________
xbox gamertag - zzaz
ps3 - zzaz
Nintendo ID: njchris
NJChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 08:17 AM   #12
brahamt
Bigus Dogus Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long lsland, NY
Posts: 1,058
I'll try to connect it tonight and try.
__________________
--------------------------------------
Thierry J. Braham
Focus your mind, focus your mind...
--------------------------------------
brahamt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 08:42 AM   #13
CHAS ZOSS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NORFOLK VIRGINIA
Posts: 53
HDMI

Mine came yesterday, no problems with HDMI to Panny dlp.
__________________
CHAS ZOSS
CHAS ZOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 05:07 AM   #14
nuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Campbell, CA USA
Posts: 289
Over 2 months. Works perfectly with my panasonic plasma.
nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:10 AM   #15
RMSko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 389
I got my unit about 8 days ago and it worked fine until yesterday, when all of a sudden the picture went pink. I was running HDMI to DVI and I switched to HDMI to HDMI and, although not pink, the picture was still all messed up. I then went to component, which is fine, although obviously not as good a picture as DVI.

For those of you swapping out units, are you getting new units with cables, etc., or are they sending refurbished units?
__________________
Rich S
TiVo since 1999
HR10-250
Philips DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTivo Series 2
Philips Standalone
RMSko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 11:19 AM   #16
Bill Broderick
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 118
My first unit was made in the USA, I don't remember the date. I returned it due to a tuner problem, not HDMI. I had it for about a 1.5 months, and used the HDMI port for 2-3 weeks after getting a new TV. I had no HDMI problems.

I just received the replacement receiver, made in Mexico on May 27. So far there is not HDMI problem, but I've only been using it for 2 days so far.
Bill Broderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 06:19 PM   #17
waxking
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Just hooked mine up today. I get flickering every 5 seconds on any channel through the HDMI/DVI connection. The flickering happens on over the air channels also. Component output works fine. My build was in June 2004.
waxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 11:16 AM   #18
gatorbait
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 114
June 2004 in Mexico goes down after one week and one day.

That is aggressively below average!
gatorbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:17 PM   #19
ROBERTA
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
HDMI FAILURE

HDMI FAILURE OUT OF THE BOX. NO VIDEO, BUT ALL OTHER OUTPUTS WORK. UNIT WAS ASSEMBLED IN MEXICO. I HAVE A SERVICE AGREEMENT WITH PEGASUS. I HOPE FOR A QUICK EXCHANGE.
ROBERTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 09:19 PM   #20
DonCo
Member
 
DonCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 80
No picture at all with HDMI to HDMI connection and no picture at all with HDMI to DVI connection from the day I took it out of the box.

Made in USA April 27, 04.

Since I am using component output's which have no problem, I am holding off asking for a replacement from DirecTV (I have their service plan) until they have this fixed once and for all, as I don't want to get another defective unit as a replacement.

Still love the HD TiVo in spite of the HDMI problem though.

Don
DonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 09:30 AM   #21
silversurfer
New Member
 
silversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 7
Made in Mexico
5 June 04

Died 9 Jul 04

Replacement on its way...
__________________
James S

My Equipment:
Mits 65413
HR10-250
Phillips DSR-6000 (Upgraded to 126hrs)
Sony SAS-B65
(2) Samsung SIR-S75
silversurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 03:39 PM   #22
turls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 1,016
Mexico, June 9

HDMI to Sammy DLP DVI

Great picture so far, knock on wood
__________________
Matt
Relax, its only TV. . .then what am I doing wasting time on a forum like this and spending hundreds of dollars on glorified VCR's?
turls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 10:21 PM   #23
gimp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 19
My HDMI failed today. I got one of the first ones. How long is the warranty? Do I call D* or Value Electronics? Will they send me a new one or do I need to return the existing one first? Think I will sign up for the D* equipment service plan
gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:39 AM   #24
unixadm
Super Moderator
 
unixadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,226
If it is over 30 days old (which is sounds like it is), then most retailers will defer you over to the manufacturer to go through warranty service. Check in your manual. I believe that the warranty is 1 year. If you are going through manufacturer's warranty, you will have to send it out and they will repair it, or send you a refurbished one (or if you are lucky, a new one).

Mine died less than 30 days from getting it from Circuit City, so I just returned it and got my money back. They don't have any in stock, and don't know when they will have them.....but I've decided (mainly because of the number of failures) that I don't want a replacement until we hear definititively what the issue with the HDMI output is and that it is permanantly fixed.

Based off of this poll, there is a 27.8% failure rate not including those that have not tested their HDMI port. My guess is that about 1/4 of those are bad as well (or will go bad if put in use). This is just WAY too much.

I'll take the money and take my family to Disney World next month

Guess it is standard Definition TiVo for me for a while.
__________________
TiVo has forever changed the way I view TV!

Last edited by unixadm : 07-13-2004 at 07:49 AM.
unixadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 10:10 PM   #25
gimp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 19
Fortunately I got it from Value Electronics. Called them today and a new one is on the way. Value Electronics is G R E A T!
gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 08:44 AM   #26
Korkle
Member
 
Korkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bedford Tx (it's between Dallas and Fort Worth)
Posts: 111
One more to the growing number. My HDMI went "south" over the weekend. I had all the same visual experiences as everyone else. I switched over to Component. I got my unit from Value Electronics in the first wave 4/30/04). It worked fine up until the failure. I called VE and they said they would take care of it. I agree with gimp, VE has been great.
__________________
Tom

"Clothes make the man, naked people have little or no influence on society"
- Mark Twain -
"I have a tremendous amount of respect for Mark Twain, but obviously he never met Janet Jackson."
- balboa dave, This forum -
Korkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 10:22 AM   #27
ajlevine
F the FCC
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 16
My HDMI went out at about 6 weeks. It was working perfectly, but now has a green cast to it. Component looks great.

I'm not going to get it replaced until there is a clear resolution to the problem. I don't want to go through the replacement hassle until I'm sure the problem is solved.

-Andy
ajlevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 03:56 PM   #28
FlyingAvanti
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Got mine last night!

HDMI was "still born"!

Totally "PINK" picture.......

Component output works great.

DirecTV stated that an engineer will call me within 24 hours! My plan is to email him this thread, if he doubts my word........
FlyingAvanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 12:08 PM   #29
allenn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Roswell (Atlanta) Georgia
Posts: 215
Cool HDMI To DVI Failure

Purchased CC 6/30
Arrived 7/2
Assembled 6/19/2004 in Mexico
Software 3.1.5-01-2-357
Dolby Digital 5.1 Day 1
Logos Day 1
Showcase Day 3
DVI Connection to Samsung 50" DLP
__________________
Have a great day!

Allen
allenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 11:16 PM   #30
Joe Jensen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 99
Unit installed 7/8, HDMI worked great. Used it for 4 days, worked great. Just returned from a 5 day vacation and now the HDMI has no blue, and little green. Component is great...joe
Joe Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |