TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2003, 09:43 AM   #1
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
TiVoWeb module to help resolve clashes if you have two TiVos

I've written this TiVoWeb module because I was aware that I was missing recording on one TiVo while the other was sat idle, but figuring out which recordings to copy was too much like hard work.

To use it, copy the module into the tivoweb-tcl/modules directory of BOTH TiVos, and restart TiVoWeb on both machines.

Click "Conflict Resolve" on one of the TiVos, type in the name/IP address of the second TiVo and the number of days ahead you want to look for conflicts. It will then show you a list of unresolved conflicts on the first TiVo. Click the button and it will display the possibilities of recording those shows on the second TiVo:



Click the links to record using the normal TiVoWeb system.

I have written this for my own use and it works for me, but I offer it in case its of use to anyone else.
Attached Files
File Type: zip confres0.2.zip (2.0 KB, 1249 views)

Last edited by sanderton : 10-18-2003 at 10:20 AM.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 09:48 AM   #2
pahunt
Registered User
 
pahunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,715
Sounds like a brilliant idea. I only wish I had 2 tivos
__________________
Paul
pahunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 10:37 AM   #3
pgogborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,240
Having seen what one volunteer can do to greatly increase the functionality of networked TiVos, the salary earning team at TiVo Inc should be hanging their heads in shame.
pgogborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 11:00 AM   #4
dialanothernumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 334
Stuart,

Which should you be most embarrassed about, being a Bath supporter or showing "evidence" of extr@ction

This looks good. Will try when I've recovered from my little "pulled disks" problem of earlier in the week
dialanothernumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 03:01 PM   #5
warwick
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10
I was just discussing how handy a feature like this would be with a friend at work today (we've both just installed endpad this week)

And I get in and it's sitting waiting for me... Fantastic !!!!

Installed no problems - and it appears on both menus - and - if I start the procedure from my Sky Tivo (192.168.1.200) it works fine, - BUT _ if I start it from my freeview Tivo (192.168.1.201) I get this:

--cut here--
action_findconfs '' 'set "tivoname" "192.168.1.200";set "daysahead" "7";set "Save" "Next";'
can't read "conflicts": no such variable
while executing
"html_form_hidden "conflicts" $conflicts"
(procedure "::action_findconfs" line 52)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--

The only thing I did that's not mentioned in the instructions was to CHMOD 664 both files, so that they have the same permissions as everything else in the modules folder. Was this right ??

Any ideas where i'm going wrong ???
warwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 05:08 PM   #6
horwitz
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 70
Well, it sounds like it's finally time to hack the second TiVo. Nice work!
horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 05:34 PM   #7
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Originally posted by warwick
I was just discussing how handy a feature like this would be with a friend at work today (we've both just installed endpad this week)

And I get in and it's sitting waiting for me... Fantastic !!!!

Installed no problems - and it appears on both menus - and - if I start the procedure from my Sky Tivo (192.168.1.200) it works fine, - BUT _ if I start it from my freeview Tivo (192.168.1.201) I get this:

--cut here--
action_findconfs '' 'set "tivoname" "192.168.1.200";set "daysahead" "7";set "Save" "Next";'
can't read "conflicts": no such variable
while executing
"html_form_hidden "conflicts" $conflicts"
(procedure "::action_findconfs" line 52)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--

The only thing I did that's not mentioned in the instructions was to CHMOD 664 both files, so that they have the same permissions as everything else in the modules folder. Was this right ??

Any ideas where i'm going wrong ???
The conficts variable stores a list of the unresolved conflicts. Is it possible that there aren't any on that TiVo (check the Recording History module of TiVoWeb to see)? My Freeview TiVo comes up with very few. If that were the case the bit of the routine that adds to the conflicts list never gets called so the conflicts variable never gets initialised, hence the error. TCL's a bit crap like that.

You don't need to chmod TiVoWeb modules, but it doesn't hurt if you do,

Last edited by sanderton : 10-17-2003 at 05:39 PM.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 10:22 AM   #8
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
I fixed that bug, and it was suggested in Another Place that it would be good to have the "Busy" entries clickable to cancel the existing recording and record the conflict, which seemed a good idea, so I've added that.

The zip in the firts post has been amended.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 10:54 AM   #9
cyril
Registered User
 
cyril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,128
What about if you have more than 2 TiVos ?

Well I suppose I don't really get any clashes except during Christmas Day and Boxing Day
__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME.
I need about 500k so we can build a UK TiVo series 5 HD for Freesat and Freeview...who's with me :) ?
cyril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:06 PM   #10
warwick
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10
Working perfectly now ...

Thanks for all your help.
warwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:24 PM   #11
km
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta. Ga. USA
Posts: 78
A unified Now Showing?

This module suggests another that would be useful with multiple tivos., namely a unified "Now Showing" list.
km is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 02:40 PM   #12
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Originally posted by cyril
What about if you have more than 2 TiVos ?

Well I suppose I don't really get any clashes except during Christmas Day and Boxing Day
I did think of you Cyril, but then I figured you probably ahd one TiVo per channel anyway!
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 08:39 AM   #13
cyril
Registered User
 
cyril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,128
I guess I might be the one who would most benefit from a unified Now Showing List!
__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME.
I need about 500k so we can build a UK TiVo series 5 HD for Freesat and Freeview...who's with me :) ?
cyril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 10:30 AM   #14
dialanothernumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 334
I have an unsubbed tivo, mainly for kids programmes. Will this work with a subbed tivo and its unsubbed cousin?
dialanothernumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 11:52 AM   #15
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
No, as it expects there to be programme guide details on the other TiVo. You could adapt the code easily enough though.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:45 PM   #16
dialanothernumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 334
Seems that it takes a while for the conflict database to refresh (or whatever it does in tivo-ese)

I've found that shortly after I've set up a few new recordings, confres isn't picking the conflicts up... needs about an hour. Is this similar to other experiences.

Also, how often do others run confres? Once a week or so? Prehaps it could be automated?

Stuart, I have ordered the tcl book you mentioned so (but don't hold your breath) a buggy bugger of a piece of code will attempt to link this module with the manrec module to hand off conflicts to an unsubbed box.

I alsowondered (and I know this is offtopic) whether one could write script to pass a marker in digiguide to the manual recording module. I would use this as a quicker way of scheduling when at the computer/at work, than the standard way in tivoweb. Also it would be a marginally easier interface than manual recording alone on an unsubbed spare box. Any views?
dialanothernumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 04:32 AM   #17
PaulK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 64
Another top mod Stuart !

I wonder if this could ever be automated?

Paul
PaulK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 04:35 AM   #18
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
I set off with that in mind, but found that for my purposes I actually wanted manual control.

It would be reasonably simple for the code to automatically schedule into any free slots, but it's not something I want to do myself. If anyone wants to mod it, then feel free!
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 08:16 AM   #19
ChrisJB
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 42
Regarding automation, I found that using the DailyMail email was enough to give me a nudge to sort out conflicts. Like Stuart, I would prefer to do the handoff manually
ChrisJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 03:47 PM   #20
bignoise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 240
The man. You are.. the man. I'm sorry, but that's the way it is. You are the man.
bignoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 10:49 AM   #21
smiffy
internetentrepreneur
 
smiffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by dialanothernumb
I have an unsubbed tivo, mainly for kids programmes. Will this work with a subbed tivo and its unsubbed cousin?
Me too... would this be an easy update like the manual recording from Digiguide?
__________________
Tivo 6023 + 2x 80GB, NIC, Lifetime Sub
Vista MCE 3Ghz PC, 2GB Ram, 400GB HDD, Dual Nova PCI x2, 2TB NAS
Wife, Three Kids, and one MX-5 Roadster
smiffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 11:01 AM   #22
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
You would have to adapt it a little.

At the moment it "sends" the channel ident, title and start time to the remote TiVo, which then finds a match in its database and shows that.

You would need to adapt it to send channel number, start time and end time and feed that into an adaptation of cwyngert's manual recording code.

Of couse is the unsubbed machines channel numbers were different, you'd then have another level of complexity, as you'd need to map them.

Perfectly possible though. Feel free to have a go using my code as a base if you want!
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 07:11 AM   #23
FredThompson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 52
Any chance you'll be releasing another version which enables recording of the possible matches by default? This might also be real cool if there was a way to automatically set all recordings to stay until manually deleted. Say you're gone for a couple of weeks, this combination could let the 2 TiVos work as a team so you've less chance of losing something due to a full TiVo. Gang-scheduling would be cool too, more than 2 TiVos.
FredThompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 07:17 AM   #24
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
No; this module does what I need it to do, so I'm not planning any more devlopment on it myself.

However dialanothernumb has hinted that he might be going to add stuff along the master-slave line.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 09:15 PM   #25
gart
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Would it be possible to coordinate between the two tivos and mark the status of shows that are moved something other than Conflict?
gart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 03:45 PM   #26
kweller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Near Dover, Kent, UK
Posts: 137
Ignorant of Kent writes...when I run this it can't open 'otherside' as the URL needs the port number. I know nothing about TCL (can anyone recommend a good book?) but looked at the code and saw a line that said -

set othertivourl "http://$tivoname/otherside"

In my naiveté I thought if I changed it to look like -

set othertivourl "http://$tivoname:1683/otherside"

that woud resolve the problem but it doesn't seem to have. Can someone give me a clue please?

Thanks.

Kevin

Edit: And then I realised the problem isn't that I'm ignorant, it's that I am a prat! Funny how reloading TiVoWeb sorted that out.

So, just the recommendation for the book remaining.
kweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 03:27 AM   #27
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Just put the port number in the name of the other Tivo when prompted; no need to edit the code.
sanderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 10:20 AM   #28
kweller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Near Dover, Kent, UK
Posts: 137
Ah that's easier, thanks.

Kevin
kweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 06:10 PM   #29
lcsneil
Shrubber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a shrubbery
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally posted by kweller

So, just the recommendation for the book remaining.
Try putting TCL TUTORIAL into Google!

No idea if they are any good but looks a lot of info in the first item alone!

Neil
__________________
Thomson 6021 TiVo 2 x 120GB, Cachecard, TiVoWeb (WAP ), Endpad, Software Red Dot Killer + Grundig SkyD also Thomson 6023 TiVo 400GB +Turbonet, TWP, DTT (x2) ...... oh 'nt telly
lcsneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 05:47 AM   #30
kweller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Near Dover, Kent, UK
Posts: 137
Thanks Neil, that first one is a useful resource particularly as I'm struggling with Linux as well.

Kevin (wondering why he didn't think to do an on-line search)
kweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |