TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2014, 07:17 PM   #1
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 743
Pairing woes...what is the "Val: ?"? for?

I have been trying to pair a cable card for a couple of days here. Comcast sent out a tech today even who was unable to fully pair it. The issue may be due to the TiVo box, a premiere elite, having been paired previously with a different cablecard. We finally managed to get the two settings on the conditional access screen to read:
Con: Yes EBCP: Yes. Val: ? 0x00

I called Comcast and attempted four different times to get it paired. No luck. They sent out a tech who went through two additional cards. But no matter what they tried on the a Comcast side they could not get the "Val" to read as "V".

I now get most channels, but no premium ones.

Can anyone tell me what the "Val" setting is and what controls it on the comcast database side? The comcast tech pushing the data seemed to suggest the problem was with the TiVo box...which had previously worked flawlessly.

I guess I have to now have the supervisor bring out another handful of cards to try them...but I know it's just really a matter of Comcast not caring/wanting to support TiVo devices enough to train their people on how to fix these situations.

I can't believe that TiVo hasn't coordinated the installation and configuration of cablecards better with Comcast. It really creates a really horrible customer experience.
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast

Last edited by Bighouse : 02-02-2014 at 07:40 PM.
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 07:45 PM   #2
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 776
This troubleshooting guide will tell you how to read the cable card values.

Val should be V. If this field has a question mark (?), the card is not paired with the DVR. You will be unable to view most, if not all of the channels in your subscription. Call the cable provider to resolve this issue.

Motorola CableCARD Troubleshooting: Roamio Series and Premiere Series DVRs http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2569
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.

Last edited by worachj : 02-02-2014 at 07:51 PM.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 07:59 PM   #3
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 776
Maybe you should try the automation activation and enable the card yourself.

CableCARD Activation Line: 1-877-405-2298
Automated Activation Line: 1-800-671-9094
Online Activation
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 08:16 PM   #4
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Maybe you should try the automation activation and enable the card yourself.

CableCARD Activation Line: 1-877-405-2298
Automated Activation Line: 1-800-671-9094
Online Activation
Been there and did that about six times.
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 10:40 PM   #5
TiVoTJung
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Sounds like you need a new card


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TiVoTJung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:00 AM   #6
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
The "Val" is when the Data ID in the Tivo CableCARD(tm) Pairing screen matches with what your cable provider has in their system. If it has a V that means its matched and you can receive encrypted channels thru the cable card. If it has a ? then the cable company has the wrong Data ID in their system. If they are telling you they have the correct Data ID in their system, then usually they can just send a hit to the Tivo box/cable card and it should work.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 06:19 PM   #7
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 743
Well, Comcast sent their tech out today and they paired my TiVo.

It wasn't the cablecard...it wasn't the TiVo.

It was that they, COMCAST, had the wrong info keyed into their database for the Data ID...and after they checked and double/triple checked this last weekend.

Note: The prior error I had with another cable card was that someone on their database end had "fat fingers" according to the tech. So, rather than making sure they can competently key in right values given very clearly to them over the phone, they would rather suggest that the TiVo box somehow magically "fries" their cablecards...(they actually suggested that was the problem).
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 09:37 AM   #8
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,463
Sounds familiar, the Data ID on Moto systems has always been an issue for them. Haven't seen it since they started the card hotline back when the new FCC rules went into place though.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |