TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-31-2014, 11:22 AM   #1
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,402
What is the version number on cable card (Verizon) that I want?

I'm getting a roamio pro next week. Upgrading from premiere 2 tuner model. I remember awhile back reading about issue with older cable cards not working correctly with the roamio 6 tuner units.

Thanks!
BlackBetty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:34 AM   #2
Tivogre
Registered User
 
Tivogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,272
Part number 514517-017-00 I think the 017 is the critical part for 5-6 tuner operation.
__________________
FIOS, Baby!!!
2x Tivo Roamio Pro,
5 x Tivo Mini
Samsung 72", 56", 4 x 32" HDTV
Sony 40" HDTV
iRule + iTach Remotes
Tivogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:55 AM   #3
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,402
Thanks!
BlackBetty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:52 PM   #4
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,600
I don't think Verizon had a 5/6 tuner problem. I never did anyway.

They had an issue with macroblocking on copy-protected channels when using older cablecards, which was resolved a few updates ago. It no longer matters which card you get. Issue resolved.

But their automated activation often doesn't pair cards correctly. If the card is activated but not paired, you'll have to contact them and request a "manual validation" or "manual re-validation" on the card to get HBO/Max working.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 01-31-2014 at 03:00 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:37 PM   #5
caughey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange County
Posts: 133
As BigJim says, the issue that required the 017 card is supposed to have been fixed, so you could use the card from your premiere if you aren't keeping it active. If you're getting a new card anyway, might as well ask for the 017.

The "manually validate" part is key if you're having issues. The FiOS guy had about given up when I found those magic words in TiVoMarget's post. I literally copied and pasted them into the chat window and a couple minutes later it was fixed. Maybe the quoted part is one of their menu options.

Quote:
...CableCARD is "authorized" but not "paired". Call Verizon's activation line 1-888-897-7499 and keep asking for "tech support". Once you have reached someone in tech support, tell them your CableCARD is authorized but not paired, and ask them to "Manually Validate Set Top Box". (I have been told this instruction is what has worked for other customers.)
Have fun with your new Roamio!
caughey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 05:55 PM   #6
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,402
Thanks! You guys are awesome.
BlackBetty is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |