TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-25-2014, 04:03 PM   #1
didi420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
HDMI splitter for my Tivo Roamio?

I have the new Roamio (4 tuner). I'm trying to hookup up my blu-ray player also. I can't find a HDMI splitter that will work with the Roamio. Can anyone recommend one that will work?
didi420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 04:20 PM   #2
twhiting9275
TV Buff!
 
twhiting9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 340
Almost any splitter should work, honestly. It's just an HDMI signal
twhiting9275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 05:09 PM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by didi420 View Post
I have the new Roamio (4 tuner). I'm trying to hookup up my blu-ray player also. I can't find a HDMI splitter that will work with the Roamio. Can anyone recommend one that will work?
DO you mean an HDMI switch? An HDMI splitter will split the one HDMI output into two or more. I don't see how a splitter would help you connect your BD player.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:04 PM   #4
troasti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 51
I think you have the same problem I had. I only have one hdmi input on my tv. I have a roku which only uses hdmi and had a premiere which used component outputs. I upgraded to a roamio which only uses hdmi. I purchased a cheap switch from amazon and it works fine for me. Reviews aren't great on it so you may want to spend some more and get a better one. Here it is http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00275XFQ2
troasti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:21 PM   #5
didi420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
DO you mean an HDMI switch? An HDMI splitter will split the one HDMI output into two or more. I don't see how a splitter would help you connect your BD player.
Sorry, yes I meant a HDMI switch.
didi420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:31 PM   #6
didi420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by troasti View Post
I think you have the same problem I had. I only have one hdmi input on my tv. I have a roku which only uses hdmi and had a premiere which used component outputs. I upgraded to a roamio which only uses hdmi. I purchased a cheap switch from amazon and it works fine for me. Reviews aren't great on it so you may want to spend some more and get a better one. Here it is http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00275XFQ2
Yes I only have 1 hdmi input on my TV. I tried this switch: Portta PET0301S 3x1 HDMI Switcher with 3D Support. It didn't work. I just get "no signal" on my TV. Maybe I'll try the one from Amazon. Thanks for the link.
didi420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:43 PM   #7
9300170
Registered User
 
9300170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 169
You may have better luck with a powered switch. I used this one: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
9300170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:50 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,382
I currently use five Monoprice powered HDMI switches. They have worked great.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:15 PM   #9
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 487
I also give a thumbs up to monoprice hdmi switches
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |