TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-22-2014, 12:12 AM   #1
wecnews
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Moca Missing

I have a roamio plus and am using 2 mini's right now in the downstairs of my home.

I have a Tivo HD in an upstairs bedroom and I'm replacing it with a mini.

Now I'll have a total of 3 mini's in the house to share signal from the roamio.

Well… the third mini won't see a moca signal at all.

I get cable service fine on the outlet from the Tivo HD but the mini sees nothing.

Other two mini's work fine.


I have a POE filter installed.


I also switched mini's. I put the new mini downstairs where one of the older working mini's was.

The new mini worked fine.

The old mini which worked fine downstairs I brought upstairs to the trouble spot and it doesn't work there either.


So I figure for some reason moca isn't getting upstairs to that outlet.

but it's getting everywhere else.


Comcast says I only have one POE to the house and everything's connected, so they don't know what to tell me and they don't really support Moca….

So…. any suggestions?
wecnews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 01:21 AM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wecnews View Post
I have a roamio plus and am using 2 mini's right now in the downstairs of my home.

I have a Tivo HD in an upstairs bedroom and I'm replacing it with a mini.

Now I'll have a total of 3 mini's in the house to share signal from the roamio.

Well… the third mini won't see a moca signal at all.

I get cable service fine on the outlet from the Tivo HD but the mini sees nothing.

Other two mini's work fine.


I have a POE filter installed.


I also switched mini's. I put the new mini downstairs where one of the older working mini's was.

The new mini worked fine.

The old mini which worked fine downstairs I brought upstairs to the trouble spot and it doesn't work there either.


So I figure for some reason moca isn't getting upstairs to that outlet.

but it's getting everywhere else.


Comcast says I only have one POE to the house and everything's connected, so they don't know what to tell me and they don't really support Moca….

So…. any suggestions?
You may have a splitter on the outside of your home to bring the cable to the upstairs room, pull the cables from the inside feed and see if the cable signal goes away from the upstairs, you have to find the upstairs feed cable.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 03:03 AM   #3
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
You may have a splitter on the outside of your home to bring the cable to the upstairs room, pull the cables from the inside feed and see if the cable signal goes away from the upstairs, you have to find the upstairs feed cable.
Yeah, you gotta chase down your wiring. That one run is either "outside" of the POE filter, has an old filter/attenuator/etc of some sort on it that needs to be removed, running through an old splitter that's not able to pass the signal, or (least likely) maybe the cable running to that one location is old and not shielded well enough and running too close to source(s) of interference.
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:03 PM   #4
Luckyluc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Great info. I am pretty close to adding a Roamio Plus and Mini with MOCA.
Luckyluc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |