TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-16-2014, 11:05 PM   #1
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Need to upgrade original storage got some questions please help!

Got the 500GB Roamio 3+ months ago and I only record things in standard definition but I almost run out of room. Just curious if I remove the original HDD, put a new HDD then maybe 6 months from now I wanted to view an old show again on the original HDD, can I take out the replacement HDD, put back the original and the shows will be there to watch again? Also which HDDs would you guys recommend? I want at least a 3TB drive that is on sale/good price right now. And is there a video on other instructions on how to take the HDD out? Thanks!
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:26 AM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,442
Roamio Hard Drive Upgrade Thread

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=507695
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 01:31 AM   #3
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
Thanks. How about my other question? If I decide to watch something again from my old/original HDD, I can just put it back in the Tivo again and all my shows would still be there and it would be watchable right? I don't know where I read this but I read if we do something everything would be erased on the HDD. I just want to double check. Also can you guys recommend me the best 2-3tb HDD for a good price?
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 03:53 AM   #4
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,442
You should be able to swap HDDs back and forth, just to watch recordings on the old HDD.

If you want to record on the old HDD, then you will need to re-run Guided setup and get the CableCARD re-paired. Rinse and repeat as you swap back and forth. (I believe, I have not tested)

Recommended 3TB HDDs, listed by my preference (IMO)

WD30EURS - Western Digital WD AV-GP 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
http://www.amazon.com/AV-GP-3TB-Vide...dp/B004W9BKE0/
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136926

WD30EURX - Western Digital WD AV-GP 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita...dp/B00DXFEQGI/
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822236602

WD30EFRX - Western Digital Red NAS 3TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
http://www.amazon.com/WD-Red-NAS-Har...dp/B008JJLW4M/
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822236344 - approx 40% bad reviews for DOA from NewEgg here, NewEgg has a bad reputation for packaging Bare OEM HDDs. Although I have never had a problem with NewEgg.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 03:15 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheChosenOne- View Post
Thanks. How about my other question? If I decide to watch something again from my old/original HDD, I can just put it back in the Tivo again and all my shows would still be there and it would be watchable right? I don't know where I read this but I read if we do something everything would be erased on the HDD. I just want to double check. Also can you guys recommend me the best 2-3tb HDD for a good price?
You could switch drive BUT you may have to re-pair your cable card is some areas, like Comcast in CT, one way around this is to remove the cable card before you change the drive to the old one, after watching what you want put the new drive back in and than put the cable card in, no re-pairing would be needed.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 03:33 PM   #6
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
You could switch drive BUT you may have to re-pair your cable card is some areas, like Comcast in CT, one way around this is to remove the cable card before you change the drive to the old one, after watching what you want put the new drive back in and than put the cable card in, no re-pairing would be needed.
What would re-pairing do? Does the Bay Area need to do this?
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 03:53 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
Are you limited from just moving these to a PC first? Your suggested process is a PITA.

I would either move, purchase the content, or put in a few whishlists to pick up missing items in the future.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:54 PM   #8
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Are you limited from just moving these to a PC first? Your suggested process is a PITA.

I would either move, purchase the content, or put in a few whishlists to pick up missing items in the future.
I can transfer stuff on my tivo to my PC but I thought switching Tivo's HDDs would be easier. Not sure what is a PITA
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:16 PM   #9
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 304
Now, I don't know if this would work - though I'm sure there are plenty of forum members here that do - but what about housing the old drive in an external enclosure and just connecting it when you want to watch the old programming?
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:40 PM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
Now, I don't know if this would work - though I'm sure there are plenty of forum members here that do - but what about housing the old drive in an external enclosure and just connecting it when you want to watch the old programming?
You can't do that very easily as you need a direct SATA connection to the main TiVo drive cable, you could rig something up I guess to have both drives external so you could connect one or the other but that is PIA.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:59 PM   #11
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
PITA= pain in the a**

getting into your stack to open the box, re-pairing cablecards, connecting items that are really not meant to have wear and tear, rebooting - these all contribute to why it is a PITA.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 08:12 PM   #12
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
You could switch drive BUT you may have to re-pair your cable card is some areas, like Comcast in CT, one way around this is to remove the cable card before you change the drive to the old one, after watching what you want put the new drive back in and than put the cable card in, no re-pairing would be needed.
X2.....this is the solution if the op chooses to go this route.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |