TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-13-2014, 04:41 PM   #1
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Roamio Drive Copy Upgrade?

Has drive copying been perfected for the Roamio yet?

I have a Plus and I'd like to order a 3TB drive for it, yet keep all my settings and recordings.

The upgrade thread from what I read covered mostly OOB upgrades.

Thanks,
-Don
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 04:43 PM   #2
CurtisG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nortern Virginia
Posts: 33
+1
I'm interested too
__________________
1 x TiVo Roamio Plus
1 x TiVo Premiere XL4
2 x TiVo Premiere XL
2 x TiVo Premiere
1 x TiVo HD XL
1 x TiVo Series 2
CurtisG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
rgr
Member
 
rgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 430
+1 for me as well.

I used kmttg to transfer as much as I could from my old series 3. But would be fantastic to transfer everything when I drop in a new drive.
rgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
RichieR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
I upgraded my Plus with a 3Gb drive recently. While I didn't copy everything from the old to the new, I used Tivo Desktop to move shows to my PC from the old drive. Then moved em back with desktop to the new drive once installed.

The biggest hassles I had were:

1. Had to get the cable company out to fix certain channels with the same card... Took them 5 minutes to make a call.

2. Had to set up my Season Passes etc as they were wiped with the new drive install.

Even with the minor inconveniences, it was worth it for me... So much more recording time. I'm loving it now!

Sent from my GT-P7310 using Tapatalk
RichieR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:08 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,010
I wish there was a do it yourself way to use a 4TB drive. I would love to have a 4TB drive instead of the 3TB in my Roamio Pro. But currently the only way to get one is from Weaknees. And it costs $350. I've started using TiVo Desktop more recently to keep some content since the 3TB is not large enough for me.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 01-14-2014 at 09:18 AM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:22 PM   #6
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichieR View Post
2. Had to set up my Season Passes etc as they were wiped with the new drive install.
Yes, Tivo should support this themselves.. but you could have saved then restored them with kmttg.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:24 PM   #7
RichieR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Yes, Tivo should support this themselves.. but you could have saved then restored them with kmttg.
Im still a newb with this so unfortunately I'm learning the hard way.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
RichieR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 06:25 PM   #8
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnieZ View Post
Has drive copying been perfected for the Roamio yet?

I have a Plus and I'd like to order a 3TB drive for it, yet keep all my settings and recordings.

The upgrade thread from what I read covered mostly OOB upgrades.

Thanks,
-Don
Maybe try cloning it? I've never needed to try this with a Roamio, but all my personal computers have hard drive clones that I update about every six months. Seems like it would be worth a shot. At worst you'd just have to low level reformat the new drive.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:41 PM   #9
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltxi View Post
Maybe try cloning it? I've never needed to try this with a Roamio, but all my personal computers have hard drive clones that I update about every six months. Seems like it would be worth a shot. At worst you'd just have to low level reformat the new drive.

My only concern with cloning the drive is it's likely going to clone the partition table as well. I feel I might end up with a 3TB drive with a 1TB partition on it, leaving 2 TB of unused space.

You're right though - the cost to try this is pretty low.

I'm honestly thinking I might actually have enough space with 1TB! I've lived with 1TB with my TiVoHD that I upgraded, and this one is only hovering around 25% after a week and a ton of suggestion records.

Wait.. Who am I kidding?? I know I'm going to upgrade it at some point, even if I justify it "just because it can be done..." The sooner the better I guess.
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:59 AM   #10
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,009
If you clone it to a larger drive the additional space will be unused.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 08:32 AM   #11
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,514
suggestions do not impact the % of space used reporting. Larger drive would give you tons more suggestions.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |