TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 01-01-2014, 10:07 PM   #1
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Streaming over cellular FIX for 7.0, Jailbroken only

Hello,

I know that there is a workaround for this but, if you want to stream from your Roamio, over the cellular network, follow these instructions. This is from a post that I made at macrumors;

work around but you will need ifile or way to install deb
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenan1982 View Post
I have TiVo and the app doesn't work because it detects jailbreak. I used to use xCon to hide the jailbreak from Tivo, but seems like version 38 (latest) doesn't work at least not with iOS 7 or the latest Tivo app.

Anyone?

EDIT: I realize that Beta 39 came out almost a year ago but haven't seen any updates.
Hello,

I just joined here today, but have read here for many months. For reference, I'm using a Jailbroken iPhone 5S, on IOS 7.0.1

Anyway, here is the way to get the Tivo app to work, where it won't detect the jailbroken phone. This is done using an older version of xCon, 37 beta 7. You will need iFile or something that can install a deb.

Credit goes to leem8181;

Go to Cydia and search for xCon, then scroll down to "Submit an app".
Next, under "open", scroll down to a post called "Tivo" post 317, by Rogreu.
Next, tap on that post and you will see a reply by leem8181. I copied that link that he had for an older version of xCon, 37 Beta 7. I then used iFile to install the deb. Now my Tivo app works, letting me stream live from my Tivo Roamio at home, over the 4G cellular network. No "Modified device' message.

I don't know if this will work for other apps, as I have not tried.
Apparently, this guy leem8181 experimented with different versions, until he found one that works.

Good luck and please post your results, I'm curious.

Here is a link. https://github.com/n00neimp0rtant/xC.../317?source=cc

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Some were already doing this with iPhone 4S's and IOS 6.0. Most were already using the "Download" option posted here, with which the quality came out better than streaming choppy. This is just an alternative for those who have unlimited data and want to play.

With the release of the new 7.0 Jailbreak, including the iPhone 5, 5C and 5S, the current xCon app in Cydia, does not work. You get the "Modified device" message so....

Have fun.

Last edited by overFEDEXed : 01-02-2014 at 04:13 AM.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:25 AM   #2
blacknoi
Registered User
 
blacknoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 313
Your link appears to be getting truncated with a '...' in the middle. Can you repost or maybe use a short url service?

Code:
https://github.com/n00neimp0rtant/xC.../317?source=cc

__________________
DVR User since 2002.
blacknoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 09:23 AM   #3
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,890
TC CLUB MEMBER
Thanks. I'm using a Premiere with a SA Stream, and am still not able to stream over 4G/LTE, but at least I'm able to stream in-house now. Worked great!
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 10:10 AM   #4
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacknoi View Post
Your link appears to be getting truncated with a '...' in the middle. Can you repost or maybe use a short url service?

Code:
https://github.com/n00neimp0rtant/xC.../317?source=cc
Sorry about that. I can't fix it until I get home.

Do a search for xCon 37 beta 7. That's the one that works.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:21 AM   #5
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
Here's a link to the deb file from my Dropbox:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...honeos-arm.deb
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:26 AM   #6
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
i installed it (I know it's installed because Cydia shows thats the version I have isntalled) but it still doesnt work for me.
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:27 AM   #7
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
NVM, I needed to re-setup my Stream box apparently...works now
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:39 AM   #8
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
NVM, I needed to re-setup my Stream box apparently...works now
Remember, ignore the Cydia 38 update, until you see 40 or something like that. It might even state that there is a Tivo fix included.

I believe that there are version 39 beta something's, that still don't work.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:15 PM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
Strange that the older one would work.

I, too, ran into the same problem when I upgraded and jailbroke 7.0.4 with xCon not working properly (in fact, for me it causes every app to force close when it's installed).

edit: 37beta7 worked for me, thanks for the tip!
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by windracer : 01-02-2014 at 02:45 PM.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:53 PM   #10
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,890
TC CLUB MEMBER
OverFEDEXed, how are you getting around the limitation of only streaming over wifi while away from home? I tried 3G Unrestrcictor, but it's not working.
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:23 PM   #11
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by overFEDEXed View Post
Remember, ignore the Cydia 38 update, until you see 40 or something like that. It might even state that there is a Tivo fix included.

I believe that there are version 39 beta something's, that still don't work.
yep I set the toggle to ignore future xCon updates in Cydia...now I need to remember not to update the Tivo app if there ever is one
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:11 PM   #12
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt View Post
OverFEDEXed, how are you getting around the limitation of only streaming over wifi while away from home? I tried 3G Unrestrcictor, but it's not working.
Use My3G and set "Use Direct Flags to on.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 04:10 PM   #13
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,890
TC CLUB MEMBER
Thanks-- I couldn't get that to work either, but I'm thinking there's something else going on with my setup. I can't get it to stream away from home over wifi either.
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:21 PM   #14
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Strange that the older one would work.

I, too, ran into the same problem when I upgraded and jailbroke 7.0.4 with xCon not working properly (in fact, for me it causes every app to force close when it's installed).

edit: 37beta7 worked for me, thanks for the tip!
You are welcome. I remember you from the last xCon/tivo app problem.

I don't think the developer has time to mess with an update right now, so I looked around until I found a fix.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 08:09 AM   #15
Divilish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks for this solution, I was very disappointed last night when I plugged in my new TiVo stream....

The night before I was able to JB my IOS devices again, that would have been very bad timing had I not found your post!

Looks like they will update xcon eventually, but I don't want to wait!
Divilish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 03:28 PM   #16
ehardman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 151
Thanks for the fix and My3G solution to stream over cellular. However, I notice the resolution over cellular is not as good even with LTE. Is this to be expected?
ehardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 02:33 PM   #17
tturner23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Has anyone tried V39 Beta 7 to see if the TiVo fix was included?
tturner23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 02:41 PM   #18
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
Just installed it and it does seem to work (no crashes so far, anyway).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 05:22 PM   #19
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Just installed it and it does seem to work (no crashes so far, anyway).
He said 39 beta 7 didnt work on iphone 5s...is that what youre using?
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 05:31 PM   #20
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 224
yep, 39 beta 7 works fine on ios 7 on my ipad 3...still cant use it on my iphone 5s as his page says its not working on arm64 devices yet
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:29 PM   #21
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
He said 39 beta 7 didnt work on iphone 5s...is that what youre using?
Sorry, no, I have a 4S.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:02 PM   #22
tturner23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Perfect. Once xCon is updated for the 5S, I'll update from 37.

Thanks
tturner23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:16 PM   #23
ehardman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 151
Has anyone tried installing the Tivo app update that showed up this morning? I'm afraid to install the update since I have the Tivo app working now using xCon 39 beta 7.
ehardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:45 PM   #24
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehardman View Post
Has anyone tried installing the Tivo app update that showed up this morning? I'm afraid to install the update since I have the Tivo app working now using xCon 39 beta 7.
Works fine, I just installed it and I'm still using build 37 of xCon and everything works fine.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:24 PM   #25
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
New TiVo app is working fine for me on the 4S with the latest version of xCon installed. Had no problems streaming while OOH.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 03:04 PM   #26
dbattaglia001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
New TiVo app is working fine for me on the 4S with the latest version of xCon installed. Had no problems streaming while OOH.
Download the new TiVo iPhone APP available today. While not listed in the changes, it appears OOH streaming over cellular is now available.
dbattaglia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 03:08 PM   #27
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,805
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbattaglia001 View Post
Download the new TiVo iPhone APP available today. While not listed in the changes, it appears OOH streaming over cellular is now available.
...only for shows that don't have the CCI flag set, right?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 03:19 PM   #28
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbattaglia001 View Post
Download the new TiVo iPhone APP available today. While not listed in the changes, it appears OOH streaming over cellular is now available.
I'm not seeing this. The "Watch Now" button is lit, but when I tap it the "Watch on TV" and "Watch on iPhone" buttons are grayed out when not on wireless.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:39 AM   #29
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
I'm not seeing this. The "Watch Now" button is lit, but when I tap it the "Watch on TV" and "Watch on iPhone" buttons are grayed out when not on wireless.
Are you using My3G, with the "Use Direct Flag" set to ON?(in the My3G settings, when clicking on the little i, on the Tivo app)) This is with the newest Tivo app, correct?
I'm running the newest version of the app, 3.2.3 and everything works fine.

Cydia does not have the updated Xcon and some people are not comfortable installing deb files, so understandably, we do not have as many people to test these things.

Anyway, I'm glad that I could help provide a fix for us jailbreakers. I did luck up and stumble upon somebody, who didn't mind testing ALL the versions so...thanks to him also.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:44 AM   #30
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,805
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by overFEDEXed View Post
Are you using My3G, with the "Use Direct Flag" set to ON? This is with the newest Tivo app, correct? I'm running the newest version of the app, 3.2.3 and everything works fine.
The confusion here might be stemming from the fact that out-of-home (ie : over cellular) streaming is supposed to be an official feature coming to the app (ie : no jailbreak tweak required) and one poster even said it has arrived on his device, simply with the latest app update:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbattaglia001 View Post
Download the new TiVo iPhone APP available today. While not listed in the changes, it appears OOH streaming over cellular is now available.
Unless he's mistaken, and is actually getting the feature because he has my3g or something equivalent installed?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |