TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 90 votes, 4.94 average.
Old 01-10-2014, 05:39 PM   #1621
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
thank you!

i'm not sure i want to off load & upload
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 08:19 PM   #1622
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
having done a bunch of upgrades, i've always liked having the original drive with my cable card pairing stored on my shelf.

does a cable card pairing survive when i upgrade the hdd or will i need to repair it?
It has always survived for me with tivoHDs. And now I juust upgraded using WD30EURS for my Roamio plus, and it was painless.

Only issue was the HBO channels didn't come back, and I had to go do a little chat session and all is well. Even when I ordered HBO several months ago, the channels never came on until I chatted with someone. They say it's a known issue with the Roamio Plus. They just need you to read them the cablecard id, host id and data id and you'll be synced.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 12:11 AM   #1623
el aye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocNo View Post
7200 RPM is going to definitely draw too much juice, especially for the tiny wall wart my Raomio Basic came with. Nevermind the heat concerns I would have with a 7200 RPM drive. Way, way overkill.

The 5400 RMP WD Red's would be what I would be putting in if I didn't already have an extra 3TB Hitachi that I poached from my NAS. The last couple of times I have ordered Red drives I got them for the same price as other drives. And Red's have one critical feature that will ensure they will be the only drives I ever buy from now on - bearings on both ends of the shaft that the platters spin on. Previously only SAS or Fibre Channel drives had that design feature, SATA drives only had bearings on one end - the end of the shaft with the motor, the other end is just "out there". Hence the huge difference in mean time between failure (MTBF) for SAS/FC drives and SATA drives. For a slight premium, at most, or the same price if you just catch 'em on sale getting any drive other than a red is idiotic IMNSHO at this point....
It's really just the startup power draw... real world power consumption between 5400rpm and 7200rpm drives is no more than a few watts. Kind of sad, this makes me want to go buy the Roamio Pro for $400 on Amazon right now. I guess I could try and swap out a WD green drive from my home server.
el aye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 01:39 AM   #1624
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
just a data point and a question

i just upgraded my plus to a pro. went smooth, simplest tivo upgrade ever

i did guided set up with the stock hdd
I paired the cc & ta with with the stock hdd
tested the tuners
swapped out the drives with a 3tb unit
powered it up & repeated guided set up

i did not have to repair the cc. i'm even getting the switched vid channels
With the new drive, it's no longer paired. Even though only the premium channels (like HBO) require pairing, it's highly recommended to re-pair it to avoid random issues.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 01:42 AM   #1625
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
It has always survived for me with tivoHDs. And now I juust upgraded using WD30EURS for my Roamio plus, and it was painless.

Only issue was the HBO channels didn't come back, and I had to go do a little chat session and all is well. Even when I ordered HBO several months ago, the channels never came on until I chatted with someone. They say it's a known issue with the Roamio Plus. They just need you to read them the cablecard id, host id and data id and you'll be synced.
No, pairing did NOT survive the upgrade unless you copied the paired drive to the new drive. That's why HBO "didn't come back".
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 03:22 AM   #1626
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
No, pairing did NOT survive the upgrade unless you copied the paired drive to the new drive. That's why HBO "didn't come back".
Okay, then maybe I don't know the definition of pairing. All my channels were back, that doesn't qualify? To me, that's a success because like I said, HBO didn't turn on either when I ordered it through the web account. I had to do a little chat. So I figure even if it was a success, expect the HBOs to not show up, and it didn't. I did a chat and got them back. So if I did not have HBO to begin with, then I wouldn't be the wiser whether or not my cable card is paired because all my channels were back.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 03:43 AM   #1627
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,046
Pairing is an additional authentication step required to receive premium channels like HBO. An activated but not paired CableCARD can receive non-premium channels. For Motorola card, the "Val" flag on the Conditional Access screen is "V" for paired and "?" for non-paired.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:24 AM   #1628
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
ty c3

i'll check that & re-pair
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 03:00 PM   #1629
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
thank you!

i'm not sure i want to off load & upload
Once everything is set up and the two TiVos "see" each other and have full access, you should be able to xfer everything directly. It may require multiple connections to the TiVo service and multiple reboots of both TiVos.

You can queue up multiple transfers but you will have to do the transfer requests one at a time. No selecting a bunch and saying "transfer all of these". Not even an option to transfer an entire group.

Both TiVos must have current subscriptions.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:41 PM   #1630
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
I was hoping to do a "select all' type of transfer... ;>

i would do the pytivo (? going off memory) but i'm overloaded with stuff i need to learn to do on my forum Plus i dont' know if i have enough space on my HDDs 'cuz, yeah, i'm moving out of my 600 hr unit to a 400 hr unit. i may be able to do it easier but i've got to flowchart it before i can say
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:25 AM   #1631
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
Pairing is an additional authentication step required to receive premium channels like HBO. An activated but not paired CableCARD can receive non-premium channels. For Motorola card, the "Val" flag on the Conditional Access screen is "V" for paired and "?" for non-paired.
Ahh! Good to know. I came from a TivoHDs. Never had premium channels, so I always thought everything was as it should be.
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 03:13 AM   #1632
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
I was hoping to do a "select all' type of transfer... ;>

i would do the pytivo (? going off memory) but i'm overloaded with stuff i need to learn to do on my forum Plus i dont' know if i have enough space on my HDDs 'cuz, yeah, i'm moving out of my 600 hr unit to a 400 hr unit. i may be able to do it easier but i've got to flowchart it before i can say
Actually, I wouldn't go the go the kmttg xfer-push route anyway. Lose too much of the metadata and they do not group the same.

If you have space on your computer, you could use kmttg to xfer and decrypt and keep them there until you want to watch them.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 02:41 PM   #1633
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
Pairing is an additional authentication step required to receive premium channels like HBO. An activated but not paired CableCARD can receive non-premium channels. For Motorola card, the "Val" flag on the Conditional Access screen is "V" for paired and "?" for non-paired.
for cisco cards look at the,
ca screen
emms processed; 0 <--means the cc is not paired
they want to see more then 40
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by alyssa : 01-13-2014 at 06:35 AM.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:08 PM   #1634
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
I was hoping to do a "select all' type of transfer... ;>

i would do the pytivo (? going off memory) but i'm overloaded with stuff i need to learn to do on my forum Plus i dont' know if i have enough space on my HDDs 'cuz, yeah, i'm moving out of my 600 hr unit to a 400 hr unit. i may be able to do it easier but i've got to flowchart it before i can say
TiVo Desktop will let you select a bunch of shows at once to copy from TiVo to PC, but you'll have to select them one at a time on the next TiVo to copy them from the PC to it, although as soon as you get the first one started, you can select the next one and it'll "transfer" as soon as the first one finishes, and you can keep selecting them and they'll go into the "list" and get copied in the order in which they were selected.

Always assuming your cable company didn't set the CCI bit to no copy on any of them.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:09 AM   #1635
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
the $50 gift card deal seems to be back at bb at least on the plus

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/roamio-p...plus&cp=1&lp=1
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 02:31 PM   #1636
Phasers
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
the $50 gift card deal seems to be back at bb at least on the plus

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/roamio-p...plus&cp=1&lp=1
It is back for all Roamio.

Best deal, IMO, is PM the basic to Amazon ($149.99), and get $50 gift card on top of that. Kind of like getting it for $99 if you were going to use the $50 anyways.
Phasers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 03:26 PM   #1637
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phasers View Post
It is back for all Roamio.

Best deal, IMO, is PM the basic to Amazon ($149.99), and get $50 gift card on top of that. Kind of like getting it for $99 if you were going to use the $50 anyways.
Crud. Just bought a basic last Wednesday. Got the price match but of course no $50 gift card.

Oh well, even if I had known it was coming, exigent circumstances required the purchase when I did it.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:18 PM   #1638
das335
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Crud. Just bought a basic last Wednesday. Got the price match but of course no $50 gift card.

Oh well, even if I had known it was coming, exigent circumstances required the purchase when I did it.
You might want to go back to BB and see if they will give you the $50 gift card. I bought a Roamio basic last Thursday and I was able to get the gift card today without any issues. The rep just did a full refund of the 1st purchase and then rang up a new ticket with the Amazon price match and included the $50 GC. It took about 5 minutes. I did not have to take the Tivo back, just showed her the receipt and the BB ad.

Good luck
das335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:46 PM   #1639
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
yikes

i just realized i posted the bb gift card info in the wrong thread- i had meant to post in the deals thread.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:08 PM   #1640
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,069
Newegg has the Western Digital Red NAS Hard Drive WD30EFRX 3TB for $129.99 & free shipping. Use PROMO CODE:
EMCPWWF23
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:16 PM   #1641
webcrawlr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phasers View Post
It is back for all Roamio.

Best deal, IMO, is PM the basic to Amazon ($149.99), and get $50 gift card on top of that. Kind of like getting it for $99 if you were going to use the $50 anyways.
This is a huge YMMV thing. The official price match policy, which you can read on thier website, specifically says gift cards aren't given on price matched items.
webcrawlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:50 PM   #1642
Keen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by webcrawlr View Post
This is a huge YMMV thing. The official price match policy, which you can read on thier website, specifically says gift cards aren't given on price matched items.
That's referring to pricematching gift card offers (e.g. Target offers product X at $Y price with $Z gift card, Best Buy won't give you a gift card with $Z on it).
Keen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 08:02 PM   #1643
webcrawlr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keen View Post
That's referring to pricematching gift card offers (e.g. Target offers product X at $Y price with $Z gift card, Best Buy won't give you a gift card with $Z on it).
Like I said YMMV I was told price matching of items that include gift cards as a promo is against policy.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Payment-...at297300050000

Quote:
The Guarantee is limited to one price match per identical item, per guest and does not apply to: Contract mobile phones sold by any online retailer, the online prices of retailers not listed, the online prices of products shipped from or sold by third party vendors (Marketplace vendors) on designated major online retailers websites, post purchase price match requests to competitor's prices, Best Buy for Business™, offers that include financing, gift card offers, bundling of items, free items, pricing errors, mail-in offers, coupon offers, competitors' service prices, items that are advertised as limited-quantity, out of stock, open-box, clearance, refurbished/used items, our and our competitor's Deal of the Day, daily deals, special hour sale event items and credit card offers, BestBuy.com Clearance & More and Marketplace items, and items for sale Thanksgiving Day through 11:59 p.m. on the Monday after Thanksgiving.
If you request a price match on an item that includes a promo gift card you're supposed to be offered the card or the price match, not both.'

Not sure why this is in the HD upgrade thread?

Last edited by webcrawlr : 01-14-2014 at 08:15 PM.
webcrawlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 06:22 AM   #1644
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 280
I'm putting a 3TB WD drive into my Roamio Basic today. Seems easy enough based on the photo and instructions in the first post of this thread, but I've read in a few other places that removing the top isn't as straightforward as simply removing two screws and sliding forward. Something about plastic retaining clips make it more difficult than that.

Anybody here have any experience with that? And if so, what's the best way to remove it without damaging these clips? Any special tool to do that? Thanks.
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:33 PM   #1645
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
I'm putting a 3TB WD drive into my Roamio Basic today. Seems easy enough based on the photo and instructions in the first post of this thread, but I've read in a few other places that removing the top isn't as straightforward as simply removing two screws and sliding forward. Something about plastic retaining clips make it more difficult than that.

Anybody here have any experience with that? And if so, what's the best way to remove it without damaging these clips? Any special tool to do that? Thanks.
that's the hardest part of this job. took me forever to slide the top forward to get it off as I didn't want to snap off the little plastic clips.
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:34 PM   #1646
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
that's the hardest part of this job. took me forever to slide the top forward to get it off as I didn't want to snap off the little plastic clips.
Any suggestions?
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:52 PM   #1647
keenanSR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
Any suggestions?
As I recall, squeezing the top a little from each side and a slide forward did the trick for me. I don't recall it needing to go forward very much at all, basically a squeeze and lift worked for me with just a nudge forward to clear the front.
keenanSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:01 PM   #1648
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
It wasn't that difficult. I just had to futz with it and get the angle to apply pressure correct.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 11:42 AM   #1649
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 280
Thanks for the tips. That was about as painless a procedure as possible. Just have to finish manually validating my Cablecard with FiOS so I get HBO and Cinemax back.
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 02:30 AM   #1650
TheChosenOne-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Yo guys, my original HDD is about to run out of space soon and I will need a new one soon. Just curious if we take out old HDD, put in new HDD then maybe a few months later I want to watch old shows again on my old HDD, I can just put it back into my Tivo and everything will be the same and everything right? TV shows would work and I'll be able to watch them again? I read something about them getting deleted if I do something wrong. Also if I want to transfer them to my computer or another HDD, how would I be able to do that?
TheChosenOne- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |