TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-04-2014, 04:21 AM   #1
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,705
How to control a Roamio and an older Tivo with only the Roamio remote.

You would need to have all the Tivos' remote address in System Information set to a different address for this to work, 0 is just an address that uses all 1-9 addresses. The Roamio needs the remote address set also.

It is best to use a remote with a 1-2 switch to set beforehand.

If instructions are needed, go to:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...mote%20address

Be sure you are out of the System Information screen on both Tivos, or they might get changed.

Now, on to setting the Roamio remote.

Press and hold Tivo + C to switch to IR mode. Set the remote using Tivo + Pause (from above) to set the address of the other TiVo. Remote should blink red on button presses. Done. You can now control the other Tivo under this mode.

To get back to controlling the Roamio, Press and hold TiVo + D. Remote blinks yellow under RF mode remote use.

The end result is roamio is under RF control (TiVo + D) and the other is on IR (TiVo + C) and you can just switch between the two.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:10 AM   #2
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,839
So you'd need to switch between IR and RF to control one or the other. I prefer using a remote with a 1/2 switch (which is what I do for the two units in the bedroom).
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:51 AM   #3
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,323
Switching between IR/RF is actually a clever way to address this issue.

I was bummed when TiVo moved away from the remotes with the DVR switch since it was so useful for controlling the three TiVos we have used for years. I just got a six tuner Roamio to replace all of them, so hopefully the current remote will do the job until six tuners turns out to be insufficient.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 11:21 AM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbourgeo View Post
Switching between IR/RF is actually a clever way to address this issue.

I was bummed when TiVo moved away from the remotes with the DVR switch since it was so useful for controlling the three TiVos we have used for years. I just got a six tuner Roamio to replace all of them, so hopefully the current remote will do the job until six tuners turns out to be insufficient.
Just use a Harmony remote. At one time I had half a dozen TiVos programmed into a Harmony One, all with a different remote code.

But if you want to like to use the TiVo remote, and only have two to deal with at the same location. I think the easiest solution is just to use two separate TiVo remotes. At least this is what i do in my main setup since I want to use a Slide Pro with my Roamio Pro and also use a Slide Pro with my Roamio BAsic in the same room.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |