TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2013, 02:58 PM   #1
byteman55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 41
NS-DXA2 Converter code?

First time back to the forum in many years... hopefully I'll get some help!

I'm trying to ditch TWC in favor of a converter box. I bought the Inisgnia NS-DXA2 thinking that it would be compatible with my Series 2. Since Tivo lists compatibility with NS-DXA1 on their website, I foolishly thought it would work. It doesn't.

I wonder if anyone has some input or knows of a working code/strategy?

Can't return the converter either... :roll eyes:

Thanks! What a great community.
__________________
Alex Rike

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

AIM: TheCommandPrompt
byteman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 03:40 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteman55 View Post
First time back to the forum in many years... hopefully I'll get some help!

I'm trying to ditch TWC in favor of a converter box. I bought the Inisgnia NS-DXA2 thinking that it would be compatible with my Series 2. Since Tivo lists compatibility with NS-DXA1 on their website, I foolishly thought it would work. It doesn't.

I wonder if anyone has some input or knows of a working code/strategy?

Can't return the converter either... :roll eyes:

Thanks! What a great community.
If you can figure out who really made that thing for Insignia, maybe one of their remote codes will work.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:51 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,800
From http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...al%20converter

Model Name and Number
Insignia NS-DXA1*

Supported?
YES

IR Code
10090

* Insignia NS-DXA1 with a build date prior to 06/2008 may have stability issues.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:31 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteman55 View Post
First time back to the forum in many years... hopefully I'll get some help!

I'm trying to ditch TWC in favor of a converter box. I bought the Inisgnia NS-DXA2 thinking that it would be compatible with my Series 2. Since Tivo lists compatibility with NS-DXA1 on their website, I foolishly thought it would work. It doesn't.

I wonder if anyone has some input or knows of a working code/strategy?

Can't return the converter either... :roll eyes:

Thanks! What a great community.

Looks like the "1" was made for them by LG and if you're trying to run it with a universal remote you should try LG or Zenith codes.

But I couldn't find any informed (or even uninformed) opinion on who makes the "2" for them.


The "2"'s owner's manual doesn't seem to admit of the possibility of anything except the "2"'s own remote controlling it and it's remote doesn't seem designed to be able to control a TV or A/V receiver, not even power or volume.

However, the Insignia website has a thing that lets you look for codes to use on Insignia TVs if you're using a universal remote, and among the remote brands listed is TiVo.

So apparently a TiVo remote, set to 0091, can control an Insignia TV.

So it's worth trying to see if it'll do the NS-DXA2

If that doesn't work, try codes for Zenith and LG coupon boxes.

If that doesn't get you anywhere, try the codes for Channel Master, RCA, Philips, and Magnavox coupon boxes.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 12:26 PM   #5
byteman55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 41
Thanks for the suggestions. I wound up having to by a supported RCA converter. No luck after trying many, many codes.
__________________
Alex Rike

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

AIM: TheCommandPrompt
byteman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |